AMPS back up to 414

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA)

Member Since 2019
Minnie’s peaks and valleys have been completely out of pattern and going from super high to super low. Nothing I have seen since I started testing her and I’m sure it’s due to everything her body is fighting or the meds or both, but it doesn’t make it easier when trying to decide dosage. Last week the 100 drops from day to day made me feel I should have started decreasing her dose then, even though she stayed flat each day and never dropped below 90. I didn’t reduce until she drop below 90 and it has now happened more than once. I’ve decreased but also have had to give her token doses and even skip a dose and she hasn't had 6 cycles of each reduced dose. The night I skipped the shot she went from 100 at her pmps to 501 to the amps. A super high jump for her even without insulin. My questions are:

  • Has anyone else experienced this out of pattern BG levels in their cats?
  • Should I just be playing catch up with the numbers right now until she gets back to her normal pattern or is there something else I should be doing?
She wasn’t feeling great yesterday, but today is the first day she’s acted normal and back to her old self from before the first hospitalization :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks
 
Well crap. Please let us know what comes of this. I'm wondering if this isnt more allergies than pneumonia. :nailbiting::(
She sounded pretty stuffed up this morning and was breathing faster then usual. I didn’t realize how difficult it is to treat pneumonia in cats. I thought she’d get antibiotics and get over it, but apparently not all cats recover from it :arghh:
 
Ugh. I hope they can figure it out, maybe get her on a different antibiotic? Update:

I didn’t realize how difficult it is to treat pneumonia in cats. I thought she’d get antibiotics and get over it, but apparently not all cats recover from it :arghh:

Arrrgggh..... come on Minnie, you gotta fight this off! I wonder if there's anything you can do at home to help her breathing? Is moist air better for that, or does it make it worse? Did you have a weather change in humidity or other conditions between yesterday when she was feeling well and today when she was having trouble? Grasping for ideas here. Sigh.


Regarding your earlier question, I agree it's a lot of dose changes in a short time. Remind me, why are you doing SLGS? Is it just because of the occasional kibble treats? Because if you were to switch to TR, the reduction point is 50, not 90, and back to back reductions are discouraged. So, even though the dose increases are more aggressive, in this situation you might end up changing dose more gradually. You haven't actually gotten near any dangerously low numbers, the greens she's been seeing lately are in a very healthy range. It might be good for her to spend more time there, which TR allows you to do.

That said, my suspicion is the same as yours, that Minnie's numbers have more to do with whatever is going on with her and how she's feeling than anything else. That makes it hard to have a consistent dose that works, and there's no dosing method for lantus that is going to recommend that you to change doses fast enough to respond to that. All you can do is to keep her safe on the days she goes lower, and try to manage the highs as well as possible. Anyway, I think I wouldn't worry too much about the inconsistency in dose while she's still bopping back and forth from the hospital and dealing with the pneumonia :(, just do what you can until she kicks this.

Feel better soon, Minnie! You have a whole board full of cat aunties pulling for you!
 
We started getting a hot front last night and high winds, but I think it’s wishful thinking that that could be the reason. She’s still at the vet so I suppose I’ll know more once they call with the X-ray and blood results.

I’m honestly not sure I think I was working full time at first and TR requires more testing, doesn’t it? I’m not looking for remission because with her IBD I don’t think that’s likely. It seemed more “aggressive” when I read the sticky notes. Is the main difference only that it requires more testing?
 
Well, yay for the pneumonia receding! :banghead: for the fluid buildup! Complicated indeed, she is not making this easy.

TR tests more because it has a lower target range of BG, and a more stringent requirement before taking a reduction. It's for safety. But the upshot is, you can possibly keep kitty in (or close to) normal BG most of the time (ideally, anyway) without having to change the dose that got her there. The more time in normal BG, the less stress on all the systems, whether or not pancreas healing and remission is in the cards.

You test enough for TR (maybe more testing at night, or move the times around a little more than +2), but again, with all that Minnie has going on, actual tight regulation probably isn't happening right now, so that wouldn't be the goal. The main advantage for you right now would be not being forced to take a reduction every time she dropped under 90, and maybe less bopping around with different doses overall.
 
