? AMPS 405 Prozinc Dosing Advice and what to do if I am 2 hours late on shot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

NiandraLaDes21

Member Since 2020
I bought an automatic feeder for Chia and now he is getting regular small meals throughout the day and night. I am able to give him a dose 1.0 unit without having to skip shots now. I am wondering if the previous low readings where I would have to skip shots was from him not having enough food to last him till the next shot time. He tended to eat most of his food early and not leave enough for himself for later. Do I need to increase his insulin dose with his current readings? He is trending high now. A lot of pinks.

Also, I have a dilemma tonight. I get out of work late today and with traffic, I will probably be 2 hours past his evening shot time. What do I do with dose if I am 2 hours late tonight? I will not be able to delay his shot the next day because of work. The schedule I am trying to stick to is 6:30am/pm because it is what fits my work schedule best.
 
Hello Niandra! Well done on the automatic feeder-- that should help. As far as tonight goes, I don't think you should inject two hours late. But I know skipping altogether isn't good either. If it were me, I think I'd do a half dose, just so Chia is getting something, but it still has a chance to get out of her system before tomorrow AM. And if you can do her AM shot any later than normal, I would do that too.

Looking at Chia's spreadsheet, I think it's time to try a small dose increase (starting tomorrow am). I know she used to get less, but her numbers right now look like they warrant a 1.25 dose. That's the way it goes sometimes. The pancreas makes more insulin for a while, then it gets tired and decides it needs a little more help while it continues to heal. You might try a 1.25 dose and see if you start getting some blue and green numbers mid-cycle.
 
I will do half dose then. Thank you for confirming increasing dose. That was my gut feeling that I needed to increase his dose again. That makes sense about the pancreas. I will do half dose tonight since I will be late with shot and increase to 1.25 U tomorrow but maybe not till evening shot so I can monitor him.

Hello Niandra! Well done on the automatic feeder-- that should help. As far as tonight goes, I don't think you should inject two hours late. But I know skipping altogether isn't good either. If it were me, I think I'd do a half dose, just so Chia is getting something, but it still has a chance to get out of her system before tomorrow AM. And if you can do her AM shot any later than normal, I would do that too.

Looking at Chia's spreadsheet, I think it's time to try a small dose increase (starting tomorrow am). I know she used to get less, but her numbers right now look like they warrant a 1.25 dose. That's the way it goes sometimes. The pancreas makes more insulin for a while, then it gets tired and decides it needs a little more help while it continues to heal. You might try a 1.25 dose and see if you start getting some blue and green numbers mid-cycle.
 
There are new Prozinc "Sticky" documents in the Prozinc ISG (Insulin Support Forum).
Prozinc / PZI
You might want to go over there and take a look.
The 4 sticky or pinned posts all got updated. Worth taking a look see.
Especially the revised PROZINC DOSING METHODS

I was trying to notify more recent members that use Prozinc about this. Started yesterday, but had 50+ more people to update. You were one of those folks I had not gotten to yet.
 
I will take a look at the updated stickies, thank you!

There are new Prozinc "Sticky" documents in the Prozinc ISG (Insulin Support Forum).
Prozinc / PZI
You might want to go over there and take a look.
The 4 sticky or pinned posts all got updated. Worth taking a look see.
Especially the revised PROZINC DOSING METHODS

I was trying to notify more recent members that use Prozinc about this. Started yesterday, but had 50+ more people to update. You were one of those folks I had not gotten to yet.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top