AMPS 46

Status
Not open for further replies.

Airway

Member Since 2013
AMPS 46
After 10 min 48

Orion is enjoying some of his favourite dry food right now


IMG_3525.JPG
 
Obviously no AM shot! He ate a good amount of 12% carb food. I didn't pull out the Karo. Should I keep checking him? How often?
 
Yes, I would check him at least another two or three times to make sure his numbers are still rising. I'm sure they will be, since he's had no insulin this AM, but I'd still test just to make sure.
 
Pity. The gravy can raise BG fairly quickly but with less of a spike than the Karo (and it isn't as filling as the dry or regular wet food in case more needs to be fed). It can take a little time for the high carb dry to work its way into the system to raise BG and hold it there for a while.

AMBG - 46 - No insulin given. Fed some 12% carb dry food.
AM+10 MINS - 48
AM+25 MINS - 59
AM+?? MINS - 49

10 MINS SINCE PREV TEST - 55

Try feeding a couple of tsps of the wet food which is higher in carbs then test again in 10 mins. If in any doubt give a small amt of karo (raises fast but wears off fast but better too high for a short while than too low for a minute) and test 10 mins after that.

When posting the next test numbers please can you post how long after the AMPS BG test along with the BG number (will help members to see whether you might be dealing with a bit of carryover from last night's insulin dose - sometimes you can get this with in-out insulins). Also please can you record each time you feed and how much so that both you and members replying here can have a clear picture of what's happening.


Mogs
.
 
AMPS 46
+10 min since AM 49 (Ate 1/4 cup 12% dry food)
+25 min since AM 59 (Ate 1/4 cup 12% dry food)
+45 min since AM 49
+55 min since AM 55

Last insulin 13 hours ago.
 
I agree with Janet, I wouldn't do the Karo yet. I would keep testing, and only use the Karo if he drops below 50 again.

I would follow Mogs' suggestion for feeding a bit of higher-carb wet food.
 
I'm good, Mogs, at least for the next hour or so.
Thanks, Lucy. (Feeling a bit fragile here.)

@Airway - Great job catching the low and feeding/monitoring, Angela. Lucy (and hopefully Janet) will continue to keep an eye on the two of you.

Keep a note of the BG numbers and amounts fed in the Remarks column of Orion's spreadsheet for future reference. (Very useful to have a record of how he responds to the different foods.)


Mogs
.
 
+105 min since AM 75

AMPS 46
+10 min since AM 49 (Ate 1/4 cup 12% dry food)
+25 min since AM 59 (Ate 1/4 cup 12% dry food)
+45 min since AM 49
+55 min since AM 55
+75 min since AM 61
+ 90 min since AM 74
 
It could be that the dose was too high, that a food change drastically changed his requirements, even that his pancreas helped out. It is really unusual for the numbers to drastically drop like that when you have been slowly reducing the dose, but we are missing those mid cycle numbers that would have filled out the picture.

Can you give us some more info? He just started ProZinc a week ago? What was he on before? When was the food change? I am worried about the dose for tonight - assuming he is high enough to shoot. It would be logical that he would really bounce, but clearly 1.5 is too much for those mid range pinks.
 
+105 min since AM 75

AMPS 46
+10 min since AM 49 (Ate 1/4 cup 12% dry food)
+25 min since AM 59 (Ate 1/4 cup 12% dry food)
+45 min since AM 49
+55 min since AM 55
+75 min since AM 61
+ 90 min since AM 74
I think he's probably not going to drop any more, but get one last test in 20-30 minutes, just to make sure.
 
He started Prozinc on August 19. This is the same time he was diagnosed with diabetes. He used to eat a combination of dry and canned foods but I pulled the dry at diagnosis. Now he eats only Natures Variety canned. It's hard for me to get mid cycle numbers because of my work schedule but I do get them when I can. I'm off on the weekends.
 
A reduction is in order. I'd probably get one more reading then as long as it's not gone down feel you're in the clear. If it is you can take the 911 off the prefix of the post and give yourself a nice pat on the back for keeping this handsome guy safe. He's the poster boy for exactly why it's important to test before shooting.
 
It scares me to think what would have happened if I was someone who shoots blind. I couldn't do that.

Assuming it's safe to shoot tonight, should I do 1 unit? The vet told me do not shoot if glucose is below 180.

A reduction is in order. I'd probably get one more reading then as long as it's not gone down feel you're in the clear. If it is you can take the 911 off the prefix of the post and give yourself a nice pat on the back for keeping this handsome guy safe. He's the poster boy for exactly why it's important to test before shooting.
 
Maybe one unit at a higher range, but only if you can monitor some. The 46 is just such a surprise and it is hard to find a logical explanation for it. He could have been having lower nadirs for the past few cycles, but a 49 at pre shot is extraordinary. He should bounce, with the dry food and just the bounce from the low, so he might be in the 200s+ to shoot. But if 1.5 was that much too much, one doesn't seem a very big reduction.

How many hours till your pmps? Thinking that some of us need to be around.

Yes, you have saved his life today. Shooting that amps could easily have been deadly.
 
I can't advise you regarding dosage because I am unfamiliar with Prozinc. If you post your question in the Prozinc forum you are likely to get more answers from folks who use it.
 
Orion is 434 90 min before PM shot is due. Since he didn't get an AM shot and I'm tired and want to go to bed, is it ok to give 1 unit now?
 
I think it should be okay, but it makes me nervous if you can't stay up and monitor a little. 0.5 is probably not enough, but it would be the safest possible choice. You hold the syringe; go with your gut.
 
My roommate will be up for a few hours yet. I'm also going to trust that Orion's older brother Triton (OTJ 18 mos) will alert me if need be. He's a service cat and has done it before. I feel ok with 1 unit.

I think it should be okay, but it makes me nervous if you can't stay up and monitor a little. 0.5 is probably not enough, but it would be the safest possible choice. You hold the syringe; go with your gut.
 
I think 1 u is good. It's what I would have suggested. He may be high for a day or three from the bounce.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top