Amps 214 dosing advice asap

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ruby&Baco

Very Active Member
Hi,
Baco gave me just now 214 at amps. I normally give her 0.40 but I don't know if it's the right choice to give her that now.
Please advice!
 
Her dosing normally with these kind of # when i'm at work is 0.40 but she's bounced the last couple of days when I came home from this dose so maybe this is not a good dose and I should reduce?
 
I want to avoid that when I come home her # are in pink or even red like the last couple of times. That's why I think the 0.40 is maybe to much if she's near 200 when I shoot
 
Well ... that was a really deep drop last cycle, from a 403 PMPS to 100 at +5 & +6. And since we don't have any mid-cycle numbers while you're at work, and her AMPS # is just 214, I'd say reduce it some: Either 0.35 or 030, whichever you're more comfortable with, since it's a cycle you can't monitor. What feels comfortable to you? (Keep in mind you can up it to 0.35 next cycle if it turns out that's not quite enough insulin ...)
 
I think 0.30. Because look at her ss, I think I've found a little pattern. If she's around 274 she can handle 0.40. But if she's near 200-220 and I give her that 0.40 she gives me at the end of the day a pink or even red number... Do you see it? I would like to, when I come home, find her at least in her yellow numbers...
 
Hahahahaa thanks so much Robin for replying so quickly! :bighug: Going to give her a shot now and hurry to get ready for work! I will post later today!
 
Ok, I'm gonna test Bat soon and hopefully will get some sleep (She got dosed tonight, so I never know.) Have a good day at work. (Knowing you'll be out of there soon - hooray!!!;))
 
Good luck with Bat Bat! Hopefully she doesn't give you a sleepless night! :kiss:
 
Last edited:
Hey Ruby, so glad that Robin is on the Pacific time to be awake for your AMPS. I think you made a good decision with this dose today and I will be interested to see how she did when you get home.
 
Me 2. Let's hope she will NOT give me a pink or red number today...
Will hope for a nice yellow one (or even blue) but I'm not going to aim high this time, a yellow one is also perfect for me!
 
I think 0.30. Because look at her ss, I think I've found a little pattern. If she's around 274 she can handle 0.40. But if she's near 200-220 and I give her that 0.40 she gives me at the end of the day a pink or even red number... Do you see it? I would like to, when I come home, find her at least in her yellow numbers...

You are really getting the hang of this, Ruby. Nice job!
 
Well my work this morning payed off!!! just came home and Baco's +9 is 187!!!! yeahhh that's more like it.
So what should I do tonight? try 0.30 again? Maybe that dose is better for her now she's been in her blue numbers for almost a week?
 
Well my work this morning payed off!!! just came home and Baco's +9 is 187!!!! yeahhh that's more like it.
So what should I do tonight? try 0.30 again? Maybe that dose is better for her now she's been in her blue numbers for almost a week?
Let's see where she is at PM and decide. If she is low 200's I would even go with .40 since you can monitor. Let's see what others think.
 
just came home and Baco's +9 is 187!!!! yeahhh that's more like it.
Wow, that's much better! My first instinct is to hold the dose this next cycle, but let's see what she's doing at pmps time; I do think that if/when you increase, you do that in smaller increments because it seems like Baco's system may tend toward trying to over-compensate for changes in dose if that change is more significant (regardless of whether it's an increase or a decrease) ... so I would be more inclined, for example, (IF you want to try bumping her dose up a little based on whatever you're seeing at PMPS) to only squeeze it up to maybe more like 0.35 ... let's see what @Sue and Oliver (GA) [COLOR=#000000]&[/COLOR] @Rachel is thinking about this.
 
yes you're right Robin (like always) I think so to. She's really reacting bad if her dose is increased with 0.10 or more.. 0.05 is okay.
Decreasing isn't a problem (if I look at her sheet) but the increasing is a problem if it is a big step!
 
Decreasing isn't a problem (if I look at her sheet) but the increasing is a problem if it is a big step!
I should have been clearer about my statement in regard to changes made either way, as in the case of a cat who would, say, suddenly drop into hypo-like numbers from a certain dose, the decrease would certainly need to be larger. Yes, so far in Baco's SS she doesn't appear to have had a problem with decreases. I guess you could say, though, that I'm thinking along the lines of that ol' "slow & steady wins the race" axiom.;)

I'm glad it's the weekend so that you can get some mid-cycle #s during her daytime cycle tomorrow ...
 