I think I didn’t consider it at first because I didn’t start out testing as much and the word aggressive did intimidate me lol. I could consider it now. She’s only gone below 50 once that I can recall. I never quite understood why going under 90 is “bad” on one and the other lets you get away with going all the way down to 50. Anyway, I’m a little more in debt but she’s home breathing fine, drinking lots of water and she looks much better and I’m just so happy to see that little pink face :bighug: I’m sure the number will stay up for pmps. I had to feed her a little because she hadn’t had anything since noon and she knows she gets food when she gets back from the torture at the vet. The vet visits always messes up our feeding schedule :banghead:
 
Last edited:
Minnie’s peaks and valleys have been completely out of pattern and going from super high to super low. Nothing I have seen since I started testing her and I’m sure it’s due to everything her body is fighting or the meds or both, but it doesn’t make it easier when trying to decide dosage. Last week the 100 drops from day to day made me feel I should have started decreasing her dose then, even though she stayed flat each day and never dropped below 90. I didn’t reduce until she drop below 90 and it has now happened more than once. I’ve decreased but also have had to give her token doses and even skip a dose and she hasn't had 6 cycles of each reduced dose. The night I skipped the shot she went from 100 at her pmps to 501 to the amps. A super high jump for her even without insulin. My questions are:

  • Has anyone else experienced this out of pattern BG levels in their cats?
  • Should I just be playing catch up with the numbers right now until she gets back to her normal pattern or is there something else I should be doing?
She wasn’t feeling great yesterday, but today is the first day she’s acted normal and back to her old self from before the first hospitalization :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks
Ale I know you explained it’s fluids but do you think a humidifier could help with Minnies congestion? The thought of my little pink nose Niece being congested is so sad to me . Minnie feel better sweetheart praying for you
 
Auntie Diane here, Ale I'm glad Minnie is feeling better, that poor baby, I don't know anything about the lungs and heart , what is the
fumosinide supposed to do, please explain it to me, is this always going to happen to Minnie, I pray it doesn't :bighug::bighug:
Thank you aunt Diane!!!! :bighug:
The furosemide is a diuretic so she starts drinking and peeing pretty fast after she takes it, even at home. It’s pretty amazing actually how fast it works. She was only there for about 3 hours yesterday and they gave her oxygen and the diuretic intravenous and it cleared it up very fast. She was already so much better when we got home and not stuffed up anymore. Rechecking xrays next week because the vet said it’s pretty rare for this to happen on a cat with no heart condition and once the pneumonia is resolved it won’t happen anymore, but we now need to be Uber extra zealous with Miss Minnie Mimica Mimosa. Yes that’s her full name lol :D
 
Last edited:
Ale I know you explained it’s fluids but do you think a humidifier could help with Minnies congestion? The thought of my little pink nose Niece being congested is so sad to me . Minnie feel better sweetheart praying for you
I don’t know but I’ll ask the vet :) I think upping the furosemide again is helping a lot. Of course she sees me coming with a syringe and runs the other way. It’s worse than testing for her :( 3 liquid meds in the am and again in the pm. I also started her on the steroid for the IDB, which is also liquid but a very tiny amount so it’s the easiest one to syringe her with :nailbiting:
 
For some good news, the tube wound is almost healed :bighug::bighug::bighug:
C2105B53-9F42-4F8E-A873-5323003EA655.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • C2105B53-9F42-4F8E-A873-5323003EA655.jpeg
    C2105B53-9F42-4F8E-A873-5323003EA655.jpeg
    54.7 KB · Views: 116
Thank you aunt Diane!!!! :bighug:
The furosemide is a diuretic so she starts drinking and peeing pretty fast after she takes it, even at home. It’s pretty amazing actually how fast it works. She was only there for about 3 hours yesterday and they gave her oxygen and the diuretic intravenous and it cleared it up very fast. She was already so much better when we got home and not stuffed up anymore. Rechecking xrays next week because the vet said it’s pretty rare for this to happen on a cat with no heart condition and once the pneumonia is resolved it won’t happen anymore, but we now need to be Uber extra zealous with Miss Minnie Mimica Mimosa. Yes that’s her full name lol :D
Thanks for explaining it to me Ale, I'm glad once the pneumonia is gone it won't happen again.
I just love her full name lol , I could go for a Mimosa drink right now lol
Minnie is always in my thoughts and prayers :bighug::cat:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top