AMPS is 97

Status
Not open for further replies.
Sarah

Sorry no one saw this. I can't stay with you as I've got to get to work. Please look at the "Handling Low Preshots" in my signature block. Here are some questions/guidelines:

1. How long can you afford to stall and then get back onto your regular schedule by 2-15 min increments or 1-30 in increment a day?

2. Do you have plenty of HC, test strips, karo, lancets and will you be able to stay and monitor her frequently?

If you can stall, then check her every 20 minutes until she is coming up and for her, I'd wait until she gets above 150 to shoot since you've never shot low. It's usually best to shoot by +14 if you can or take door number 2 below.

The other option is just to skip her shot and pick up tonight at your regular time, regular dose.
 
Hi Sara,
I'm at tbp and can't see Babys ss so I don't have a feel for her situation. I too agree with Marjorie. Read the stickie. A 3rd option is to shoot a small token dose, but there again you would want to be around and prepared for a good bit of monitoring and to properly handle any low numbers.

Don't feel bad about skipping a shot if you determine that's your best/most comfortable option. Just think of it as a fur shot and carry on.

Please remove the 911 from your header, since this is not a life threatening situation.

Don't forget to breathe!

ETA - keep us posted!
 
Hi guys .. I'm glad you got some advice on shooting ... I don't feel comfortable giving out dosing advice myself, but hopefully you are reading up on the stickies .. have a great day!
 
Hi Sarah, what did you end up doing? Please let us know. Sorry no one caught you this morning. If you get a number lower than you are comfortable with always retest in 15 minutes (without feeding) to see if she is still dropping, surfing or going up. That will determine how you handle the situation.

Please let us know.
 
Sorry -- I wasn't around when you posted. I was at the airport and didn't have the laptop out.

A couple of thoughts... Since this is not a typical number for Baby, re-testing can help to make sure this wasn't a wonky test, meter error, bad strip, enough/too much blood etc. I also want to encourage you to get tests during the PM cycle. If numbers were coming down, you would have had more of a warning if you'd gotten tests last night.

Also, people really want to know what happened. Could you update your SS?

Karrie -

Antibiotics don't lower BG. However, because an infection raises BG levels due to the stress on the system, when the ABs kick in and start to work, often BG levels drop. (It's the same principle with a dental -- gingivitis raises the BG level and once that's gone, levels can come back down.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top