AMPS 407 +1 424 +6 444 Fur shot? Advice needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

ehsuan

Member Since 2011
2nd day of Lantus. THink it must have been an am fur shot, based on the numbers. SHould I go ahead and give him a shot now or wait until the PM dose time?

Thanks
 
Chalk it up to rotten luck - it happens from time to time..

Never re-do, as there is no way to know how much insulin may have made it into your cat and you risk overdosing.
eta - just wait until the next shot time...
 
Hello and Welcome!! You might want to add the kitty's name in the subject line.

Wait until PM time. Just label it a fur shot and go on from the PM shot. Never re-do since you don't know how much really got in.
 
Thanks we will hold off until tonight. Boy I wish I'd get this right, with the false hypo scare and now the fur shot, he's just not getting his insulin! Argh... cat(2)_steam
 
If I had a nickel for every fur shot... I've even had 2 in a row!

Hang in there, you and your kitty will be in the swing of things in no time!
 
Based on the PMPS, it looks like the AM shot went in after all. Tableau's levels are just bouncing around trying to find equilibrium. I think the general recommendation is 5 days on the initial dose to stabilize. Keep up the good work.
 
Yes, the numbers seem really random to me, but I'm not used to Lantus. 4 years ago we used PZI, which was quite different (and then Tableau was in remission for 4 years). Anyway, thanks for the encouragement!
 
The first few doses of Lantus may not tell you a great deal. The biggest shift in mindset is that PZI is not a depot-type medication. Lantus is. The doses work in a cumulative manner. This is why dosing is based on the nadir vs. the pre-shot numbers. It's also why it's important to avoid skipping a shot whenever possible. For now, given that Tableau has only begun on Lantus, you will be holding your dose for 5 days starting from when you did not skip providing there are no drops that make shooting unwise.

Please take a look at the revised sticky on shooting and handling low numbers.
 
Hi, Gabby.

I went back and looked at the sticky you pointed me to "shooting and handling low numbers."

I'm a little confused now, because I thought the board was, for the most part, recommending "start slow go slow"...but reading the sticky it says

"Therefore, we do not follow a "Start Low - Go Slow" approach when practicing a tight regulation method designed to achieve good glycaemic control as quickly as safely possible. "

Color me confused...I had good success with tight regulation before, and that's what I'd like to do this time.

Am I misunderstanding something?

Thanks.
 
First, I'm Sienne, my cat is Gabby. She has difficulty typing.

The "start low go slow" (SLGS) is a different approach than Tight Regulation. Jill notes that in the sticky and provides the link to the SLGS information (I think). With TR, the doses are not held for the length of time they are with SLGS. I tend to think there's a good deal of confusion over this issue. I'm not sure what method you were following before when you were using PZI -- it think it was SLGS but it was before my time on the board.
 
Sorry, Sienne, I should have looked more closely. Tableau can't type very well either, although he does try, usually when I'm in the middle of typing something important.

No, I was following tight regulation on PZI and got Tableau off of insulin within weeks of switching, so I'm a big fan.

Thanks for clarifying. I will re-read everything tonight and figure out what we are doing, but I'm pretty sure it will be tight regulation.

Thank you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top