fwiw, i think everyone has looked at it and at 4 days, there is no logic yet to a spreadsheet, not when someone is trying to find their way.
i see what you have done and understand the logic that goes on in one's head and makes one take the actions one does and that's totally understandable so early in this, thus reduced doses, etc....
buttttttttttttt, then why are you asking about shooting more insulin? that is what is confusing to me. and probably to others. the high numbers you are getting in the mornings are because you're reducing in the evening's, timewise and dose amount. what everyone is saying is that right now he doesn't need more insulin, he needs consistency.
if you were open to monitoring at night, a little, yes, i would have told you to yes, shoot the 1 unit at the +12 both on the 12th and the 13th simply because you have enough experience with testing and handling hypo's i personally think you could have handled it. but without the evening monitoring, you have no choice to change things up, i.e. reduce, delay, etc....which in all honesty, messes things up and every time that happens, you have to start over. it happens. the key is to not overreact.
for instance, i will be "starting over" with Mousie tonight most likely. as i said, work is crazy still and her pmps last night was at +15.5. she was 168. this morning we had to get up early and head to work due to a bad accident on the freeway so i had to test and consider shooting her at +8.5. i went into it thinking if she was over 100 i'd go ahead and shoot as i knew she would be eating and going up. well, she was only 92. at +8.5. what to do? well, raul took long enough in the shower that i was able to get another test at +9 and she was up to 132 after eating. still, what to do? i decided to go with 1/2 a unit.
why? because a full unit would have been too much because some of that 132 was food and she would have went too low and rebounded. 1/2 a unit was at least something for the shed but not enough to keep it full i know. so tonight i'm fully expecting a number 250 or higher. will i shoot her usual skinny 1 unit? or will i freak out at the higher number and shoot more? i will shoot her usual dose and work on refilling the shed. that's all i can do without hurting her. if i overreact to the higher number, in a day or two, i'll have a hypo on my hands.
that to me is the worst part about this. on these insulins that "build up" the hypo doesn't happen today, it happens 2 days from now. one shot works on the next works on the next works on the next. overreacting to higher numbers takes it's toll tomorrow, not today. remember that.
sooooooooooooo, are we over the "needing more insulin" thing and more on "is what i'm doing ok for now?" if so, for the most part, yes
