amps 250 +6 202 bailey uk.hes soooo much better.thanks guys!

Status
Not open for further replies.

anna and bailey.uk england

Member Since 2014
I cannot tell you all how different these last 3 days have been to the last 7 months...............................bailey is slowly but surely coming back.he woke me this morning in the normal (before diabetes manner) by rattling the bags under the bed to wake me cos it was breakfast time.he sits and watches the birds,hes played! the drinking and weeing has more than halved.although weve had high reading the last 2 days he completely changed from the laethargic,disinterested poorly looking babe I had.i could cry with utter happiness that even if it is for the 3 days only its an absolute sign were getting there or very close to being there.
the results from the vets were that his fructosimine had lowered by 100 even though id taken him back to the start (sssshhhh don't tell the vet) he has no pancreatitis or sign of renal failure.
I just want to thank you all for your continuing support.i couldn't have or be doing it without you!
 
Re: amps 250 +6 202 bailey uk.hes soooo much better.thanks g

What a great report! So many of us have notice our kitties return to their pre-diabetes behavior! It's an awesome feeling.
 
Re: amps 250 +6 202 bailey uk.hes soooo much better.thanks g

weve had 3 consecutive days with no faulter.strange ive found high readings here and there but hes obviously feeling the lower numbers in between tests maybe.its just nice to see him like this.id almost forgotten.i used to tell him off when he woke me up messing under the bed or shredding my loo rolls but this morning I told him he was such a good boy..............I cried (with complete happiness) and then he ate a full tin of his chicken.haha.he went to sleep and then I was wide awake.(what I didn't tell you it was 5.30am) hahah!
I honestly have learnt so much off this forum and I know I upped his numbers by 0.5 the last 2 times but I read the protocol on it like 500 times.I also read about the weight to the amount of insulin and my boy is a big lad.hes soooooooo long!he feels a little heavier too since he was last weighed as hed lost quite abit!!!
good,happy times ahead! :-D
 
Re: amps 250 +6 202 bailey uk.hes soooo much better.thanks g

Good afternoon to you :razz: . I'm glad Bailey is doing so well, it makes our hearts sing to see them feel better and that is a wonderful report :-D . Happy Sunday!
 
Re: amps 250 +6 202 bailey uk.hes soooo much better.thanks g

happiest weekend by far in the last 6-7 months :-D I came home from work today almost KNOWING hed be sat on the window ledge waiting for my return as he used to every day, instead of that empty window Ive become used to over the last few months,when I get home to find him asleep under the bathroom radiator almost not caring if im home or not! not today,yesterday or Friday :-D wuhooooooooo!!! hes always been a hungry boy and surprisingly not with severe diabetes which has also not been good for his weight loss but jee wiz his appetite has returned.its costing me a fortune cos hes on the best but I don't care.x
 
Re: amps 250 +6 202 bailey uk.hes soooo much better.thanks g

Wow, how wonderful to hear! i'm thrilled to hear he's feeling better and starting to act like his old self. WOOT!

you're doing a good job of managing his dosing. Re-evaluating every 6 cycles and deciding if you should hold or increase is the best way to manage things. Sometimes people wait too long, maybe getting too attached to a particular dose and they don't like the idea of increasing, but it can make the cat accustomed to higher numbers and just end up taking more to get them down. i don't think you're doing that, i'm just saying by what you ARE doing, you're avoiding it. That's called Glucose Toxicity.

If you don't see numbers below 200 in the next 2 cycles (total of 6 cycles at 2.75) I'd increase again by 0.25u. As Bailey starts getting numbers closer to the desired nadir (50-100), you slow down the speed & size of the increases.

you're doing super!

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.

when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.

After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
 
Re: amps 250 +6 202 bailey uk.hes soooo much better.thanks g

yeah ive read all about that so this time im gonna wait but only up it .25 cos this seems to be getting him well but the numbers are still high so I will probably leave this dose a little longer than the 6 cycles(maybe 8) but then I will definately now only up it by .25.its lovely having my boy back.<3
 
Re: amps 250 +6 202 bailey uk.hes soooo much better.thanks g

if you don't see less than 200 in 6 cycles, i would increase. if you had every cycle with a nadir of 210, 205, 220, then maybe wait the 10 cycles, but with so many pinks in his ss, i wouldn't wait longer yet.

that's just what i would do.
 
Re: amps 250 +6 202 bailey uk.hes soooo much better.thanks g

oh that's good to know.the vet thinks hes on 4 anyway.haha! il up it to 3 then after 6 cycles.with the dose since 2.75 hes definitely perked up so lets go for 3.heck theres gonna be no stop in him.weellllll he is only 8.hes got many years left in him yet.well he will if I have anything to do with it ;-)
 
Re: amps 250 +6 202 bailey uk.hes soooo much better.thanks g

It's so wonderful to see your happy post. I know the feeling of worry and despair when he's sick and you just can't see any light at the end of the tunnel. Then suddenly he starts doing the things he did before he was sick and it's like a rainbow appeared in the sky while it was still raining! You just know it's going to get better! Keep doing what you're doing and keep that positive attitude and I just know your old Bailey will be around for a long time! :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: amps 250 +6 202 bailey uk.hes soooo much better.thanks g

my punkin had a high-dose condition, acromegaly. he got up to 15.5u per shot. people encouraged me to keep my eyes on the blood sugar numbers, because they were the numbers that mattered, not the size of the dose.

it helped me cope mentally with shooting ever bigger doses, so while 3units isn't a particularly big dose, i thought i'd pass along the wisdom to you.
 
Re: amps 250 +6 202 bailey uk.hes soooo much better.thanks g

my 3 close friends who used to care for him while I was on holiday, as id never leave him in a cattery id rather not go.2 have injected him this week.first with no insulin an then second time with isulin in as it was his jab time.i was there and they did good.it just helps that when I get him regulated I might even get that night away! theyd stay at my flat even though they couldn't check blood itd help me knowing they could check signs for hypo etc... he seems to know though when his bloods go low he eats!!!!
 
Re: amps 250 +6 202 bailey uk.hes soooo much better.thanks g

thanks Julie and punkin.yeah it means a lot cos you hear that 3 units is a lot ,but hes a big lad so I expected it if im honest.he was 6.9 kg before diabetes and didn't look fat even vet said so so he's erm big boned! ;-) I don't think we'll need 15u but you never know.x
 
Re: amps 250 +6 202 bailey uk.hes soooo much better.thanks g

It's wonderful to hear Bailey is feeling so much better, Anna!!

It's always so special when they return to the cat we used to know, doing the things they loved to do, and just generally feeling and looking better. I remember the first sign I saw from China. She was sitting in the sunshine, preening. I realized looking at her that I hadn't seen her preen in ages! I knew her coat was looking awful, but never really realized she'd stopped grooming until that day.

I agree you should go up the .25 to 3 units and see how Bailey does. Hopefully that'll be the "magic dose" that really gets things moving for Bailey!
 
Re: amps 250 +6 202 bailey uk.hes soooo much better.thanks g

I will start him on 3 units at pm then see how we go.hes doing so well :-D
we just need those little back legs to work properly now.he does ok getting around and jumping (although sometimes he slips) but lets get him back to FULL health.ive got him this far :idea: :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top