AMPS 293 PMPS 76 +1 79 +2 104 +3.5 108 +5 155 +7 238

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Lynda & Marnie, Oct 20, 2021.

  1. Lynda & Marnie

    Lynda & Marnie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2021
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2021
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  2. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Hi Lynda, will you be able to monitor her if you shoot? If yes, please go ahead.

    Btw, she earned a reduction to 0.5U with that drop below 50 on Oct 11th.
     
  3. Lynda & Marnie

    Lynda & Marnie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2021
    Hi Bhooma, I will be around to monitor
    I was a bit reluctant to reduce her dose after that drop on the 11th as last time it was reduced she had to go back up again
    Her numbers havent been the best lately ,I have been unable to get her normal food and currently trying a new food which is slightly higher in carb than her usual
     
    Last edited: Oct 20, 2021
  4. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I would get a +1 and a +2 as this is the lowest Preshot you have shot.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  5. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    A cat's insulin needs can and do change. A dose that was too low a couple of weeks back or even last week can be too high now and vice versa.
    It's possible that the higher numbers you are seeing are her bouncing from going too low.
     
  6. Lynda & Marnie

    Lynda & Marnie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2021
    Thankyou, I will
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  7. Lynda & Marnie

    Lynda & Marnie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2021
    Thanks Bhooma, I gave .75 tonight . So do you think I need to reduce to .5 from now on ?
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  8. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    See how tonight goes. The next time she drops below 50, you can reduce.
     
  9. Lynda & Marnie

    Lynda & Marnie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2021
    Thankyou
     
  10. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Lynda, if you get a BG such as 86 @+3 after a preshot of 254 (10/18) I would definitely get another test in as that is telling you Marnie is having an active cycle. The next morning the AMPS was 315 which indicates she most likely dropped low. I can see several instances where this has happened. So to keep Marnie safe, I would check the BG again an hour or two later..
    Are you feeding during the cycles?
    BTW I have just realised you are in South Australia…..I am in Sydney.:)
     
  11. Lynda & Marnie

    Lynda & Marnie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2021
  12. Lynda & Marnie

    Lynda & Marnie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2021
    Hi Bron , yes I usually give her a can at shot time and 1/4 can at +3 and +6 for am and pm cycles.
    Her plus 3 is 9pm and I usually stay up until at least midnight or 1am to make sure she is alert and seems ok before going to bed and give her 1/4 can . My husband gets up at 4am for work
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  13. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Try and get that second test in if the number is lower to ensure she remains safe.
     
    Lynda & Marnie likes this.
  14. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I just saw 79 at +1. No food bump at all. I would give her a snack of some higher carb food now as it’s early in the cycle and we want her to have a bit of leeway at onset
     
    Lynda & Marnie likes this.
  15. Lynda & Marnie

    Lynda & Marnie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2021
    Have given her some MC now
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  16. Lynda & Marnie

    Lynda & Marnie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2021
  17. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    That’s bumped it up a bit. Id give a teaspoon of ordinary low carb now and I’d get a +3 if you are able. How does that sound?
     
    Lynda & Marnie likes this.
  18. Lynda & Marnie

    Lynda & Marnie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2021
    Sounds good, thanks for your guidance
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  19. Lynda & Marnie

    Lynda & Marnie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2021
  20. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    So she’s staying fairly flat. I would give her a teaspoon of low carb again and test in about an hour. Would that be OK?
    Could you also change your subject line to PMPS 76, +1 79, +2 104, +3.5 108 please? Then people helping can see at a glance how things are going without going into the thread every time to check…thx..

    I am going to tag @Bandit's Mom to see if she can check on Marnie as I have an early start in the morning and need to get to bed.
    You have done really well. Also if you could write in the remarks column what you have fed and when, that is helpful….eg+1 MC, +2 teaspoon LC etc.
     
    Bandit's Mom and Lynda & Marnie like this.
  21. Lynda & Marnie

    Lynda & Marnie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2021
    Thanks so much for your help , I should be ok for the night if Bhooma isnt available.
    I will stay up until I know she is safe
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  22. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Hi Lynda, I am around. Looks like Marnie's doing okay so far. She is higher 2 hours after the MC. Hopefully she should not drop after this.
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  23. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Thanks Bhooma!
    Thanks for changing the subject line Lynda. You’ve done a great job keeping Marnie safe tonight! I’m hoping she will just stay flat.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  24. Lynda & Marnie

    Lynda & Marnie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2021
    Thanks Bhooma
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  25. Lynda & Marnie

    Lynda & Marnie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2021
    Thanks again for your help, goodnight
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  26. Lynda & Marnie

    Lynda & Marnie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2021
  27. Lynda & Marnie

    Lynda & Marnie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2021
    +7 238
    Why so high now :(
     
  28. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    She probably went lower than PMPS during the day and is bouncing from there.
     
  29. Lynda & Marnie

    Lynda & Marnie Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2021
    Oh, that explains it
    And it proves why you should test each cycle
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  30. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Exactly! The preshot is not always a good indicator of how low the BG can go in that cycle. You can start in the 300s, dip to below 50 and go back up!
     

Share This Page