AMPS: 63, shot 2 hours late, +1: 118

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah and Buzz

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=5077

WCR: Buzz was curled up next to my head and purring this morning when it was time to get up. But she ran right to the table and jumped up. I guess food is a bigger draw than cuddle time. ;)

waited 15 minutes, retested, it was 67. What should I do?

ETA: I shot on a rising number (it fell for an hour and a half, then I got 2 rising #s) and gave the full dose. I didn't feel worried about it at the time, but now I am nervous! It will be fine, though.
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

Wow! That is a big jump from yesterday's AMPS, you really haven't seen anything like it since OTJ in December. I really wouldn't know what to tell you as I am still pretty new myself, but if you have the ablity to delay the shot time I would definitely suggest that. Hopefully some of the experts will come along really soon to help you out.
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

when u have two mins, can u add in last nite info to SS?

I looked back to 01/30 PMPS, u shot at 77 with 1.50u
and 01/29 AMPS u shot a 99

looks like u were around to monitor too
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

Ronnie & Luna said:
when u have two mins, can u add in last nite info to SS?

I looked back to 01/30 PMPS, u shot at 77 with 1.50u
and 01/29 AMPS u shot a 99

looks like u were around to monitor too

SS updated. :) I have shot low #s before, just not quite this low. I am hoping that the test in 5 minutes will be a little higher so I at least know it's rising.
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

Waiting for you next number--You have shot low numbers before, and as you were in a rebound yesterday, I would like to see if Buzz is dropping or going higher...I think you may nbeed to shoot a token dose, or maybe bcs dose..Let's see..I agree with you!
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

Now it's only 61!

What kind of a reduced dose would you suggest? I have been giving 1.5u.
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

My fiance and I are both here through at least +6, longer if needed. One of us should be home at all times today. Buzz does bounce pretty high, that's what's making me nervous about giving a BCS dose. I feel like we just got her to where her bounces don't last a long time and we are finally making some progress.

Then again, I obviously don't want her to hypo, either.
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

I think if it were me I would shoot the full dose especially if you are going to be around to monitor. Do you have strips, and HC on hand.
You have to be comfortable.
Others may not agree with me but I like to "shoot low to stay low."
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

I would not shoot a dropping number--Options: call it a fur shot & do not shoot..Especially if you are not going to be home..
That's my opinion..She's leaving for work..YES???
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

We are now 45 minutes past +12.

I am not leaving for work. I am okay with shooting a full dose, but would be okay with shooting a 1.25 as well. I think I would prefer to shoot the full dose, though, were the number not dropping.
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

I say take another retest, if u can afford to stall, since u will be home,,,,and ur around tonight after shot time yes?
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

Roni and Moonie said:
I would not shoot a dropping number--Options: call it a fur shot & do not shoot..Especially if you are not going to be home..
That's my opinion..She's leaving for work..YES???

IMHO I would not skip the shot. Buzz bounces to high from green. You said you will be there until +6 or longer. Your options would be to stall until a rising number, shoot a reduced dose, or shoot the full dose and monitor. Skipping a shot is also an option but based on Buzz's numbers I would not advise that.
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

At 45 minutes after +12, she is now at 59. :( Can I wait like an hour and retest?

I have to feed or walk away, hanging around without feeding them is going to get me killed.
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

I would wait at least another 1/2 hour & retest..sorry, but this is a dropping number still!
59 is close to 60, but nevertheless, a dropping number..
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

Right..Food will bring numbers up & you need the number without food..Sorry Buzz, we know you are hungry, but Sarah, you need to wait to feed--Buzz at least..You have other cats?
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

Yes I have other cats. They all get fed or no one gets fed, tough luck for them. ;) They will all survive. They act like they are starving but they get 4 meals a day. It's only been 7 hours since their last meal. I think they'll make it. ;) -I- might not, but they will.
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

u know what I use to do when I had to stall? I would wash dishes - lol!! kitties got bored and would go away to sit quietly on the couch...waiting quietly :lol:

no fud no fud!
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

No food.

Buzz is surfing at around 60. The difference you are getting are meter variance - well at least the 59 and 61. I agree with Miriam. Wait another 15 to 30 min. If this is a clear surf or a rising number, shoot. The longer you delay, the more I'd be inclined to encourage you to shoot the full dose but if you are more comfortable with a reduced dose, that's good too.

Remember, you shot a 77 a few days ago.
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

Ronnie, that's a good idea! I have some kitty bowls that need washing...

Sienne: I will be testing in about 10 minutes and will post the #. As long as she is not dropping, I am fine with giving the full dose. Go big or go home, right? ;)
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

1 hour and 15 minutes after +12, 30 minutes after the last test, she is at 52. Is that just meter variance, or is it dropping? I guess we can never be really sure, but I would say meter variance.
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

I don't know that I would call this meter variance. I believe this is a dropping number. Good luck with your decision.
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

what do u wanna do?

