AMPS 362, +5 270, PMPS 414 Need dosing advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracy & Leo

Member Since 2011
Hi Lantus Land,

So i increased Leo's dose on the 11th to 1.25 U twice a day. I did a curve on him on Thursday and he seems to be coming down into the blues during the day, but ends up in the high pinks or low reds by shot time. I was thinking about just "fattening" up his dose a little bit. I'm at work at the moment and Leo's grandparents are taking care of him so i don't have today's numbers for him yet, plus they are just getting used to taking his bg. They have been taking it pre-shot and at the +6, so should i get them to fatten up his dose or just wait until i get home and can do a proper curve on him?

What kind of numbers should he be getting pre-shot? I'm assuming that him being in the blues for his +6 is a good thing?

Please help!
Tracy
 
Hi Tracy, I'm not a dose expert, just stopping by to wish a fellow newbie 'good luck' and to say that Leo is lucky to have g'parents that will care for him so well. Not too many would try to learn to testing. I'm sure someone with knowledge will be along to help you soon.
 
Bump

Hi tracy

Im thinking wait til u get home...which is when approx.? Few days?
Since leo's grandparents are new to testing.
By any chance is leo getting fed before the preshot number?
No food after +8/+9ish right?
When u have a chance could u post his feeding schedule?

Gonna give ur condo a bump for others
 
kudos to your parents for learning to test. :mrgreen:

I would rather see today's numbers for making a dosing recommendation. The red could be from stress, or it could be from bouncing off of lower numbers. It's usually a good idea to wait until bounces have cleared before increasing the dose.
 
Well thanks for the quick response.
I just talked to my parents and it really looks like he got a fur shot this morning because at +6 he was 374, i asked if they could smell the Lantus on his fur and they said they didn't even think to take a sniff. My parents are convinced that my Aviva Accuchek is giving us wonky numbers, but i'm not so sure about that, its brand new!
Tonight's PMPS was 358 and my dad knew he gave him a fur shot and i specifically told my parents never to give another shot, but they gave him a 0.5 u dose after the fur shot tonight. But he said he would check him a few times tonight.
Leo has always been an all day grazer, and since he's been sick i haven't wanted to deny him. But i was taking his food away 2 hours before his shot. I told my parents to do the same thing, when i just talked to them they said they would test his bg at +6 tonight, and if its good then they will take away the food until the AMPS, just to see what happens to his sugar.
I have been working at my job for the last 6 years now and its always 7 days in 7 days out, so i'm not home for half of the time, Leo has been staying with my parents half time for the last 6 years and they really love him as well. We all just want him to get better, so when i asked them to help me out with shots and testing they were more than willing, it doesn't hurt that i have a "sugar dad" as well! LOL He knows exactly what Leo is going through.
I won't be home until this coming Friday, so if we are going to increase the dose i suppose we can wait until then to change it.
And like i said before he's an all day grazer, and eats all the FF's from Janet and Binky's list.
So i guess wait a few more days until the fur shot fiasco has passed to make a recommendation on his dosing?
 
I think waiting until the shed refills after 2 fur shots is wise. You won't have a clear read on Leo's numbers.

One thought about food, though. Would it be too difficult to not leave food out after +6? Feeding after nadir (I'm assuming Leo's nadir is around +6) means the there's less insulin to offset the effects of food on BG numbers. Once Leo is past nadir, the effect of Lantus is on the decline. You may end up seeing higher pre-shot numbers as a result.

BTW, if your dad thinks your meter is off, have him test himself with your meter and his. There's up to 20% variance due to the meter.
 
Oh My Goodness take the food away?!?! We would likely have our eyes scratched out if we did that! :o :o Hahaha, i can mention that as well to my parents. The lantus decline after nadir and feeding after that makes sense as well too. I just thought it was ok for Leo to graze all day, do most kitties on Lantus have set feeding times?

My dad and i also talked about doing testing with both meters from now on, i think he has a freestyle lite?
 
How people handle food with their kitties varies. A lot depends on the cat -- every cat is different (ECID). There are a few people who's cats free feed and other than picking up the bowl 2 hours before shot time, there's food around all the time. Others feed at fixed times. For example, I feed Gabby at pre-shot, +1, +2, and +3 because she is prone to fast, early drops and the food (hopefully) offsets those drops. Others feed mini-meals at various points. As you look at other people's condos (it's what we call our threads), you'll see notes either in the signature lines or on spreadsheets about how people feed. You'll also see that for cats who are getting close to remission, a snack at +8 or +9 is provided since a bit of food helps to stimulate the pancreas to produce insulin and will lower the pre-shot numbers. For newly diagnosed cats, small meals helps to not overwhelm a healing pancreas.
 
my cat's numbers did improve when i started feeding him at shot time (1 can FF) and +3 (1/2 can FF) - he's a 14+ lb, so you might need a lot less volume. the point is that i had been feeding him every 6 hours and switched to this - and it did help. he tolerates waiting til the next meal.

changing a feeding schedule is an easy change for you to try out and see what happens.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top