AMPS 199, +3 @ 57, +3.5 @ 54, +4 @ 56, +4.5 @ 53, +5 @ 54. Food help?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Panic

Member Since 2019
As title states, she started at 199 AMPS and it's +3 and she's at 57. I gave her some 5% food as opposed to her normal 2-3% and will retest in a half hour. If she drops more should I give her some MC? I'll be here for a few more hours to test.
 
Thanks Red, I gave her just a bite of MC already since it didn't look like anyone happened to be online and I didn't want to play too risky. I will retest in 30 min.
 
MC is fine. Yes, quiet today. A number of people pulled an all-nighter last night. I'm working on the computer and will check periodically for the next 1 1/2-2 hours, then I'm offline.

Plenty of strips? Karo/honey?
 
They must be tired then. That works for me, I'll be leaving around then as well, thank you for checking on us. Fully stocked on everything we need just in case. :)
 
A bit more food. LC or MC – your choice.
Do not fill him up. If Panic is determined to surf these numbers, you want him a bit hungry.
If necessary, can you delay your departure?
Can you update the title of the thread? +3 57, +3.5 54, +4 56 (Keep the "Help")
 
Updated title, thanks for the reminder.
I'm actually going to be here for 2 more hours (misread your post), she usually nadirs between +5 and +6.
Gave her just a smidge of 5% this time. Test in another half hour?
 
Did you feed? and what?
It's good to keep notes in your spreadsheet so you can look back and see what worked and what didn't.

Technically, Panic has not earned a reduction yet, although he's trying. The MC is not bringing Panic up. How many carbs is the MC?
 
That could well be the MC talking. It wears off.
Don't feed and check at +5.75.

Does Panic eat easily? and do you feed Panic separately?
How long are you going to be gone?
 
I already gave her another bite, sorry I wasn't thinking
She does, she'd be happy to eat more, and yes she is separated at meal time.
I'll be gone until right before PMPS, but I will have others home to feed but not test.
 
My thinking:
This is about the time Panic starts to rise.
If the next test is much higher (which it should be because of the MC), then ask others to feed LC 30 minutes later and 60 minutes later, and to make sure she has LC available for the next couple of hours.
If the next test is still safe but low, feed MC. Ask others to feed MC 30 minutes later. Then LC after that.
What do you think?
 
That was mostly what I was thinking too. Her test at +6 was 73. I think I'll let her finish off the MC can (maybe 1/4 left by now) and have them feed her like you said. I appreciate you keeping an eye on her with me today. Do I keep her on full dose tonight?
 
WOW! What a lovely run of green.:D Given how low Panic went today, I would reduce dose to 1.5u as of tonight. Because ProZinc can cause sharper drops than some longer lasting insulins, you don't really want BG dropping into the 50s. Generally I'd reduce if BG drops below 90 or thereabouts and this is the 3rd time on the 1.75u dose Panic has gone below 90.
 
Thanks Linda! No kidding! I wish she would just surf in the 90s or even 80s for once. I reduced to 1.5u tonight (BG was not surprisingly 558) per your advice.
Generally speaking do you suggest reductions if they go below 90 more than once? And we're talking day cycles? Just trying to pick your brain :D
 
Generally you would reduce anytime BG drops below about 90 but you can alter that to some degree based on your own cat and their reactions and reduce at a little higher or lower limit. Panic's been down in the 50s a couple of times on the 1.75u and while those numbers are still safe they're re low for ProZinc. I think I'd aim to keep numbers absolutely no lower than 70s for safety reasons.
 
@MrWorfMen's Mom Hey Linda, quick question...I know you've talked about being careful of glucose toxicity. Since we bumped Panic down from 1.75u to 1.5u, she's been having pretty high preshots, like into the 500s. I imagine she was originally clearing a bounce from those 50s but she seems to be staying up there five days later. Has enough time passed that I should consider maybe putting her on 1.6u? I don't want to jump the gun but I don't want to twiddle my fingers either.
 
Looks to me like that high tonight is a bounce and you just started a new vial which can sometimes make a difference so I would hold off until tomorrow or when you can monitor just to be safe rather than increasing on a night cycle. It does look like she needs a bit more juice though.
 
I just wonder what would have made her bounce today, she didn't even get anywhere near green! :arghh:
Thanks so much for taking the time to peek at her numbers. <3 I'll see how she does tomorrow!
 
Doesn't have to be low numbers. It can be a quick drop or a big drop and I think it's just the drop from 372 to 178 with most of it being in the first 4 hours. I also wonder what she was up to last night because she went up after PMPS and then came down to 372 this AM. Maybe she did something sneaky last night we're not seeing. :cat:
 
Oh that's true...I wouldn't have thought 200 points spanned across 4 hours would make her bounce but maybe I underestimated her. She is a very bouncy lady at times. :confused:
Yes that confused me too! I know I didn't mess up her shot, I wonder if someone set out kibble for the civies without my knowledge and she found the leftovers. :rolleyes:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top