Callie & Patches
Member Since 2016
Boy did I have a scare this morning. I fed her and then she tested over 400. I ga e her 1.5 u of Vetsulin. I have to go to a Dr appointment this morning. My daughter is here watching the pets.
oh, I didn't think of that. I will fix it in a while. I will give her a reduced dose tonight and again tomorrow as I will be gone from +3-+5. I don't want to be worrying while I'm gone.For future reference, any reading of 68 or below is a warning of the possibility of hypoglycemia on the AlphaTrak meter.
If you get a low pre-shot test, we recommend stalling 20 minutes or so without feeding, then retesting to see if kitty's BG is rising or not. If BG is not rising on it's own, stall and retest again and if you cannot stall, it would best to feed her and skip the shot if reading is very low as it was today. Despite the food spike, that low number calls into question how low she went the night before and whether Callie's pancreas is now sputtering back to work since the effects of Caninsulin do not usually last the full 12 hours....certainly not to that degree! If Callie did go particularly low last night, she may be more sensitive to insulin right now so reducing her dose is definitely in order and I would strongly recommend checking her at +2 & +3 tonight to see how fast she is dropping and possibly +4 just to make sure she stays safe even if her PMPS seems higher than usual.
When you get a moment, can you fix your spreadsheet to show the reading of 400 in the PMPS as well as the 53 so folks don't get the idea you shot on a reading of 53 and panic.![]()
Thank you for all your good advice. I know we will get things worked out. I'm retired, so I can usually sneak in a nap in the daytime. I don't understand how people with a full time job do this. It's gotta be hard to leave your pet home alone to go to work. I was a stay at home mom for all my kids, human and furbabies.You are still at that stage in the game where you learning to do this dance and it doesn't help when our kitties suddenly decide to change the steps on us. Make sure you look after yourself first and you will do just fine. Callie needs you so if she runs a bit high for a night so you can get some needed sleep, then so be it. We've all been the "helicopter" parents but as you settle into a routine and understand Callie better, this will all get much easier and the worry will decrease too.