AMPS 462; PMPS 561!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laurie D.

Member Since 2016
Ugh! And, I had to work today. It was not a good day at work. Wonder if I might quit. I work for one of those bosses that likes to humiliate you in front of everyone. And, I am still in the learning phase of the legal part of this job. Maybe home health...or hospice.

I just can't figure out why she won't come down. And, what happened last Thursday? She was in the pink both times! I thought we had it made. It was only downhill from there.

Of course, we have had no air conditioning since Saturday. Apparently, I locked the darn thing up by keeping it on 68 which is comfortable or what they are used to. It took two days to melt, and I am trying it now. I have had one person tell me after it melts it should be fine, and another that says if it does it once, it will do it again. I will just keep it on 72, and keep watching it. Like I can do that, while at work. I'd leave it at 75 or 76 if I didn't have a malamute here.
 
Laurie, do I have the essence of Miss Scarlette's situation correct here?
Diagnosed over 1 year ago.
Started on Lantus 2u, all increases in 1u increment
Lowest # on ss is 203
Recent Labs - glucose and bun high, everything else normal, no urinalysis done
Changed from DM & dry to FF nearly 2 weeks ago, not much change in #s

Laurie leaves for work about 7am, returns home about 6:30pm

you are using syringes
AT2 meter

One more question - where did you buy your Lantus (ie, from a people pharmacy or the vet?) and how old is your current vial/pen? Have you watched the video on how to draw up a dose so you don't contaminate it? I did one a few years ago and it's on this sticky.

Your sweet girl is stuck in high numbers and we need to see if we can untangle her mystery and figure out what's going on. I'm going to talk with some other experienced members about her. You've done a great job of getting that before-bed test in, by the way. That really helps us see a better picture of what might be going on.

Would you let me know if that's all correct?
 
Yes, all correct. The vet wrote a script and I fill it at Walgreen's. I use subq insulin syringes. Use once and discard. Scrub the hub with alcohol wipe for 15 seconds. Let dry. Thank you so much.
 
do you mean that your needle separates from the syringe? That part is discarded? I'm not understanding the part about scrubbing the hub and letting it dry.
 
Apparently, I locked the darn thing up by keeping it on 68 which is comfortable or what they are used to. It took two days to melt, and I am trying it now. I have had one person tell me after it melts it should be fine, and another that says if it does it once, it will do it again

From what I've been told, if it's freezing up, it probably needs more coolant because it's trying to work too hard to bring the temperature down without having enough of the coolant to get the job done. One they freeze up, even after it's thawed out and working again, if the core reason isn't fixed too, it'll just keep happening over and over again.
 
Scrubbing the hub is taking an alcohol wipe and wiping the top of the insulin vial for 15 seconds to kill any bacteria. Let dry. I don't know about cats but in people the alcohol can affect the results. If you clean a person's finger, you must let completely dry first. Obviously we do use alcohol wipes to clean a person's finger. As far as the syringe, it is one piece. The needle does not detach. I buy a box of 100 syringes.


2732.jpg
I am not sure if you can see this image.

I just got the insulin this last week, on Friday night. A vial usually lasts three months.
 
Doesn't look like the image worked.

Won't work. Okay, if you google insulin syringes, they will pop up. They come with either an orange or red cap, depending on the size of the syringe.

151.jpg
It worked!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top