AMPS 231 PMPS 201- Should I cut dosage in half?

Darwin H.

Member Since 2018
Not a significant amount of water nor peeing today and both BGs in the 200 range. Suppose to give 2 Units x 2 daily. I'm thinking for the night injection since he is in 200 area possibly only 1 unit? What say the experts since too much insulin is worse then too little at this point and he only ate 1/4 can of 1.5 oz of new open can of cat food. Spread sheet is up to date
 
Last edited:
Do you have plenty of supplies and are you able to test as much as necessary tonight?

If so, I'd go ahead and shoot the 2U

Get a +1 and +2 so if you need to intervene early, you can

Basaglar dosage is based on how LOW it takes them, so it's really important to be getting at least 1 mid-cycle test on the AM cycle (if at all possible) and a "before bed" test on the PM cycle
 
Well I have a few hours before bedtime and I can give him his normal 2u and take a +2 before bedtime. What do you mean intervene - As if it drops too low?
 
What zone are we shooting for with a Reli on Prime machine anyways? I have read different things in several places for Diabetic cats.
 
Eventually, we hope to keep them between 50-120...with most of their numbers under 100

If they drop below 50, that's your "time to act" and feed something high carb to get their numbers up (like Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers) and you need to keep testing for a couple of hours to make sure he stays up once you get him up.

If he drops below 50 (on Tight Regulation) he earns a reduction in dose. (it's under 90 on Start Low, Go Slow)
 
I have to wonder if dropped into 100's during today's AM cycle but since you didn't get any tests, there's no way to know.

But that would explain why he's higher now....His body is "bouncing".

Bounces are caused by 1. dropping too low, 2. dropping too quickly. 3 dropping into numbers his body isn't used to being anymore (or any combination of all 3)

The liver releases stored sugars and hormones to bring them back up to keep them safe or because he's used to being in higher numbers and the liver is "panicking" because it "thinks" he's too low.

I'd bet that he dropped into the 100's (or lower) today and now he's bouncing.

Bounces can take up to 6 cycles to clear.
 
Thanks for the insight. This week or next I will try and get a day to do a curve. More info is better.
 
Yes I did sleep ok, but the numbers are so confusing. AMPS 446 this morning! Really? after yesterday 231 + 201?
 
This hurts my head... No static absolutes except this is the new normal.. Thank you so much for your continued input.
 
Darwin, you posted before on another thread about refrigerating/not refrigerating your Basaglar insulin. I have read in many posts that members here do refrigerate their insulin so it keeps longer. I did not use the pens, I had a vial, and was advised to keep it in the fridge so it would last longer. Cats use much smaller doses than humans, and insulin is so expensive that it made sense to me. This might be worth asking the more experienced members like @Chris & China for more info on this issue?
 
Yes, it should be kept refrigerated.....in the fridge, not in the door because the door temps vary too much.

The manufacturer says not to refrigerate because of the "dial-a-dose" mechanism since it can cause it to stick, but since we don't use it, it doesn't matter
 
Last edited:
Back
Top