amps 386,+4 341,pmps 385,+3 373

Status
Not open for further replies.

babbie & otto

Member Since 2015
Just increased dose and 2 days in he is steady in the 300's. Doing a before bed test tonight but not seeing much change. Just checking in. Tomorrow is 3 days into TR new dose.
Need help adding links to last thread, I apologize.
 
here is your last thread "Referred to the Lantus Group, Need help"

I'd give him 2 more shots at this dose and if he isn't out of pinks, increase again on Tuesday morning. He's being stubborn about coming down, isn't he?

How is it going getting blood tests now? Is he better hydrated and are you able to get blood tests when you try?

ketones still negative?

 
You are a dear! Thank you so much. No ketones, eats as much food as I will give him, hair coat looks dry but much better, pees less, easier to test and purrs all the time. Its like he is not sick except for the food anxiety. Chicken satisfies him more but he doesn't poop well on it. I was thinking of mixing some evo with the cooked thighs sometimes and see how that does. I gotta say, looking at other's spreadsheets is scary!!! Up, down, high dose, low dose etc. I guess we are getting a story but not much unfolding here.
 
Perfectly fine to add chicken - i used to give punkin cooked chicken breast as his pokey treats, or if he was hungry late in the cycle and i didn't want him to have many carbs.

Cats are all so different from each other - you just want to give each cat whatever they need. We have cats here from 2 drops to 45u per shot. Rather a large spectrum, isn't it?

Otto's story is unfolding, though. All of those non-blood sugar comments are telling us more about how he's doing and feeling. Does he seem like he feels better now than when he was on the 5u, even though he's still got lots of over 300 tests?
 
Otto seems to have felt pretty darn good this whole time except for the food anxiety. He only has 3 legs so he doesn't get around a lot these days but has been going outside a little more. 2 questions: I read about polyphasia and one vet said "when there is a lack of insulin in the bloodstream, the appetite center cells don't monitor glucose levels properly, thinking the blood glucose is low. As a result, the pet develops poylphagia to correct for this perceived problem. The additional food is then eaten further increases the blood glucose level." Would this counter the concept of "feed at will"? Also, would it have any correlation to the fact that most cats BG is higher in the morning (less food at night).
we were at at 462 AMPS today. Going up! Is Levamir an option or should I just chill out a bit? Just read, some cats there is a antibody difficulty with Lantus for some cats.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top