AMPS at 171??

Status
Not open for further replies.

ErinElizabeth

Member Since 2013
How is this possible? After the numbering he was throwing last night.
He doesn't seem to be real hungry, ate a few bites. But nothing like the typical voracious feed me or else morning I'm used to having.... Normal otherwise.
 
I think I remember reading not to shoot below 200??! But now he eating and that is raising the glucose, so I should shoot right? Oh I should have woken up earlier and had more coffee....
 
From yesterday's post
+6 300, +8 325, +10 297

PMPS was 340
Chinookie then eats about 3oz and gets 4 units.
Also discussed that he is getting topical sterioids that tend to raise BG

Now AM PS 171

I would not give any insulin this morning
 
I'll leave for work at about 8:45 and usually check to see if the kitty wants anything more to eat.
Then I won't be home till 1-2pm. I'm afraid to give a shot when he's so low and I wouldn't be here. But I'm also a little afraid to go back to the excessive drinking and peeing. What's the result of not giving a dose? Could I give a reduced dose?
Should I test when I get home? I'll be here then the rest of the afternoon/evening so if numbers go back higher ill just do the scheduled shot at PM right?
 
If you test at +2 and get a number above 200 I would give 1 unit if he at well this morning and kept the food down. Teh test when you get back at ~ 1 PM
 
That's too low to give any of the Humulin N. We don't know how low 4U would take Chinookie. I think you need to skip the shot this morning or greatly reduce.

"Better too high for a day, than too low for a minute."

High numbers can do damage over time. Low numbers can kill in hours.

Please, do not give Chinookie any insulin this morning at that low number. That's my recommendation.

I like Larry's suggestion to give 1U IF the BG is >200 and food has been kept down.
 
Ok, +2 = 227.
I gave one unit and more food. He's probably going to have eaten a total of 4 oz this morning.
I'll keep you posted when I get home.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top