Re: AMPS of 110 - hold her dose?
When you are first starting out on this diabetes journey, we recommend that you do not shoot if the BG is <200. As time goes by, you gather more test data and learn how Alice will respond to the insulin dose and food, then you can lower the shoot/no shoot threshold. Over in the Lantus TR group for example, the shoot/no shoot threshold and asking for help number is a BG of 150.
"Better too high for a day, than too low for a moment."
When you get a lower BG reading like that, you have 3 choices.
1. Skip the shot. Safest thing to do if you have not been testing long and don't know how your cat will react.
2. Stall. Stalling is waiting, without feeding any food and retesting in 20 minutes or so. If the number is rising, you may be able to shoot. Sometimes you stall for an hour or more of your schedule permits it. You want a non-food influenced number if you are stalling. Since the food will raise the BG's 20-30 points usually, we want to see an actual rise in the BG numbers not caused by food.
3. Reduced dose. Like half the normal dose. There are circumstances like DKA (diabetic ketoacidosis), ketones present, lack of appetite, infection, etc. that can influence your decision to shoot or not.
I'm with Chemom and Elizabeth on skipping the shot this morning. Let's see what Alice does the rest of the day.
p.s. Would you be willing to add your location to your user control panel? It's under the Profile tab, Edit Profile, and then you'll see the Location field. We'd appreciate seeing your country, state/province, nearest city if you're willing to share that info.