AMPS 221 dosing advice asap

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ruby&Baco

Member Since 2016
Hi,
Yesterday I discusses to give baco this amps 0.50 if she gave me a yellow #. But this 221 # is making me nervous to give her 0.50. What should I give her?
I have to give her her shot in 30 minutes.
Please advice.
 
Okay, i gave her a skinny 0.60.
I want to keep up the good # but i'm still a little scared.
I will let some 11% carb dry food out for her in the timer bowl just to be sure she can 'eat her way up if needed'
Still would like to know if you would have done the same here?
 
That you made it a skinny 0.60 I think was a good decision. So she likely got about 0.55U since you squeezed it down a little more. (I would have done the same, just to be on the safe side.)
Sounds to me like you followed your gut!:)
 
Thanks. Yes It was more a 0.55 indeed.
Didn't want to go to low because I don't want to lose these pretty numbers! If I would go 0.2 all of a sudden she would give me pink ones again you know?!
 
Didn't want to go to low because I don't want to lose these pretty numbers! If I would go 0.2 all of a sudden she would give me pink ones again you know?!
Yes, and I know it's kind of hard not be nervous when you're suddenly seeing those blue numbers ... but that's how they start to surf their way into blues for preshots and toward nice greens. And tomorrow night's Friday, so you'll be around over the weekend to monitor a full 0.60, right?
 
Well tomorrow night (is for me already in 11 hours) she will get her shot in 11 hours (that will be friday night for me already) so I will give her the full 0.60 and monitor her, see what the numbers will do... :D Green onessss hopefully!
 
I think you made a good choice, Ruby. Following your gut is always good! Remember, in the end, you hold the syringe. So even if one of us told you to do something, only do it if you are comfortable. :)
 
Thanks Rachel :bighug:
Well I have to be a little more daring with the dosing, because I could have played it save this morning with a 0.2 dosis but you know what will happen then? I will come home and she is in her pink # again.
And that's something we don't want to happen. She is now in a right range of numbers and I would like to keep it that way ;)
And if she is too low today, she's got some dry food waiting for her. (but this little piggy will also eat it if she isn't too low.....:facepalm:) but better be save then sorry right ?!
 
Don't know what happend.
Came home just now, tested Baco and she gave me 378!!!!
It could be 2 things.. or she had hypo scare this morning... Or she ate all the dry food (the bowl is empty, but Minnie has also excess to it) and her # got really high....
jeeeeezzzzz It was going so well and now 378!:arghh: She hasn't been this high in almost 2 weeks....
 
Ok. So from now on, don't leave out any dry. You can leave out wet. Lots of people freeze it and leave it out to thaw in the dish. I use a silicone cupcake pan - the Fancy Feast cans just fit in it. When frozen, I pop them out and store them in the freezer in a plastic storage bag.

Lesson learned. No dry ever. No worries, you will get her back.
 
I always leave wet food.. yeahh totally lesson learned, she can NOT handle dry food she spikes too much from it even when she's that low at PS.

I pop them out and store them in the freezer in a plastic storage bag.
I do that too, but she doesn't want to eat the wet food out of the timer bowl because it's a little bit frozen still and everytime I leave it for her there, she refusses to eat it.
So I give her 2 times a day a bigger bowl of food (morning and evening) and if I find that her bowl is almost empty I fill it a little bit with more food.

I hope she will give me a nicer # at PMPS (a yellow one) so we can get back to were we where.... :arghh:
 
Do you have an automatic feeder? I love my PetSafe5. I think available in Europe through Amazon. Has 5 slots and you can set it to open/close at any time. I also have a ice pack that fits in the bottom to keep the food chilled (bought separately). It is fairly expensive, but is the only one my cat can't pry open (because the bottom tray moves instead of flipping up) and it's handy to set to close 2 hours before a shot so you don't have to worry about the number being food influenced.
 
I got one, but not as fancy as you're saying !
It's not the case that she can open it, she doesnt.. but she just doesn't like the automatic feeder. So that's why the only way she wants to eat is when she wants to... so that means for me that she gets 2 meals a day instead of 4 a day.
In the beginning of the sugar dance, she got food 4 times a day, but she got the dry food 2 times (midday and night) in the automatic feeder and 2 time (morning and evening) the wet food. When she 100% switched to wet food, I gave a little bit via the automatic feeder, but everytime I came home she didn't ate it. She just doesn't want it. She only wants the bowl I give her in the morning and evening.. It's not like she hasn't enough to eat (she does, when I come home there is still wet food left) but she doesn't want to eat out of the automatic feeder.
So that's something I can't change, unfortunatly (the little diva:banghead:).
 
