AMPS for Felix this morning >600.

Status
Not open for further replies.
AMPS for Felix this morning >600. Never been that high. I bumped his dose last night at from 4 to 4.5 and had his best read in a long time. 238. Very low for him. Now I wonder what dose to continue with. Was this a bump like Bubba experienced?
 
Sorry, Ron. Saw this post on Health first. Here is what I said there:

I would guess It is a bounce, Ron. It looks like the 238 was at +3 so he could have dropped low in the following few hours. I hate to see him that high, but I would hold the dose for one more cycle. Maybe increase tonight when you can test more?
 
Hi Ron - I thought I would check on Felix. Do you have numbers for your AM & PM preshots? This would be extremely helpful so you will know what you are dosing. The AM & PM shot is very instrumental for data collection and without that, it is hard to say what dose you should be administering. What kind of food are you feeding Felix?
 
Hi Ron,
I snuck a look at Felix's spreadsheet. Looks like he is bouncing all over. That late 76 is indicative of too much insulin - if he is still that low at +10, I would worry about how low he was earlier in the cycle. And then he bounced right back up. I hope you can get a complete curve someday soon - tests every 2/3 hours for a cycle. That will really show you how the insulin is working and whether he is dropping low and bouncing back up. (going from 76 to 300 in a few hours can't feel good!)

I don't know if we explained bouncing. If his body perceives a lower number than it is used to, it releases extra glucose to bring the number up - hence a bounce.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top