? Amps 200

Status
Not open for further replies.

ja9390

Member Since 2016
Diego is at 200 this morning and not wanting to eat. In a great mood though. Active, alert, following me around. I'm uncomfortable giving him his full dose which would be 1.25u. Do I skip the dose altogether and then just deal with the high numbers later or do I give 0.5 or 0.25 u this morning. Novolin N.
 
You can't be around to monitor, right? Has he eaten anything? If he has, maybe give either of those smaller doses and leave out food Or if that makes you uncomfortable, or he hasn't eaten, skip. Very interesting number this am - quite a change!
 
Yes he used to have high 400s and 500s so I never was faced with being uncomfortable to leave him. He hasn't eaten anything this morning at least while I've been awake. Need to leave around 9:15. He was quite low last night too... Pmps 276, 1.25u at 9:25pm then by 12:50am the lowest he got was 106. Left dry food out for him last night because I was worried. Woke up at 2:50 to recheck and it was 145.
 
Those numbers last night were lovely - not too low but nice and lower. How about continuing to try to get him to eat? Maybe offer some on your finger, or warm it up till stinky or dress it with his favorite treat...

The low numbers could be at least partly due to his not eating. It would be nice if you could get something in him, give him a token dose and leave food out for him. I'm glad he is acting like he is feeling well.
 
He ate a good little bit of FF, and I checked him just now he's at 256. Will give 1u, or should I give 0.5 instead?? I know he should be above 250 to get insulin but I don't know how much it will drop him. The 1.25 seems to produce those nice low numbers. I don't think there'd be a threat with 1u this morning but I like to be cautious as I won't be home again until 6. I can leave dry food out for him too
 
And, reassuring to hear that his numbers last night weren't iffy. I've dealt with the really high and all the storms they bring but so far not the lower end of BG so this was a surprise
 
I think I'd do 0.5. The food likely had an impact on his numbers going up, so I'd err on the side of safety. And leave out food.

We don't worry about hypos until 50 on a human meter (68 on a pet meter). So the blues are lovely.
 
Lovely start to the day. They certainly know how to give the looks don't they. Diego, behave while mama has to work, after all it keeps you in supplies.
 
I hope you will be able to switch to a longer-acting insulin soon. I am sure the fluids he got yesterday also helped improve the situation. Glad he is feeling better.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top