AMPS 195; +10: 48! (post-gravy +11: 78)

Status
Not open for further replies.

ppp

Member Since 2017
A lesson against complacency. I thought with recent skip/reduction, and 195 this a.m., we were safe to take a break from testing. New low of 48 at +10 scary to me. Back into safe (78) territory. (And, may go up with all the gravy I fed him -- probably an over-reaction.) Will of course skip shot again tonight. And, watch more closely again tonight.

Is this guy's pancreas maybe kicking in bigtime?
 
Good catch Pat! :eek::D Was Tut acting any different at that 48?

Looks like Tut wants to try 0.75 units next. Sometimes when the pancreas starts healing, it becomes a very quick dance.
 
Hi,
what a stressful time for both of you that is...
Perhaps, skipping tonight was a good idea, indeed..
New low of 48 at +10 scary to me. Back into safe (78) territory. (And, may go up with all the gravy I fed him -- probably an over-reaction.)
the below 50 panic is more than understandable - but if you haven't taken any tests at all during the "skip shop" night we won't find out what has it done...The gravy feeding affects the BG level very shortly - and then dissipates quickly..
Is Tut on Lantus?
I am only asking because the way your treat the depot style insulin like Lantus - if Lantus is in use- will only come back to give you more trouble - and I am not criticizing, not at all, really. Consistency with dose/ time administered is your friend.
 
Too much gravy! (And/or even some bounce, too?)

Will try to stop over-reacting when BG goes low. (First 2 tsp. only brought it up from 48 to 51; that's when I got really worried because I thought he had come up so much more, immediately, last time I did this.)

Meanwhile, I will keep testing.


Good catch Pat! :eek::D Was Tut acting any different at that 48?...

No symptoms, at all, at 48. We were playing just before he took the test. (he'd been hiding under the bed when I got home, from a much longer time out than I've been for a week; I think mostly because he was isolated in the bedroom [while we were waiting for a pee to test ketones]. I was so unworried, just observing him, I was trying to pacify him before poking his ear yet again. He hadn't eaten quite as much as usual while I was out; but had about a can of Friskies pate since a.m. Not bad.


...Looks like Tut wants to try 0.75 units next. Sometimes when the pancreas starts healing, it becomes a very quick dance.

If he's over 90 tomorrow a.m., that sounds good. (And, won't wait another 10 hours to re-test, no matter how high it is!)

Hi,
Is Tut on Lantus?
I am only asking because the way your treat the depot style insulin like Lantus - if Lantus is in use- will only come back to give you more trouble - and I am not criticizing, not at all, really. Consistency with dose/ time administered is your friend.

Yes, lantus. Yes, I understand there is a depot effect. I'll read up on that more, though.

Thanks for your interest, all.
 
Too much gravy! (And/or even some bounce, too?)

Will try to stop over-reacting when BG goes low. (First 2 tsp. only brought it up from 48 to 51; that's when I got really worried because I thought he had come up so much more, immediately, last time I did this.)
At the end of the cycle, you can even be lighter handed on the carbs. Often a medium carb or even higher low carb (8-9%) will be enough to bring them up. The insulin SHOULD be starting to fade at that point so doesn't need as much to counter it.

For what it's worth, you probably could have shot that 283 at PMPS with his reduced dose. Oh well, catch up on some sleep instead.
 
That 283 was really closer to the next +1, and I moved it, mostly to get in the record of what happened between the 48 & 283.

He has seemed to continue to go down even to +12; partly why I get so nervous.

I Do think I over-reacted though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top