? AMPS 311, 3U Caninsulin/12h, doesn't eat, shoot or no shoot?

Blanche

Member Since 2026
Blanche suddenly don't want to eat a thing! Not even her beloved Purina Pro Plan Hydra Care! At 09.00 her shot is due, but she won't eat and I will be at work till afternoon. I cant leave food out, my two others cats will eat it (well, not both of them but Papagalio certainly will). What to do? No shot at all? Lower the dose?
Yesterday I check for ketones in the blood 0.1.
I will attach her last lab test done at 6/3/2026.

Thank you in advance!
 

Attachments

Hi Athanasia,

I just saw your post now and noticed that you gave 1u. Hopefully some more experienced eyes will be able to weigh in as well.

I do know that even when a cat is scheduled for a procedure and has to fast (so they’re not allowed to eat), many people still give about 50% of the usual insulin dose. However, I’ve mostly heard this in relation to Lantus, and I’m really not sure whether the same approach applies to Caninsulin, so it would definitely be good to hear from someone with more experience with that insulin.

Since you’re at work during the day, something that might really help is having a camera at home. I’ve actually installed 4 cameras around the house so I can check on Maggie and see how she’s doing while I’m at work, so I could react if there were ever an emergency.

Also, since you have two other cats, if it’s possible it might help to occasionally separate Blanche in a different room with food available, especially on days like today when you want to make sure she can eat without the others getting to her food.

Please keep us updated on how he’s doing ❤️
 
Update:

Since I have two other cats with liver condition, severe for Papagalio (she tolerates nothing other than than Hepatic RC), I choose to leave out the Hepatic dry food so if Blance want to graze no harm will come to Papagalio (who of course went to food as well!). I catch Blanche on camera to eat at AMPS +1.5 and then drink. I dont now how much she ate but she seems ok.
And my vet aggred to switch to Lantus! I think I have to order the microchip feeder for her and install a Libre before the switch.
Any thougths in the subject will be more than welcome!

Hellen, thanks again for replying <3
 
Back
Top