???? amps 189 shoot lowest or no shot?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kya’s Mom 1983

Member Since 2018
Been monitoring closely after Kya dipped down into the 30s the other night. her amps was 189 this morning at 6am its now 7am and I'm thinking I should go with my gut and don't give her any shot this morning. what do y'all think? I know some people on here go with literally a drop of insulin like .25 if they are like this. she finished her meal at 630am
 
Sorry you got no response this AM. Just seeing this now. The last time you skipped, Kya stayed pretty steady till PMPS so it will be interesting to see what she does today.

When you get a low reading like that at pre-shot, stall for 20 minutes without feeding Kya and retest to see if her BG is rising on its own. If she is rising, then you can decide whether to give a reduced dose, regular dose or skip the shot based on the pre-shot and your availability to monitor. I think you could give a reduced dose at that pre-shot but I'd only do it if you are available to monitor the cycle.

Looks to me like Kya may have gone lower last night than you are aware of leading to the low pre-shot this AM. Looks like you've been changing doses based on pre-shots so it's hard to see exactly what the best dose for her is right now but it looks like 2u is too much and 1 may be too little. Pre-shots tell you if it's safe to give insulin but mid cycle readings are needed to determine what a safe dose is for her. She had a nice cycle on the 1.25u dose yesterday and I'd suggest you try 1.25u for a few cycles as long as pre-shot is 200 or above. Holding the dose for a few cycles lets you see how it's working, how much it causes BG to drop and will help you make decisions about dosing going forward.
 
I think 1.25 might be good for her as well. It’s just so hard when I have to work every day and fairly early. I tested her again 30 min after food and she had went up to 370 so I did decide to give her the lowest dose I could .25. I hope she will be ok with that today. I guess the point is if it’s that low to do no shot to keep her safe while I’m working. At bed time the ultimate hour to test to make sure she is safe through the night would be +3 or 4? I tested her at +3 last night thinking that she would be safe throughout the night. I’m not always able to stall at Pre shot in the mornings since I try to time it where I get up test her and she eats while I’m getting ready and then I give her shot just before I leave for work
 
Well if she zoomed up that high that fast, that's likely a bounce from a lower BG last night and while I think you may have been able to give a little more than 0.25u, she will be just fine with that dose. Hard to know what a safe dose would have been because bounces can break at any time although they can also last for several cycles. She'll be fine today but will probably be pretty high tonight. Don't be tempted to give more insulin based on any inflated numbers tonight.
 
Ok good. I’m gonna stick with the 1.25 for at least 6 cycles if I can unless she tests with a low number. If she has under 200 again another morning do you recommend lowest dose again or no shot? Evenings I can monitor pretty well.
 
It's impossible to give you a reduced dose based on unknowns. Reduced doses really have to be considered on the info available at the time. Post if you need assistance and we'll try to help.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top