Thanks Robin! We will wait for Sue and Rachel to step in.
And ofcourse wait what Baco's PS is just to be sure.
 
I like the idea of smaller increases. Have we mentioned the skinny and fat dosing? So, if you want to give less than 0.3 for example, pull up 0.3 and let out a tiny drop. It isn't terribly accurate but might be easier?

Or we just let her keep going along, as she is. She occasionally has a higher number than we might see as ideal, but she is on such small doses and generally doing great. She may just be one of those kitties who takes a long time to let go of insulin, even an infinitesimal dose. (Robin could write a book about this kind of kitty)
 
I know skinny and fay dosing! so that wouldn't be a problem. I know it's not accurate but the 0.55 from yesterday wasn't also really accurate because it's so hard on both u40 and u100 to dose.... but we'll see what her PMPS will be.
I'll test it in a little bit more than 1 hour.

I know!!! Robin told me already allllll about it hahahaha :p
 
(totally) another question:

I've invited a new member (from the dutch forum) to come to this forum. She has a cat named Joy (male) 18 years and has kidney problems, heart problems (For a long time) and is now diagnosed with diabetes.
She's on prozinc, and her doctor didn't recommend testing at home said "give Joy 1U twice a day, and tell me monday how it went.... well I can tell you I've been on the forum all day to help her get Joy out of a hypo number! mennnnnn these vets....
But she will make an acount this weekend but asked me to ask you if it's possible for her to switch between foods.
She gives her cat now food that's specially for her kidneys and it has carbs in them (not that much) but she wonders if hypo's happen (like today) if she can switch to a high carb food to get Joy up.. ?
Or isn't that possible due to the kidney problems?
I know, I told her to get her on topic but she says she will this weekend, she doesn't find the time to make an account tonight so I told her I will ask for you BUT you need to make an account because they want to talk to you and give advice to you instead of me.
So do you have any advice for her? (untill she comes to this forum)?
 
Last edited:
I know that we have some members in the U.K. @Critter Mom and in Spain @Gill & George (just two that I can think of from the top of my head) who may be able to give your friend some good advice about foods that are available and appropriate for diabetic kitties that live "on your side of the pond."
 
Also ... as relates to her cat's kidney problems (CKD)/heart or other ongoing health problems, please tell her it is a good idea to post about those issues on the main Health forum because more people across all of the FDMB forums (others with kitties with CKD, etc.) may be able to offer her some good advice about dealing with a diabetic who also has other chronic health problems at the same time the diabetes is being treated.
 
Thanks Robin..
Yes I already copied your story from yesterday to her. She told me she is going to make an account tonight.. so hopefully she will do that and she can get all the information she needs for her Joy.
 
Nice! He hung out there for a while. I would do a .35 and see if you could get him a little lower in the blues with out bouncing. See what the others think. He is clearing bounces faster and if he were my kitty, I would want to get him a bit lower. See what everyone else thinks. If you don't get anymore response before shot time, go with your gut, you have good instincts Ruby.
 
Baco's saying : Apology NOT exepted
So you're done with her..

hahahahaha just kidding ;) It hought maybe you didn't knew ! So that's why I said it hihi.
 
yes I diddddddddd indeeeddddddddddd
Let's see what it brings us ^^
We're both experimenting just a little today, Ruby ... I pulled the black plunger inside the syringe backward just the tiniest bit after doing Bat's "create vacuum, suck it up" method of dosing today, in an attempt to get just a wee bit more into the syringe. So, we'll see what happens with both of our kitties later. (Dosing Bat-Bat these days is a real PITA ... and I'm not talking about a type of bread, either.;))
 
We're both experimenting just a little today, Ruby ... I pulled the black plunger inside the syringe backward just the tiniest bit after doing Bat's "create vacuum, suck it up" method of dosing today, in an attempt to get just a wee bit more into the syringe. So, we'll see what happens with both of our kitties later. (Dosing Bat-Bat these days is a real PITA ... and I'm not talking about a type of bread, either.;))
Was gonna peek at what this painful dosing was Robin but i cant see your SS :( How is Ms Bat Bat doing anyways?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top