? AMPS 76. PMPS 167 +3 160

Miimi and Velvet Mirth

Member Since 2019
Mimi had a good day and night, eating fairly well and but did she earn another reduction by going down to 80? So it would mean a whisper dose right? Her AMPS is 76. Just tested her. Skip shot? Never had one so low before! Advice?
Hope everyone has a safe day!
 
Last edited:
Can you stall and not feed for 20 minutes to see if she is coming back up? With SLGS you do not shoot anything under 90. If you stall and she still doesn't come up, I would skip.

oh. I see I'm off by an hour, sorry no one got back to you sooner, can you give an update?
 
Can you stall and not feed for 20 minutes to see if she is coming back up? With SLGS you do not shoot anything under 90. If you stall and she still doesn't come up, I would skip.

oh. I see I'm off by an hour, sorry no one got back to you sooner, can you give an update?
She had a few licks of the MC food but not eating. We are going to skip the shot as we really don't want to force her to eat now that she is starting to like us again.. We will do a +3 and +6 to see how she trends..
 
I'm glad you saw my post, and very glad you skipped! She is looking really good, hope her appy picks up a bit as well, but she may just not be hungry because her BSL have been in such good lower ranges :)
 
Today will be interesting, and I'll be curious to see her PMPS. You have a bit of a dilemma, because you are using an AT2 meter. Normally it would be suggested (as copied from the information page): OTJ TRIALS: Prior to starting an OTJ trial, one wants to see kitty mostly in the range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL), but under 100 overall... with only occasional readings in the 100 - 120 range.

Remission is achieved when kitty can go 14 days without insulin while maintaining normal blood glucose values under 100 overall. Most will stay in the 50 - 80mg/dL range. Although, some will occasionally experience BG numbers up to 120 mg/dL.


The issue is that these ranges are with a human meter. There is no way to correlate between the two, but having some experience using both meters, I have a sense that even the blue numbers you saw last night (PMPS 128 & =3 116) would have been green on a human meter.

You have a bit of a special case I think, in that now that you have controlled those crazy bounces, she is actually looking really good. But my only question is has she spent enough time in green to give her a really successful remission. It would be nice to try a drop dose for a while just to give her pancreas a bit more support. So to me, you have a couple of things you might consider: since you have stopped dry altogether you can try TR, and you test enough, that would allow you to take reductions at a lower point (68 on AT2). That said, what do you think about getting a human meter, so that you can really see how she is fitting in with the suggested ranges as noted above? That way, you would take a reduction under 50, and shoot anything above 50.

Again, with SLGS you don't shoot under 90, but if she is above 90, you can give a drop dose.

Hopefully others will offer their thoughts as well.
 
The "Greenie Treats " you are giving Mimi are not recommended for Diabetic cats. ( I called the company that makes them) They are 38% carbs as fed, they have fruit juice in them also which will raise the blood sugar.

When your cat has diabetes you need to read the ingredients or call the company before you buy them & give them to kitty. If you eliminate these it's possible Mimi could not need insulin. It might be what's keeping her BG up.

A treat needs to be no carbs , protein, like dehydrated chicken (nothing else, just chicken, no added ingredients) or you can try a piece of REAL chicken or meat. My cats are on a raw meat diet all their life (17 years) A treat for them is a small piece of raw or lightly cooked chicken liver.

She should be getting Low carb food unless she drops too low. If you were on the TR method you would not give med or high carb unless she dropped to 50.

When you start a trial for remission you want kitties Bg not to go above 120. I believe I mentioned it before. I've seen kitties go into remission just by eliminating all dry food. ( and high carbs )

@Christie & Maverick
I was writing & didn't see your post till I posted! I agree that Mimi should go on TR She looks like she might go into remission if those treats are eliminated? And a Human meter would simplify things.
 
Last edited:
Will switch to LC food again and see how she does

I forgot to mention, now that the crazy cycles have flattened out and the numbers are where you want them to be, yes for sure go back to the LC. Which makes me think, you should do this first, and see how the rest of the cycle is. That may point us in the right direction about next steps afterward.

She should be getting Low carb food unless she drops too low

Yes indeed, that is usually the case; however, with Mimi she needed some finessing to flatten out her crazy bounces. That, and some appy issues, created a bit of challenge for Mimi's parents.
 
Greenies are in the trash! Back to LC now. Her +6 and +9 were at 142. Will see what her PMPS is but I think a whisper dose will be needed.
Buying human meter tomorrow. But which one? We need one with the smallest amount of blood from her back paws... Any suggestions?
 
Greenies are in the trash! Back to LC now. Her +6 and +9 were at 142. Will see what her PMPS is but I think a whisper dose will be needed.
Buying human meter tomorrow. But which one? We need one with the smallest amount of blood from her back paws... Any suggestions?
Just ask on the forum. Put a ? on your title and ask for suggestions for meter with very small sample size!
I also need very small size as Ti-Mousse has ears problem; in Canada I got 0.3 µL Free Style like but it's not sold in US and the strips are .79 each! Adds up fast!

You're doing paw testing ?? Might be interesting for me, I tried but without success.... If you feel like sharing your experience, might help Ti-Mousse!
 
Just ask on the forum. Put a ? on your title and ask for suggestions for meter with very small sample size!
I also need very small size as Ti-Mousse has ears problem; in Canada I got 0.3 µL Free Style like but it's not sold in US and the strips are .79 each! Adds up fast!

You're doing paw testing ?? Might be interesting for me, I tried but without success.... If you feel like sharing your experience, might help Ti-Mousse!
We tried the ear with no success. We sit on the chair and let her back rest on us and we poke the big triangle. We always draw a good sample that way.. Of course by we i mean my husband. She wont let me anywhere near her paws.. Never has..
 
Have a look here for human meter comparisons, not sure whether costs for meters/strips are accurate, but they indicate blood drop size.
http://main.diabetes.org/dforg/pdfs/2018/2018-cg-blood-glucose-meters.pdf

The Novomax is fancy because it can do both blood sugar and ketones, but if I recall correctly you need a different strip/test, it doesn't register both from one reading. Looks like for ketones it needs a larger blood sample. Hoping to see a nice easy stroll on down for Mimi tonight.
 
We tried the ear with no success. We sit on the chair and let her back rest on us and we poke the big triangle. We always draw a good sample that way.. Of course by we i mean my husband. She wont let me anywhere near her paws.. Never has..
OK, he never won't let me near his paws either! I thought maybe there was a special way of doing that I didn't know of! I'll keep on with his little ears! Tks!
 
Have a look here for human meter comparisons, not sure whether costs for meters/strips are accurate, but they indicate blood drop size.
http://main.diabetes.org/dforg/pdfs/2018/2018-cg-blood-glucose-meters.pdf

The Novomax is fancy because it can do both blood sugar and ketones, but if I recall correctly you need a different strip/test, it doesn't register both from one reading. Looks like for ketones it needs a larger blood sample. Hoping to see a nice easy stroll on down for Mimi tonight.
Wow.. thanks so much for this! Will try to find one by tomorrow..
 
The only time Mav ever tried to bite me was when I tried to test via the paw..message received loud and clear :blackeye:
Mimi is like that around her ears and also I can never get a good drop of blood so i had to poke twice.. She is getting sick of it though so I am hoping to be able to just do pre shot tests soon and before we have to go back to work in two weeks...
 
Back
Top