If I were in ur shoes, I would keep with the retest so u can catch the rise...its in there somewhere in that little furrball!
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

I do not want to shoot on a dropping #. I also don't know how Buzz will be with this continued testing. She is patient, but considering all the testing in our future yet this morning....I dunno. It's been about 15 minutes since the last test, so I will go ahead and test again. Fingers crossed! Will post # in a minute.
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

Barbara -- between the 59 and 61 I think it's meter variance. I agree that Buzz dropped from the +12.

Sarah - I'd like to be sure this is a clear surf ore preferably a rise in #s. There's about a 2 hr. window from +12 before you lose the overlap and start going on shed. I'd not want to delay too much longer. I think a 50 is low and I don't have enough experience with shooting this low to say thumbs up or down.

Where's your comfort zone?
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

Wow Sarah! That is a tough call. You could give a half dose but at this point you are already more than an hour out from +12. I would be inclined to call it a fur shot and shoot full dose tonight. Just to be safe, since Buzz is still dropping.
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

Do you think Buzz will eat good for you if you shot and fed? I see that he does rise after most shots prbably due to the feeding. How about you shoot 1U? What are you comfortable with? At least that way you will not lose the shed.
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

Here's my thinking...

One more test in either 15 or 30 min. I'm hoping this is the start of a rise. If Buzz is above 60 shoot. You'll be around to test. Chances are Buzz is going to bounce by PMPS and you will be able to make up a big chunk of the time if he's high. If you skip the dose, Buzz will definately be in the reds and you will have a lot of shed to rebuild.

Does that sound feasible and comfortable for you?
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

Sarah, I am in full agreement with shoot low to stay low,BUT...This number keeps dropping & if you shoot full dose, a big drop could follow--I dont think this is meter variance, but Sienne could be right-----You need to be comfortable with what you are shooting--you could call it a fur shot & there's always tonite for full dose.
Buzz is surfing the 50's.
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

Barbara and tuffy said:
69 -52. Now is a slight rise. Good luck with you decision.

Barbara I think she was referring to the 52 to 56 as being a slight rise, not the 62 to 59. :mrgreen:

I would agree with Seinne here. You need to be confortable though.
Sorry for all the confusion with opinions here.....in the end Buzz is your cat so it is whatever you feel is best for Buzz.
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

Sarah:

You're getting a lot of input. Here's what the options are:

If you have rising numbers, you can shoot -- either the full or a reduced dose. What you shoot needs to be in your comfort zone. Your PM shot will need to be 12 hrs from now so there is your schedule to consider.

You can skip the shot. This will have the biggest impact on Buzz's shed. It will allow you to stay on your shot schedule.

I would personally lean toward giving a shot - you can certainly reduce to 1.0u (or more or less) if that's what's comfortable. You know Buzz best.
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

At 2 hours past +12, Buzz was at 63. I would definitely call this a rising # (not rapidly, but still rising) so I shot the full dose (1.5u).

Changing the shot time is not a problem. I am very lucky in that I am unemployed right now (not lucky in that sense, just in what it means for the kitty) and my fiance works from home. We have pretty much the ultimate flexibility with shots, which I count my blessings for every day. The new PM shot time doesn't allow for much in the way of a social life, but so be it. ;)

I will check in one hour and see what's up. Thanks, everyone, for the advice. I know it's hard to give over the computer without knowing the whole situation, but I appreciate your input. You guys have been at this a lot longer than I have. It's comforting to know there are people there with advice and hand-holding. :)
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

Happy that Buzz is rising. Hopefully after a full belly things will smooth out. Have a wonderful day. Hope it doesn't get to crazy for you and Buzz. Sending good wishes for a surf with no low tide. :mrgreen:
 
Re: AMPS: 69 Please help!

BOS!! You know the drill -- keep a close eye just in case. I'm off to tbp. (I'd much rather be at home with the kitties.) And I completely get the, "my social life revolves around cats" issue!
 
Re: AMPS: 63, shot 2 hours late

Nice hooting.....my guess is that Buzz will bounce from this so you may be able to make up some time tonight.
I would get a +10 to see where Buzz is headed and you may be able to shoot at +11 if high enough.

I will check back later.
 
Re: AMPS: 63, shot 2 hours late

BOS? tbp? You guys have a different language over here! ;)

Miriam, would you recommend shooting at +11 if she is high enough, or just that I can? I'm not sure if I want to, but if it's what is best for Buzz, then I will. If it's just for my own sake of trying to get back to the old shot time, then I don't know if I would. Make sense? I will definitely get a +10 to see where she's at. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top