Amps 224 can i dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Wow, Jen! Things are starting to move forward for Mr. B. I'm not confident enough to specify a dose but you're using a human meter and the general advice is no shot below 200 on that meter. You're enough above that I think. Can you do extra monitoring today? You might want to be able to do that if you keep the same dose.
 
Wow, Jen! Things are starting to move forward for Mr. B. I'm not confident enough to specify a dose but you're using a human meter and the general advice is no shot below 200 on that meter. You're enough above that I think. Can you do extra monitoring today? You might want to be able to do that if you keep the same dose.
Hi Jen! Am I too late? I can't recall what dose you've been giving. You're using a relion now correct? Can you monitor?

i didnt dose, and well I don't know what happened but I got all distracted for an hour. tested again and 357 (dosed right away). kicking myself.
I use relion micro. i'm wondering if that first reading was somehow false. I've got a relion confirm as a spare and i'm going to start using that for a while and see if its got less variance, I dunno. now feel I got all excited for nothing with that 224. such an emotional roller coaster this business.
 
Last edited:
I like to keep things as simple as possible, Jen. Too many variables at such a stressful time is a very confusing. I suggest that you get to know one meter and stick with that unless it seems to be truly malfunctioning. Buy some spare batteries for it. Keep the other Walmart meter strictly for backup. You've used the AlphaTrak meter in the past but its strips are too $$$$$ for constant use. I understand why you switched.

As far as BG values go, they can change moment by moment. The reasons we test are to make sure it's safe to give insulin AM/PM, to see overall trends in BG numbers and to guide us through those low number scary times. That's it. If you know your meter well and keep your SS up to date, all the information you need is there for you. We can help you interpret that. Don't get hung up on meter variance or individual BG numbers. It's BG variance over time you want to focus on.
 
So if i were to do this morning all over again, it looks like it wouldve been fine to dose at 224 -?

I just wanna know in case it happens again.
 
The 224 WAS a lovely number and you were right to get excited. If a number that close to 200 makes you a little nervous at first, then draw up the usual dose and let out a drop. No worries. You will get him there again. But yes, shooting above 200 - even just a bit above is fine. 200 is the cut off for newbies, who aren't confident about testing and don't have the data to predict what a dose might do. You are no longer a newbie!

It is funny how, if we are used to blacks and reds and pinks, and suddenly see a lower number, we tend to panic. Everyone does this. It's hard, in the moment, to remember that it is what you've been wishing for!
 
The 224 WAS a lovely number and you were right to get excited. If a number that close to 200 makes you a little nervous at first, then draw up the usual dose and let out a drop. No worries. You will get him there again. But yes, shooting above 200 - even just a bit above is fine. 200 is the cut off for newbies, who aren't confident about testing and don't have the data to predict what a dose might do. You are no longer a newbie!

It is funny how, if we are used to blacks and reds and pinks, and suddenly see a lower number, we tend to panic. Everyone does this. It's hard, in the moment, to remember that it is what you've been wishing for!
Ok thakn you now i know what to do next time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top