? AMPS 396, +2 369 Persistent high numbers despite dose increase :/

tackeee

Member Since 2019
So Little One went up to 3.75 units a few days ago (right at the time I switched to the Contour testing device: see comments on his chart). I was excited to see another blue dip, but then in the past few days it's back up to where it was. Overall via his chart his numbers are slowly slowly dropping, but he still seems lethargic and out of it, and I'm worried because every time I feel like he's making progress, he seems to dip again.

I've given him a bit of gabapentin in his food for the past several days (like 50mg in the am and 50mg pm) for stomatitis, but he seemed sort of dopey, so I wanted to see how he was without it. (Plus the prescription is labeled for pain as needed). He scarfs his food down, so it's hard to tell when/if he's in pain, especially when he's just overall lethargic with high numbers (and even higher I'm assuming on the alphatrak).

I'm going to attempt a curve again today and test his numbers again every two or so hours and see if I can get in a later night test.

(@Wendy&Neko, @ =)
 
How about trying 25/25 mg f gabapentin? And if to much still try half of that. My understanding of it is at first they can be drowsy but they get use to it and drowsy stops. My Olive gets 12.5 mg twice a day and bupre twice a day for other reason but she will remain in them for the unforeseeable future.
 
The Contour Next is giving you lower numbers. It would be good to see a break in the spreadsheet where you made the meter change. Tagging @Marje and Gracie who may be able to help with that.

Have you decided which dosing methodology you want to use, Tight Regulation or Start Low Go Slow? If so, please add either TR or SLGS to your signature. We really need you to decide which you’d like to follow, to better be able to help you on dosing. The choice of dosing method is up to you and what suits your life style. With TR you can increase more quickly, but since it is a more aggressive dosing method, it needs at least four tests per day, including one at night after preshot.

Little One saw pretty blue then bounced. He may have broken the bounce and seen more good numbers last night, it without any additional PM tests, it’s only a guess. I would also guess he likely needs another increase at some point. You just need to keep increasing as per the dosing method, and you will eventually get to a dose that moves his numbers.

The link to your last post here on dosing, for continuity: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/little-one-amps-317-2-559-need-help-with-dose.209917/
 
I added SLGS to my signature, just because there are some work days that I may not be able to test between AMPS and PMPS. I can get in more tests other days, but I will need to go a bit slower overall because of my work commitments. I've also added some rows of space on Little One's spreadsheet so that people can see the break with Contour (started halfway through 1/28).

I'll try to get in more night tests, particularly ones that are closer to midnight or later. The problem too is that his numbers always spike a bit after he eats and because the insulin kicks in a bit later, it's hard to catch any blue unless it's like 1-3am. (His typical AMPS/PMPS is 9:30am-9:30pm).

I'll try to get in at least four tests a day when I can even if I am opting for SLGS. After his curve today and then tomorrow I'll perhaps go up to 4 units?

Thanks!
 
How about trying 25/25 mg f gabapentin? And if to much still try half of that. My understanding of it is at first they can be drowsy but they get use to it and drowsy stops. My Olive gets 12.5 mg twice a day and bupre twice a day for other reason but she will remain in them for the unforeseeable future.

I have 100mg capsules I'm breaking open, and I'll just sprinkle a bit in his food am/pm to make it last for two-three days to aim for a lower dosage. My vet was also wary that as he's still getting his BG regulated, the dopey reactions to the meds may be mistaken for hypoglycemia or visa versa. I suppose since I'm testing though, this shouldn't be an issue. It's just hard to tell overall where his discomfort is coming from! Poor guy...
 
A PM test at midnight should still give us a clue what's happening over night. Any reason your shot schedule is so late?

I see a 135 in there today. :cool: If following SLGS, that means holding the dose cause nadirs are between 90 and 149.
 
The Contour Next is giving you lower numbers. It would be good to see a break in the spreadsheet where you made the meter change. Tagging @Marje and Gracie who may be able to help with that.

Have you decided which dosing methodology you want to use, Tight Regulation or Start Low Go Slow? If so, please add either TR or SLGS to your signature. We really need you to decide which you’d like to follow, to better be able to help you on dosing. The choice of dosing method is up to you and what suits your life style. With TR you can increase more quickly, but since it is a more aggressive dosing method, it needs at least four tests per day, including one at night after preshot.

Little One saw pretty blue then bounced. He may have broken the bounce and seen more good numbers last night, it without any additional PM tests, it’s only a guess. I would also guess he likely needs another increase at some point. You just need to keep increasing as per the dosing method, and you will eventually get to a dose that moves his numbers.

The link to your last post here on dosing, for continuity: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/little-one-amps-317-2-559-need-help-with-dose.209917/
If you send me a private message, I’ll get some info I need from you and I can reformat the SS for the Contour.
 
Back
Top