AMPS 212 (11.8) Do I shoot?

Myrtlesmum

Member Since 2017
Started Lantus just last night switching from NPH - only gave a dose of 0.25 last night - will I just repeat that dose this morning with such a nice lowish AMPS?
 
Sorry but I'm just getting on the board today - what were were giving Myrtle before? I'm not sure why the hesitation to administer Lantus. Have you read the stickie notes at the top of this forum? Which protocol are you following? I don't think that 212 is a lowish AMPS - if it were 112 then I would agree - is this a typo?
 
No typo, but her numbers have been a bit all over the place. I barely gave her 0.25 last night and she’s 212 this am. This will only be her 2nd Lantus dose and I don’t know how low it will take her. I’m so used to the NPH that I adjust doses based on her preshot numbers. The “go slow” protocol says above 200 or less than normal preshot to reduce dose - but I can’t really go lower than 0.25. This is the lowest preshot she has had since her diabetes came back. Maybe I’m being overly cautious.
 
Let's see if we can get some more eyes on your post - first please use the pulldown menu on the 'Edit Title' area to select the '?' symbol - and please put your kitties name in the title.

Like this ? 6/30 Myrtle AMPS 212 Do I shoot? It'll attract attention. There are users here who are more familiar with SLGS than I am - I use the TR protocol. My thinking is as long as you are able to monitor, the cat is eating well then you would want to go ahead and shoot. Are you able to do that? Myrtle eating well?
 
Hi Andrea. I think if Myrtle will eat and you will be home to test her I would give the 0.25 units. Get a +2 and further testing. Do you have any higher carb food if needed? . If you are not going to be home to test, then try and give a bit less than the 0.25 unit. How does that sound?.
 
Hi Andrea. I think if Myrtle will eat and you will be home to test her I would give the 0.25 units. Get a +2 and further testing. Do you have any higher carb food if needed? . If you are not going to be home to test, then try and give a bit less than the 0.25 unit. How does that sound?.
I’m leaving the house in 5 minutes. I have decided to skip this dose. If I can come home in a few hours to see if her pancreas is kicking in by itself. Maybe the antibiotic shot is working - too many things going on with her - if her bg stays at the 11-12 mark until this evening she should be fine and her can give her a dose then. Thanks!
 
I’m leaving the house in 5 minutes. I have decided to skip this dose. If I can come home in a few hours to see if her pancreas is kicking in by itself. Maybe the antibiotic shot is working - too many things going on with her - if her bg stays at the 11-12 mark until this evening she should be fine and her can give her a dose then. Thanks!
Okay, if you have to go out it’s probably wise to skip, it will be interesting to see what her blood sugar is later in the day.
She has never had ketones has she?
 
Is it possible to put a blank line on the spreadsheet, right after your last dose of NpH and before starting Lantus. Then write something like “start Lantus” on that line. Lantus is a depot insulin, where one dose builds on the other. It’s important for us to be able to easily see when this dose started.

For what it’s worth, her numbers have all been in the yellow on Lantus. Mostly flat and within meter variance. I think she still needs insulin.
 
Back
Top