? AMPS 600 bounce

tackeee

Member Since 2019
little one was finally doing better the second week at 5units of Lantus. His first week was more reds and blacks, but it seems to take him a full week to even out. I upped him to 5.5 a day ago after he was finally starting to see some yellows (not blues again). Yesterday I was barely home and had to work again in the evening, so didn’t have time for a nadir check. However, it seems to be his MO to spike after increases for several days. But he seems to have gotten into my other cats leftover dry food which was hidden behind something else on a full counter, so that could have been the reason for the spike too. Sigh. He’s getting a consult + possible FME for his stomatitis at the end of this month, but his numbers have to be “good enough” for them to be okay putting him under.
 
Nice to see more yellow creeping in there, but our goal is blues and greens. I wouldn’t hold his dose any longer than necessary as long as his numbers are all above 200. The first week on 5.5 units was enough to say the dose wasn’t enough insulin. Holding a dose to long when all they get is higher numbers can also lead to glucose toxicity, meaning to have to go to even higher numbers to break through. Plus, we do want to see better numbers soon so he can get his mouth dealt with.

If you don’t see numbers below 150 in the next five days, I would increase to 6 units.

There is a phenomenon called New Dose Wonkiness that can cause higher numbers in the first couple days after an increase, as the depot rebuilds. But it only lasts a couple cycles. That ugly AMPS could be because he went lower than he is used to last night. Dry food could also be the culprit. Darn tricky these cats. :rolleyes: I had to put food in the microwave or fridge. And I only fed low carb to the other furry in the house. He benefited from the change in diet.
 
Back
Top