Susan and Timmy
Member Since 2017
Timmy's amps is 188. He is eating now. I will retest in about 20 minutes and post. I was wondering when his bounce would clear. Dosing now is tricky for me.
Do you have time to stall another 20 minutes if needed? Can you monitor this AM?Timmy's amps is 188. He is eating now. I will retest in about 20 minutes and post. I was wondering when his bounce would clear. Dosing now is tricky for me.
I can stall and I'm home today. I love that blue number but it worries me too on dosing. I'll post the next reading in about 15 minutes.Do you have time to stall another 20 minutes if needed? Can you monitor this AM?
He is now 250. I should have waited to feed. Still proceed with 0.5 units?FYI: The stall technique is done as test/stall 20 min without food/test again to see if BG is rising on its own/repeat if needed. I have, however, used the feed/wait/test on Teasel when he was on ProZinc. That's a bit riskier and I had a lot of data. Also, ProZinc doesn't kick in as hard and fast as Vetsulin can.
Because his rising BG is likely due to the food and this is new territory for you, I suggest you give only 0.5 u this AM and do maybe +2/+4/+6. He'll probably be high-ish from the lower dose but that' safer than too low.
Safety is of paramount importance, Susan. If he's not low at +2 and +4 you can probably give his ears a break after that. Vetsulin shows up early-ish.I read your replay again and I will dose 0.5 units and test as you suggested. Thanks for helping me keep him safe.![]()
I was just thinking that the food would keep his numbers right around where he is without going too low today. My thinking was to try to avoid the bouncing. I just tested him at +4.5 and he is 122. He is grazing now on the YA. I will test again at +5 too. Thank you for the reply and for the link.Will you be around between now and +6. I would check him at +4.5 then at 5. I wouldn't steer with food because he's not too low. If he gets to 65then start steering. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/how-to-treat-hypos-they-can-kill-print-this-out.15887/