AMPS 225 Asher!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

donnahc

Member Since 2011
Morning kids:

We are amazed at a low AMPS! Do you guys think we shoot 2 u into this 225 this morning?

SS is current.

Thanks for your help :)

-Donna and Asher

Ps: someone/both of us will be with him all day...
 
Gonna check your ss- just a sec...
I wouldn't do 2u. You don't have enough data to support it yet. The last time you had this low of a ps you were still feeding the d/m, so you can't compare that. I'd maybe go with between 1.25-1.5u. I try to be cautious with my doses, so I'd probably do 1.25 if it were my kitty (you're using u-100 syringes, right?) just to be on the safer side.
 
Awesome number is right! And I concur with Claudia. 1.25 sounds good and safe. Then you can test throughout the day and see how he does. Great that you'll be home with him. Go Asher!
 
We have both u40 and u100 syringes so could do either. I am all for being causious since a hypo scares me more than anything, but it seems every time we reduce dose we get funky numbers, so that is why i wanted to ask first.

-d.
 
We went with the 1.5u for two reasons...Tom didn’t want to go too low, and we shot before we got Kristen’s second on the 1.25u :(

I should learn to wait a bit more, but as soon as Asher gets settled in his bed we try to shoot before he gets active again.

In any case, we will watch and test him throughout the day and keep you posted here. I think it should be fine since we shot 2u into a 232 before and all was well.

Thank you guys for helping us so early in the morning!!!

-d.
 
Looking at your ss again, somehow I totally missed the last 2 yellow pmps's. So I agree with your choice. You probably could have done 1.75 without too much concern too...but better to be safe. Not sure how I missed those. I'm glad you went with your gut!
 
Hi Donna,
Nice amps! and I sooo understand not wanting to deal with a hypo. I think (IMHO) aiming for the greens and taking a small chance you MAY go a bit low is not all that scary if you are around your kitty to test.
pz is so very predictable compared to the scary hypo's on the L insulins which really can last an entire day!
With pz if your +2 is alarming you know to keep an eye....but don't over-react.
if your +4 is the start of a low...still do not over-react
and the beauty is that if your +6 is low you can pretty much be assured you have a very small window in which to worry. that is not to say do not treat a +6 38...give asher some low or med. carb...but you know the insulin stops it's action within 2 hours and won't fight you after that.
just my 2 cents.
 
There's still time for him to come down some. The dose was probably overly conservative. I'm sorry! That tends to be my nature with this whole diabetes thing. You can probably always count on my advice being too low and adjust accordingly ;-)
 
No appologies Claudia!!! I appreciate all of your expertise more than I can describe!!!
I would way rather err on the conservative side....
We'll make a new decision next test. :)

Thank you all!

Donna
 
Sometimes dealing with FD seems like 2 steps forward and one step back. You did fine and every day we learn something new, right? Hang in there.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top