AMPS 453 - Please help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jill A

Member Since 2018
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...not-shoot-was-that-the-right-decision.192188/
After 3 mornings of being low and not shooting, Bam's BG was at 453 this morning. I'm concerned now. Is 0.25 too low of a dose? We did not shoot yesterday morning because he was at 168. I put out a message last night but no one responded. I wanted to know if we made the correct decision. Still trying to learn all this and these numbers that are all over the place concern me. He is acting fine and eating well.
 
You don't have a lot of data yet, so not shooting when you get a lower number than you are comfortable with is a good idea. Eventually you will work you way down and feel more comfortable shooting lower numbers once you have more data. I don't think you've been on the 0.25 long enough to see how he is doing on this dose. It's always a good idea to get a before going to bed test in even if PMPS is high while you are gathering date. I'm glad Bam is eating well and feeling good. You're doing a good job learning things right now.
 
Agree you did the right thing by not shooting yesterday especially since you couldn't monitor and don't have the data as Carla said. He earned the reduction per SLGS since he went below 90. Any time you skip a shot the cycle count starts over. It could take up to 6 cycles with consistent dosing for the depot to fill and see what he can do on the .25u dose. There is also no "failed" reduction guideline with SLGS so you'll want to hold this dose for 7 days and get some mid cycle tests in when you can...and or run a curve maybe this weekend? With a little more experience and monitoring hopefully you can work your way to shooting numbers in the lower range 90-low 100's.

Hold the dose for at least a week:

  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately
 
You don't have a lot of data yet, so not shooting when you get a lower number than you are comfortable with is a good idea. Eventually you will work you way down and feel more comfortable shooting lower numbers once you have more data. I don't think you've been on the 0.25 long enough to see how he is doing on this dose. It's always a good idea to get a before going to bed test in even if PMPS is high while you are gathering date. I'm glad Bam is eating well and feeling good. You're doing a good job learning things right now.
Thank you. I will make a point of getting a test before bed.
 
Agree you did the right thing by not shooting yesterday especially since you couldn't monitor and don't have the data as Carla said. He earned the reduction per SLGS since he went below 90. Any time you skip a shot the cycle count starts over. It could take up to 6 cycles with consistent dosing for the depot to fill and see what he can do on the .25u dose. There is also no "failed" reduction guideline with SLGS so you'll want to hold this dose for 7 days and get some mid cycle tests in when you can...and or run a curve maybe this weekend? With a little more experience and monitoring hopefully you can work your way to shooting numbers in the lower range 90-low 100's.

Hold the dose for at least a week:

  • Unless your cat won’t eat or you suspect hypoglycemia
  • Unless your kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L). If kitty falls below 90 mg/dL (5 mmol/L) decrease the dose by 0.25 unit immediately
Thank you. It's the numbers in the 400 range that concern me. Should I not let them scare me too much? I'm not sure if I'll be able to get in a full curve this weekend but I will test as much as possible.
 
Jill, it's hard to not let the higher numbers scare us. Worrying about them depends on a few factors. You are new to all this and do not have a lot of data. But overall how is Bam?

My first kitty Smokey was all over the place he was so use to the higher numbers they didn't bother like they did me. But he was happy, playing and being normal.

Olive, whom I only adopted in February is totally different. There is no known history on her. Don't even know her age. Everyone is just guessing. Have no idea how long she is diabetic. She is staying in the 300-400 for a month now just occasionally shows a 200 reading. She doesn't feel good and looks it. She worries me more.

Look at Bam as a whole. Is he happy, playing, looks good, eating well? They will have off days and that's okay as long as it's not every day. Hang in, it will get better.
 
Don’t be concerned with the 400’s. Most cats bounce when they hit low numbers that they aren’t used to like Karen explained.
 
Jill, it's hard to not let the higher numbers scare us. Worrying about them depends on a few factors. You are new to all this and do not have a lot of data. But overall how is Bam?

My first kitty Smokey was all over the place he was so use to the higher numbers they didn't bother like they did me. But he was happy, playing and being normal.

Olive, whom I only adopted in February is totally different. There is no known history on her. Don't even know her age. Everyone is just guessing. Have no idea how long she is diabetic. She is staying in the 300-400 for a month now just occasionally shows a 200 reading. She doesn't feel good and looks it. She worries me more.

Look at Bam as a whole. Is he happy, playing, looks good, eating well? They will have off days and that's okay as long as it's not every day. Hang in, it will get better.
Thanks. Bam is an older guy so he's not very active but when he is awake he is either very affectionate or begging for food :cat:
 
It's the numbers in the 400 range that concern me. Should I not let them scare me too much?
They are high, but as long as the high numbers don't last it's not so bad. Neko used to throw me numbers over 600 when we started our diabetes journey. Better high for a day than too low for a moment.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top