amps down from previous day -related no late nt food?

Status
Not open for further replies.

babbie & otto

Member Since 2015
Otto is on Feline's Pride raw - will eat everything I put out to the point of getting sick.. I did not put his timed feeder out last night and amps down by 100. I noticed yesterday that his nadir was up and I had given him a snack at +4. Could this be related? Seems to be. Wendy mentioned food relationship so Im wondering about the connection if his food doesn't have carbs. Also, he has never had his teeth cleaned. Should do now? He has consistently eaten critters his whole life - ALOT OF THEM! I know this helps to keep his teeth clean.
 
How old is Otto? Has the vet mentioned that he needs a dental cleaning" Do his teeth appear to have tartar on them? I think most usually start getting their teeth cleaned by age 6 unless prone to tartar and then earlier.

Max gets fed up to +6 and later if he is dropping. For him I don't notice that his amps is lower on the nights when he stops eating by +5 but as we all know, ECID.
 
we think he is about 12? We think he had diabetes since early dec. Just didn't notice b/c he was on a diet and never had a cat box inside. Finally noticed extreme thirst and weight loss in Jan after I had been out of town for 2 weeks. He had ketones that 1st vet visit but none since. I check it every day.
 
Generally, you don't need a dental unless the vet notices tarter or gingivitis.

Some cats are very carb sensitive. It doesn't matter if the food has very low carbs, they can still get a rise in numbers. The only way to know is to change how you're feeding Otto (e.g., make sure you give him all his food before nadir and don't feed later in the cycle) and see if you get better looking numbers.
 
thanks, I would hate to subject him to that right now if not needed. He doesn't seem to sensitive when scarfing down an entire chipmunk. Just took his nadir-
amps 368..+6 352. nada! He ate plenty this morning. had a tiny snack at 10:30. going nowhere.. patience!!!!!
 
Looks like it's time for another dosecrease!

Otto's been at this dose for 6 cycles now and is still running too high...since you're doing TR, you can increase tonight if you want to

Come on now Otto...let's see some prettier numbers...how about yellow? Yellow looks good on black you know!
 
The food definitely matters. For example, if that chipmunk on today's menu had just eaten a bunch of grains, that would be in its stomach, and therefore in Otto's. I have no idea how many carbs that would be, but controlling the food is one way to control the blood sugar. I don't know how you'll manage that with a hunter, of course. You get to figure that part out!

I agree - I would increase his dose. You have 6 cycles at the 2.75 and everything is over 300. You would increase by 0.5u to 3.25u. Even though this part quoted below is listed in human glucometer numbers, the range and dose increases are the same on the page here that has AT listed.

Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
  • After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top