BTW, she's going up more in # now. +9 was 425 (RED).
I would like to give her her shot a little earlier, +11 / +11.5. Would you recommend that?
and give her 0.70 to bring her more down this evening, and if she is low again tomorrow (normal #) then switch back to 0.60 again..
 
We definetly do now know that she can never ever EVER get dry food from me again. Learned it the hard way :banghead:
But well, it's a good thing that I now know that she can't handle it. That's another piece of information to add to the box of sugar dancing...;)


Hahaha well Baco didn't arm wrestled Minnie, I can tell you that. She just owns all the food in my home, and Minnie knows it.

What do you mean it will wear off? Is it like insuline? In some point the food is gone and she get's lower # again?
 
Oh dear that is a shame that the 11% dry had that effect on her. Yes, the carbs will eventually wear off as it is digested and metabolized. You will get her back down no worries.
 
Well i was supposed to give her a shot early but i'm running late due to the fact that i'm still waiting in the garage to get my car fixed.
So i guess today will be a +13 shot... Well maybe she got a little bit lower in # by the time I get home... Hope it's not a problem to shoot a little later ? Tomorrow at AM I will give her a +11 shot then to balance the schedule again.
 
PMPS 401 :banghead: she just got her shot.

I'd give her a shot 11/11.5 hours from this one, at the earliest.
What do you mean? +11 is de minimum you mean right?

btw other question, I've noticed when Baco was really sick (when I didn't know of her being diabetic) she lost her voice sometimes. That was when she was in high numbers.
Now today being so high in #, I came home and she always says hello to me, but this time again with a voice that's bearly there and it sounds so heartbreaking.. Is this a common thing when kitties are high in #? Or is this just Baco??
 
BTW, she's not willing to eat right now.. should I let her be for an hour or so? she's so high in # right now I don't think (maybe i'm wrong) that this will harm her?
If i'm wrong please let me know.
 
Is this the time you want to shoot insulin? If so, see if she will eat at least a tbsp. and then you could shoot and as long as she eats some later before the onset of insulin.
 
She ate 2 bites.. I think she is feeling sh*tty because of her high #.. She is also not willing to talk to me... So I think she doesn't want anything right now..
She already got her shot as soon as she ate her 2 bites, this because normally she would eat more after her shot but right now she is not willing..
I will try later.. normally I would put in a tbsp of Minnie HC food in her bowl mixed with the raw food, but because of this party we had with Baco today I'm not going to do that.. She has to eat her raw food.
She just needs to know that this is her food tonight, and she is not getting anything else. Because this trick is played more times on me by her.. She will wait untill I'm in a hurry to get to work and then she KNOWS I will give her some of Minnie's food mixed with her food. So it's a waiting game, and a reall challenge.. So that's why I was asking.. If she was in her yellows I would have no problem to give her a little, but now I'm not comfortable to give it to her. (or is this a bad thing?)
 
Since she is in the pinks, I think it would be okay to have a battle of the wills with her for a while. She might just be full from the dry kibble and will want to eat again in an hour or so.
 
She might just be full from the dry kibble
Well, that was my whole point, that sneaky little piggy... BUT she won me over just now.. She was talking to me, really with a sad voice, so I mixed one tbsp with the food Minnie gets with her food..
And what do you think happend???? exactly... madam diva decided that this is what she wanted. :confused:
Well, hopefully this will not make her spike tonight, I want to get her at least in her yellow # tonight..
Btw, did you catch my question about her voice being partly gone?
 
That would be considered a medium carb food. Could you find one that is lower that she would eat , something under 10 % and that way you could give to Baco too when need be. Minnie's food now would be perfect to use if Bacon goes low and you need to steer back up . its good to have LC, MC and higher carb for those times. As long as you keep them separated so you do t mistakenly give the Mc and HC when you do not mean to.
 
Yes, I will buy the LC food for Minnie also. At the Dutch forum they have got a list, also from this brand that Minnie eats, and there are types that are 6% to 9% So I will buy that for Minnie to eat every day. And then also buy the MC and the HC so I have them all in stock.
 
Aww Ruby, I'm sorry you had a tough time with Baco! It's true, you'll get her back. The good news is that now you know how dry food affects her. Just look at it as data gathering. It's not the end of the world. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top