AMPS=486

  • Thread starter Thread starter slb1107
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: AMPS=76??

Thanks everyone! I finally gave her .75u at 8PM which would be +22 I think. She went and hid under the bed and wouldn't come out or I would have given it to her sooner. I'll test again in the morn
 
Re: AMPS=76??

Can everyone who is working with this cat please take note...

1. highly overdosed for a while on H...I think 5units BID, no testing. Still on H.
2. reduced dose to I think 2u and seeing green.
3....and this is REALLY important. Unless I am missing something....did this cat shoot up to pink last night on NO SHOT and do a self come down to 91 this morning?

Thoughts? I'll check again...but this is def. noteworthy...and kitty trying real hard to otj.

Also Sara...it's ok to just type .75 in the dose box of your chart, I noticed you left it blank and wrote it out in the column.
 
Re: AMPS=76??

Took 3 tests this morning to get a strip to work! Kept getting error message :( And her # was high this morning. It was +8 since last shot.
 
Re: AMPS=76??

Alright...vet would only call in a prescription...so I will get that either later today or this weekend. He said that most experts don't prescribe the glargin(sp) and they dont' see many benefits of it. Is that true? I don't wanna pay $200 for it to not help.
 
Sara,
Your vet sadly is as out of date with feline diabetes as most of them.
The insulin you are getting is a hundred percent better on your cat than the one you are using.
Lori
 
Well I decided to go ahead and purchase the Lantus pens from a canadian pharmacy (saw the link on another post)..5 pens for $107.99! My vet doesn't have prescription pads so they are going to fax them and then they just gotta sign something and send it back! Yay! Hopefully this was a good deal.
 
Sara, with the H you shot kind of high for that number.
Can you get a check in at +2?
 
Sara,
Yes, that is good. Not too steep of a drop. If possible, check her at +5 or +6, unless that's too late for you. At that point, we will see how much lower she plans on going tonight.

Carl
 
AMPS 486 1u
+6 237
PMPS 215 1u
+3.5 139

9/1/11
AMPS 385 1u
 
Good work Sara, So happy to see you are down with the testing.
 
Yeah I'm doin my best!

AMPS 486 1u
+6 237
PMPS 215 1u
+3.5 139

9/1/11
AMPS 385 1u
+5 225
 
ya know, I would'nt be all that surprised if he went lower last night and is bouncing up today.
it will be very interesting once you get your lantus and we see a curve.
unless of course...you'd like to curve him before that......would be very telling!
 
I think her little ears are starting to hurt...what can I use on them? Im gonna buy neosporin w/pain relief..I think I saw someone recommend it.
 
I'd ask your vet what a safe ointment to use on her ears would be. I saw someone on here mention Neosporin+Pain Relief as well before, but I'm not sure if it's actually safe. I know with dogs it's not because they can't metabolize what is used for pain relief. I don't know if it's the same with cats, but I'd check first.
 
Do you know what size lancets you are using??? Sometimes that makes a difference as well... I use the neo + pain and small gauge lancet too.
Also, you can use a flash lite to shine from the under side and see where you have been poking, change the location of new test poke.
 
Have you received and started the Lantus yet? Looking at your numbers I would guess not. I don't think you'll get anything better with N than the roller coaster you've been seeing, we didn't.

Get the Lantus as soon as possible! We had numbers just like yours until we switched, we started with 1U Lantus and are down to .5U now.
Humulin is hell.
Godspeed
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top