AMPS 97 - Binx Should I shoot?

Timbo418

Member Since 2018
We moved yesterday and it was definitely a stressful day for Binx. We were so exhausted and didn't have his alpha trax unpacked so we skipped the PMPS reading. Woke up and AMPS was 97 lowest ever. Gave him a mix of wet and dry food. I haven't given insulin yet. Usually shoot right now. Trying to determine next steps. We are keeping an eye on him. Should I shoot? Appreciate any input!
 
Last edited:
Ugh, I hate moving days. As long as you are home to monitor, have plenty of strips and high carb food, I would give insulin if Binx was mine. It would definitely be interesting to see how he does today. It obviously depends on your comfort level. If you'd like to some more opinions, I'd update your Title with the question mark and something like: Should I shoot? or Need advice ASAP. Best of luck today!
 
Reducing was a good option for today, though eventually you will be able to shoot the full dose at lower numbers. Next shot go back to his egular dose. I would have just stuck to his regular food. We don’t got for the high carb food until they go under 68 on the AT.

Also, next time you get a lower number at shot time, delay, but do not feed, for 15-30 minutes, then retest to see if he’s com8ng back up without influence of food.
 
Back
Top