AMPS 287

Status
Not open for further replies.
Okay, next time remember to stall. You have given 3u at 232 which isn't much different than 207 ... you could technically give full dose since he is over 150 (and 200) but you can also give a reduced dose if you are more comfortable with that.
 
Okay, next time remember to stall. You have given 3u at 232 which isn't much different than 207 ... you could technically give full dose since he is over 150 (and 200) but you can also give a reduced dose if you are more comfortable with that.
Which dose would be best to keep him in these safer numbers? Sorry I didn’t remember to stall feeding. I will next time.
 
I think you could do 2.75u to be safe ... 3u is probably okay but my brain is a little fried after several late nights + early mornings and I don't trust myself to be able to stay and help if Little Bit dips.
Thank you. I just gave him 2.75 (the best I could on the whole unit syringe). Will a +3 be good to check?
 
Could you do a +2? +2's are the magic testing time, it's an early indication of what the cycle will be like. If it's noticeably lower, it will be an active cycle. If rising or staying the same, pretty quiet. Usually, anyway.
 
I wonder if @Deb & Wink and @JanetNJ would encourage you to up the dose tomorrow to 3.25? Yesterday's PM was lovely but still over 150 at nadir.

Also, I mainly feed them chicken & beef fancy feast pates, but I bought two boxes of the seafood pates—those are safe, too, correct?
Safe, yes. Recommended, not so much. Fish actually isn't a great choice because of the allergy and addiction potential, plus thyroid-disrupting properties. I think it's fine to use on occasion but not on a regular basis. I wouldn't return them though, just alternate them with the poultry & beef varieties.
 
Last edited:
I wonder if @Deb & Wink and @JanetNJ would encourage you to up the dose tomorrow to 3.25? Yesterday's PM was lovely but still over 150 at nadir.


Safe, yes. Recommended, not so much. Fish actually isn't a great choice because of the allergy and addition potential, plus thyroid-disrupting properties. I think it's fine to use on occasion but not on a regular basis. I wouldn't return them though, just alternate them with the poultry & beef varieties.
I will standby for dosing in the morning. Yes, yesterday’s numbers were great. Wish we would’ve had more of those today.
I’ll space the seafood out. Maybe 2-3x/week?
 
I’ll space the seafood out. Maybe 2-3x/week?
The other drawback to seafood, is that some cats like it so much, they start refusing to eat any other flavors.:rolleyes:
A couple times a week sounds fine. I do that with my civie.

Even with the pre-shot test of 207, I'd have recommended keeping the same 3U dose. You are using the MPM protocol for Prozinc, and that doesn't call for a reduced dose unless the retest after a stall with no food is <200 AND you have little experience with how YOUR cat reacts to the dose and the lower (but not too low) numbers.
Hindsight is great, isn't it? We all wish we had eyes in the backs of our heads and could predict the future and know what dose to give. :( Maybe next time you can think about stalling, and retesting (no food before you retest).

I do think that Little Bit is due for a 0.25U increase, to 3.25U. See the MPM portion of the protocol for why I'm suggesting that.

So far, you have only see BG numbers in the middle blue ranges.
There is plenty of room at nadirs, for Little Bit to drop into the lower blue and even the green BG ranges.
 
The other drawback to seafood, is that some cats like it so much, they start refusing to eat any other flavors.:rolleyes:
A couple times a week sounds fine. I do that with my civie.

Even with the pre-shot test of 207, I'd have recommended keeping the same 3U dose. You are using the MPM protocol for Prozinc, and that doesn't call for a reduced dose unless the retest after a stall with no food is <200 AND you have little experience with how YOUR cat reacts to the dose and the lower (but not too low) numbers.
Hindsight is great, isn't it? We all wish we had eyes in the backs of our heads and could predict the future and know what dose to give. :( Maybe next time you can think about stalling, and retesting (no food before you retest).

I do think that Little Bit is due for a 0.25U increase, to 3.25U. See the MPM portion of the protocol for why I'm suggesting that.

So far, you have only see BG numbers in the middle blue ranges.
There is plenty of room at nadirs, for Little Bit to drop into the lower blue and even the green BG ranges.
I can 100% see kitties liking seafood flavors so much that they won’t eat others—noted! Thank you for the insight re stalling and dosing protocols. @Panic told me about stalling last night, the timing just wasn’t right—my fault; I shouldn’t have fed him, but, you’re correct that hindsight is 20/20.
To 3.25 we go in the morning! I’ll have to use our new syringes with smaller unit marks on them for accuracy. Thank you both for your advice—I appreciate y’all SO much! I will test him again before bed and report his AMPS in the morning.
 
He bounced, and bounced big time.
Patience please.

Would you start a new thread and link this old one in at the top. The handy dandy little counter at the bottom of the replies is saying this reply is #49 and the mods like to keep posts to a max of 50. Makes the database behind the scenes running this message board more efficient too.

Thanks. And please link this thread into the new thread too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top