D Marchus
Member Since 2017
Good morning! Neo, who usually rides higher in the morning had a BG of 155 (ALPHATRAK 2) this morning and, because of conflict between a previous recommendation on how to handle the lower than usual number and what the SLGS says I should do, I'm uncertain about giving him any insulin. According to the SLGS (which uses human meter references), it looks like I really shouldn't:
Thanks!
Daniela
Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
- Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
- Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value.
Thanks!
Daniela