Haven’t given insulin yet thoughSo sorry I wasn't online ... Did you stall feeding?
Which dose would be best to keep him in these safer numbers? Sorry I didn’t remember to stall feeding. I will next time.Okay, next time remember to stall. You have given 3u at 232 which isn't much different than 207 ... you could technically give full dose since he is over 150 (and 200) but you can also give a reduced dose if you are more comfortable with that.
Thank you. I just gave him 2.75 (the best I could on the whole unit syringe). Will a +3 be good to check?I think you could do 2.75u to be safe ... 3u is probably okay but my brain is a little fried after several late nights + early mornings and I don't trust myself to be able to stay and help if Little Bit dips.
Yes ma’am I will test him in 2 hours. I have procrastinated lesson planning, so I’ll be up.Could you do a +2? +2's are the magic testing time, it's an early indication of what the cycle will be like. If it's noticeably lower, it will be an active cycle. If rising or staying the same, pretty quiet. Usually, anyway.
Thank youOkay, sounds good. I will try to check in two hours from now, but you know what to do.![]()
we appreciate you!Thank you—hoping we are on the right track now. I can tell he feels much better today. I’ll let you know his +2.Sorry I wasn’t on. Congrats on the great preshot! Of course unexpected changes like that make dosing tricky. Let’s see what happens.
Yes ma’amLovely! Shall we check in an hour to see how he's doing?
175 +3Lovely! Shall we check in an hour to see how he's doing?
Snooze it is! Thank you!Awesome! I think she'll be fine tonight.
If you want another test in a couple hours for data's sake you could, but I think it's safe to snooze.![]()
3.0 units in! Thank you! Hope you got some rest last night.That's okay! Bouncing probably from last night.
Yep 3u

Thank you! Hopefully he will come back down to those safe numbers again soon.I agree... a bounce. WHile he was in perfectly safe numbers, he's not USED to being in those good numbers. No biggie.![]()
Safe, yes. Recommended, not so much. Fish actually isn't a great choice because of the allergy and addiction potential, plus thyroid-disrupting properties. I think it's fine to use on occasion but not on a regular basis. I wouldn't return them though, just alternate them with the poultry & beef varieties.Also, I mainly feed them chicken & beef fancy feast pates, but I bought two boxes of the seafood pates—those are safe, too, correct?
I will standby for dosing in the morning. Yes, yesterday’s numbers were great. Wish we would’ve had more of those today.I wonder if @Deb & Wink and @JanetNJ would encourage you to up the dose tomorrow to 3.25? Yesterday's PM was lovely but still over 150 at nadir.
Safe, yes. Recommended, not so much. Fish actually isn't a great choice because of the allergy and addition potential, plus thyroid-disrupting properties. I think it's fine to use on occasion but not on a regular basis. I wouldn't return them though, just alternate them with the poultry & beef varieties.
The other drawback to seafood, is that some cats like it so much, they start refusing to eat any other flavors.I’ll space the seafood out. Maybe 2-3x/week?
I can 100% see kitties liking seafood flavors so much that they won’t eat others—noted! Thank you for the insight re stalling and dosing protocols. @Panic told me about stalling last night, the timing just wasn’t right—my fault; I shouldn’t have fed him, but, you’re correct that hindsight is 20/20.The other drawback to seafood, is that some cats like it so much, they start refusing to eat any other flavors.
A couple times a week sounds fine. I do that with my civie.
Even with the pre-shot test of 207, I'd have recommended keeping the same 3U dose. You are using the MPM protocol for Prozinc, and that doesn't call for a reduced dose unless the retest after a stall with no food is <200 AND you have little experience with how YOUR cat reacts to the dose and the lower (but not too low) numbers.
Hindsight is great, isn't it? We all wish we had eyes in the backs of our heads and could predict the future and know what dose to give.Maybe next time you can think about stalling, and retesting (no food before you retest).
I do think that Little Bit is due for a 0.25U increase, to 3.25U. See the MPM portion of the protocol for why I'm suggesting that.
So far, you have only see BG numbers in the middle blue ranges.
There is plenty of room at nadirs, for Little Bit to drop into the lower blue and even the green BG ranges.
Good! Maybe we will see a blue at +6+2 is 265
Yes ma’am! I hope so!Good! Maybe we will see a blue at +6
249 for +6Good! Maybe we will see a blue at +6
ah well, I was hoping for blue. Not bad though.249 for +6
ah well, I was hoping for blue. Not bad though.![]()
He has felt so good today! Has even been chasing his brothers around lolHe has felt so good today! Has even been chasing his brothers around lol
BooooHoly cow—451 PMPS![]()