AMPS 65 +4 31 (gave wet food) +7 28 (gave Karo) +7.5 109

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Nonnie...very low again!!

What test was the 28? Please retest him 15 mins after you gave the karo. Please do not wait an hour. You need to stay on top of this and get a test 15 mins after last karo and post it. I'll wait.

Please be prepared to go to the ER if he is not up. Take the karo with you and keep applying to his gums.

I can help you with the SS if you PM me.
 
Re: Nonnie...very low again!!

OK....the Karo and treats helped..he's now at 109 so I feel better. Thinking maybe I should go lower on dose tonight?? Thank you so much!!
 
Re: Nonnie...very low again!!

Good! Please be sure you check again in an hour because karo wears off fast and he could come back down. Please stay on top of his testing today.

Please put his date of dx of diabetes somewhere. I checked his profile and it doesn't really say when he was dx; I'm just assuming it was 2012 or some time before since that is when you joined FDMB and I found your first post. Do you have any SS for 2013?

I understand the SS is not updated but here's what I'm seeing that causes me concern.

--you are doing way too much dose hopping. Lantus likes consistency. We leave them on the same dose unless they earn a reduction (for a long-term diabetic cat like Nonnie, a reduction is earned when they go below 40) or if, after holding the dose the six cycles, it is apparent they need an increase. The increases are then done on a small scale. For most kitties, that means 0.25u; not 1u increases.

--you seem to be dosing on the PS and not the nadir; with lantus, we dose primarily on the nadir. If you get a high PS after they have been low, it's a bounce and you do not want to increase the dose. Examples of what appears to be dosing on the PS are on 3/29 where you dosed 2u in the a.m. and 3u in the p.m. Then you dropped back to 2u the next day; he got down to 47, bounced to the 500s and you increased instead of holding the dose.

--I'm assuming you then dropped him back to 2u because you pulled the dry food?

--After the 42 on 4/3 p.m. cycle, you didn't retest so we don't know if he earned a reduction; has he been below 40 since then?

--I cannot stress enough that when you get low numbers in the 20s, 30s, 40s, you must continue to feed/test in 30 minute increments until you see him rising. You are risking symptomatic hypoglycemia by allowing him to stay at low numbers without working to get him up quickly. The other thing to consider is that while a kitty might not show any symptoms of hypoglycemia in the 20s or 30s, the kitty isn't hooked up to any monitors so we don't really know the effects of the low BG on the brain. Just because they aren't seizing doesn't mean there are not possible other effects that we just aren't clinically seeing.

If he were my cat, I'd drop his dose to 1.75u tonight unless you are not able to do the testing to make sure he comes up from low numbers. If you can't monitor those low numbers closer (because we do have to sleep), I'd drop his dose to 1.5u to keep him safe. With the dry food gone, he might start seeing a quick response to the lantus.
 
Re: Nonnie...very low again!!

am having computer problems so if you get something twice, forgive me. He was diagnosed in Sept 2012. The specialist at Upstate Vet Hospital is who finally adjusted him at 5. I did not realize that was so high until getting on this board. I will give him less tonight and test again in a minute and post. You are right in that he is asymptomatic right now. I was surprised at the 389 yesterday am, but he stayed fairly high all day....attributed that to going to vet....very stressed. But I wanted to test renal function, etc. All tests were in range except for glucose which was high understandably. Will post another number soon,
 
Re: Nonnie...very low again!!

nonnie now at 174. will probably give 1.5 tonight(??) and test frequently until I can't stay awake. I feel like I have not been being a good kitty mom by not testing all this time. So glad I got back online.
 
Re: Nonnie...very low again!!

Ok. Could you please take the 911 down (since this signals an emergency, once the emergency is resolved, it should come down) and modify the subject line so it reads:

4/5 Nonnie AMPS 65 +4 31 +? 28 +? 109

Please fill in the "?" above with what tests those were.

Also...I'd highly recommend that when you get a green PS, you test at +1 and +2 until you get very familiar with his cycles.

Thank you!
 
Re: AMPS 65 +4 31 (gave wet food) +7 28 (gave Karo) +7.5

hi phyllis! i missed your posts earlier today. looks like things were exciting with Nonnie - so glad you were testing and caught those low numbers earlier today. glad marje gave you a hand through all of it.

looks like nonnie is clearing bounces fairly quickly - the last bounce only lasted a day, so this might clear quickly too. Nonnie wants to keep you on your toes. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top