AMPS 501... highest it’s been.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Viktoria

Member Since 2018
Really feel like I have no idea what to do with Ninja. Last night he finally got in the blue, but then his morning he hit black for the first time since we started this process... am I giving too much insulin? Not enough? I posted last night about his lower (for him) numbers, but I’m not sure how to link to that post here. Is this him bouncing? I don’t understand how he seems to be hitting higher numbers on more insulin.
 
I think he might be bouncing from reaching lower numbers. It’s likely you haven’t hit the right dose yet though.
 
It's probably a bounce. Did you retest? When you get a number so out of normal retest, sometimes the strip is bad.
 
Even if it’s making him bounce like this? (Maybe I didn’t hold is long enough on 1 unit?)

I think he needed the increase, but is quite common when they first start getting low numbers to bounce and be aware that you may still see some high numbers because it usually takes a few cycles to clear a bounce so don't panic wait till you have 7 days with the 1.25 units and then you see, I think you will probably have to raise his dose a little bit more but lets wait and see
 
If following SLGS you do a curve after 7 days and if nadir over 150 you increase .25. I don’t think you made a mistake by increasing sooner based upon the ss. With TR we increase much faster. As he gets into better numbers he will likely bounce. Some bounce more than others and it’s part of the dance. Max took a year to stop bouncing. Other cats never do. Patience is definitely required with FD.
 
I think he needed the increase, but is quite common when they first start getting low numbers to bounce and be aware that you may still see some high numbers because it usually takes a few cycles to clear a bounce so don't panic wait till you have 7 days with the 1.25 units and then you see, I think you will probably have to raise his dose a little bit more but lets wait and see

That’s fair! Thank you. I’ll give it two more full days and see how that goes. I really thought this was a much more linear process than it’s turning out to be.
 
If following SLGS you do a curve after 7 days and if nadir over 150 you increase .25. I don’t think you made a mistake by increasing sooner based upon the ss. With TR we increase much faster. As he gets into better numbers he will likely bounce. Some bounce more than others and it’s part of the dance. Max took a year to stop bouncing. Other cats never do. Patience is definitely required with FD.

Does TR help with bouncing at all? Also, is bouncing dangerous in terms of likelyhood of neuropathy, DKA, any of that?
 
TR helps because it allows you to increase the dose more often (if the current dose isn't getting the results we want)

Also, is bouncing dangerous in terms of likelyhood of neuropathy, DKA, any of that?

No, not any worse than chronically high numbers (and not any better)

I would strongly suggest you try TR....you are testing enough to do it safely and it'll allow you to change the dose more often than once a week...especially since he's still running as high as he is. (as long as you're feeding only a low carb canned or raw diet)

The blues are promising, but we want him in lower numbers so his body can hopefully start to heal from the complications of being too high for so long.
 
I too saw a lot of black numbers when Neko first started seeing lower numbers. They are depressing to see, but it helped me to think of them as proof that the insulin was finally starting to work and get her into lower numbers than she was used to. Cats bounce as long as they bounce, there isn't a lot we can do but wait out the bounce to be over. Getting to a better dose sooner will help how high they bounce, but the bounces won't slow down until their bodies get used to lower (normal) numbers. Some cats even bounce from yellows. It's very normal at the beginning of the diabetes journey.

To link to your previous post, first go to that post, and copy the URL or address from the top of your browser. Then go to your current post for today, select the paper clip icon from the toolbar, and paste the URL you copied above. This is what you'll see: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...y-amps-377-2-350-pmps-256-1-262-3-158.200783/
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top