AMPS of 110 - skip her dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Geneva

Member Since 2014
Good Saturday morning!

Alice's AMPS this morning is 110 ... what should I do?

This is only our second day of testing. Yesterday morning her AMPS was 294.
 
Re: AMPS of 110 - hold her dose?

If you are not comfortable shooting, then don't. You need to have plenty of test strips and lancets and some high carb food on hand (a hypoglycemia kit) in case
she drops low.
 
Re: AMPS of 110 - hold her dose?

ChEMom - thanks for the quick reply!

Yes, that was mine and my husband's initial response: don't shoot. We'll do a +1 and +2 and see what happens.

Alice is definitely feeling spunky this morning! :-D
 
Re: AMPS of 110 - hold her dose?

That's good to hear that the lower blood sugars are helping her!
 
Re: AMPS of 110 - hold her dose?

Geneva said:
Good Saturday morning!

Alice's AMPS this morning is 110 ... what should I do?

This is only our second day of testing. Yesterday morning her AMPS was 294.

Hi,

That '110' is a normal blood glucose number for a cat!

We generally recommend that folks new to dealing with feline diabetes don't give insulin if the blood glucose is below 200 (until they have data to show how their kitty responds to insulin).

An option is 'stalling'. Stalling means waiting a little while, without feeding, to see if the blood glucose comes up to a shootable level on it's own. But given the 110 preshot test it seems unlikely (though not impossible) that the blood glucose will rise to a shootable number in a short time.
If you wait longer, until she is at a shootable number, and give the shot at that point, then that would throw your schedule off, as Lantus users generally give shots every 12 hours.

A better option would be to skip the shot. A skipped shot now and then in these kind of circumstances is no big deal. ;-)

Oh, welcome to FDMB!

Eliz
 
Re: AMPS of 110 - hold her dose?

When you are first starting out on this diabetes journey, we recommend that you do not shoot if the BG is <200. As time goes by, you gather more test data and learn how Alice will respond to the insulin dose and food, then you can lower the shoot/no shoot threshold. Over in the Lantus TR group for example, the shoot/no shoot threshold and asking for help number is a BG of 150.

"Better too high for a day, than too low for a moment."

When you get a lower BG reading like that, you have 3 choices.
1. Skip the shot. Safest thing to do if you have not been testing long and don't know how your cat will react.
2. Stall. Stalling is waiting, without feeding any food and retesting in 20 minutes or so. If the number is rising, you may be able to shoot. Sometimes you stall for an hour or more of your schedule permits it. You want a non-food influenced number if you are stalling. Since the food will raise the BG's 20-30 points usually, we want to see an actual rise in the BG numbers not caused by food.

3. Reduced dose. Like half the normal dose. There are circumstances like DKA (diabetic ketoacidosis), ketones present, lack of appetite, infection, etc. that can influence your decision to shoot or not.

I'm with Chemom and Elizabeth on skipping the shot this morning. Let's see what Alice does the rest of the day.

p.s. Would you be willing to add your location to your user control panel? It's under the Profile tab, Edit Profile, and then you'll see the Location field. We'd appreciate seeing your country, state/province, nearest city if you're willing to share that info.
 
Re: AMPS of 110 - hold her dose?

After today's AMPS of 110, Alice's +7 and +8 were 290 and 289 respectively. We plan to do a +10 and her PMPS.
 
Re: AMPS of 110 - hold her dose?

Geneva said:
So as I understand it, even though we skipped her AM dose, if her numbers are back up, which they are, it's okay to give her the PM dose.

Yes, it should be OK to resume the schedule with the PM dose.

You're doing a great job. Well done with the testing. Alice is very lucky to have you caring for her like this. :smile:

Eliz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top