AMPS 169 | Shot full dose at ~10:35.

Brianna & Xander

Very Active Member
3/31/25

Well, we're either moving somewhat backwards or he hasn't recovered yet. :( He wouldn't eat his 5:45 AM meal again, so I had to put his gabapentin and ondansetron in a bit of the 12% food. He did eat that, but it took him another 2+ hours or so to eat his breakfast. My partner usually gives him his earliest meal since he's up already, but said they couldn't find Xander anywhere until about 5:45-6. They think he must have felt bad enough to be hiding behind the couch, unless he was just cuddled in a particularly dark corner of the bed and wasn't visible.

I was typing this up expecting to have to ask again if I could shoot this morning, but he did finally eat, thankfully. Makes me nervous to do the full injection when he's in the blues while inconsistently eating, though. Should I still shoot the full dose?

At about 2 AM he woke me up standing on my chest and meowing. I'm not sure if he was hungry (he hadn't touched the food I left him at midnight and he knew it was there) or bored or what. But he had the "rapidly declining" icon and was in the lower blues (woohoo!) so I added 2 tsp of his 12% to that and gave it to him, and which point he ate both. Seems like it kept him fairly steady in that range for the rest of the cycle.

This morning he also had a very soft, particularly stinky poop that also implied not feeling well. I did notice that he seemed better up until I gave him Chopped Grill Feast as his late night food (and that's what he ate after he woke me up), so maybe that didn't agree with him.

Wondering if maybe I should give him 4 mg of the ondansetron at 1 (which will have been 6 hours after the first dose). I plan to try to give him some Mirataz but he hates it for some reason and will hide for hours, so I have to be careful when I do it. :rolleyes:

I would have posted this earlier but I was too busy trying to get him to eat something, etc.

ETA 10:14 AM: Stalling now. We were supposed to shoot at 10:15

ETA 10:43 AM: Shot the full dose at about 10:35. It's already past the 2 hours late we already were and he was at least slowly rising, so I took the chance. I also managed to get some Mirataz on him (he even ran away from a Churu for that. How is that worse than a frickin' injection?) I dunno how long it takes for that to kick in, but hopefully that'll help. As of about 10 minutes post-injection he's risen all the way to 247, so I think we'll be fine. He's now very angry at me and is sitting far away and doesn't want to look at me. :(
 
Last edited:
signal-2025-03-28-153028_002.jpeg

On a lighter-hearted note, here's a very unflattering but hilarious (IMO) picture of him right after being startled awake from a heavy nap. I love that he gets "bed head."
 

Attachments

  • signal-2025-03-28-153028_002.jpeg
    signal-2025-03-28-153028_002.jpeg
    69.5 KB · Views: 58
So far, yeah. For the first time this morning it took a little coaxing (had to bring it back to him when he left some), but he did finish it. Small amounts, like 2-3 tsp of it.
You know the deal, I’m not experienced enough or really comfortable giving dosing advice. But looking at his history with blue pre-shots there’s nothing too alarming there when you’ve shot. But I know the food situation now. How are you feeling about it?
 
You know the deal, I’m not experienced enough or really comfortable giving dosing advice. But looking at his history with blue pre-shots there’s nothing too alarming there when you’ve shot. But I know the food situation now. How are you feeling about it?

Yeah, I understand.

I agree that there's not usually anything particularly alarming for blue PSs in the past (and he's also wavering up and down between the 169 and 200 now), I just worry about if I suddenly can't get him to eat at all. I guess I could call my partner and have them come home and attempt to help me syringe feed him, but that's something I'm really uncomfortable with too.
 
Hope you get the dosage advise you have requested Brianna.
I'm glad Xander is eating a bit, but it sounds like he still feeling poorly. Poor boy.
I love that pic of him :)
 
Yeah, I understand.

I agree that there's not usually anything particularly alarming for blue PSs in the past (and he's also wavering up and down between the 169 and 200 now), I just worry about if I suddenly can't get him to eat at all. I guess I could call my partner and have them come home and attempt to help me syringe feed him, but that's something I'm really uncomfortable with too.
Well, since nobody is here yet and I don’t want to leave you hanging, if he were my cat I would get something in. At least half a dose. If you have the hypo kit you should have the means to keep him safe. Or you could stall and wait for guidance…

Angela/Elise, either of you ladies around?
@Angela & Cleo
@tiffmaxee
 
Well, since nobody is here yet and I don’t want to leave you hanging, if he were my cat I would get something in. At least half a dose. If you have the hypo kit you should have the means to keep him safe. Or you could stall and wait for guidance…

Angela/Elise, either of you ladies around?
@Angela & Cleo
@tiffmaxee

Thank you for the tags! I never know if I should do that or not. I'm starting to wish I were on Eastern time, I think there aren't many of us on Pacific.

I ended up giving the full dose. He was heading upward slowly and then immediately after the dose he's at 236 anyway. I also managed to get some Mirataz on his ear (He even ran away from a Churu for that. How is that so much worse than a frickin' injection?!) so I think it'll be fine. Guess we'll see how miserable a day it'll be for us lol
 
Thank you for the tags! I never know if I should do that or not. I'm starting to wish I were on Eastern time, I think there aren't many of us on Pacific.

I ended up giving the full dose. He was heading upward slowly and then immediately after the dose he's at 236 anyway. I also managed to get some Mirataz on his ear (He even ran away from a Churu for that. How is that so much worse than a frickin' injection?!) so I think it'll be fine. Guess we'll see how miserable a day it'll be for us lol
I never know either, but I guess it’s just a ping… nice! Safe surfing today you two :bighug:
 
Hope you get the dosage advise you have requested Brianna.
I'm glad Xander is eating a bit, but it sounds like he still feeling poorly. Poor boy.
I love that pic of him :)

Thanks, Helen! I ended up giving him the full dose as well as some Mirataz (he's very angry at me now) and he's risen quite a bit so I think we should be fine.
 
Thanks, Helen! I ended up giving him the full dose as well as some Mirataz (he's very angry at me now) and he's risen quite a bit so I think we should be fine.
That's good news :)
Some cats really hate having ointments in their ears don't they! I once had to put an anti-fungal cream on Noogi's brother's ear, twice a day for eight weeks. Every single time it was a struggle. Longest eight weeks of my life :D
 
That's good news :)
Some cats really hate having ointments in their ears don't they! I once had to put an anti-fungal cream on Noogi's brother's ear, twice a day for eight weeks. Every single time it was a struggle. Longest eight weeks of my life :D

Genuinely, how is that worse than having an injection?! I don't understand the priorities lol He's sitting far away from me now, angry. :(

Twice a day for eight weeks... That sounds like an absolute nightmare. God. I'm so sorry lol
 
I am just seeing this. I haven't been receiving the email notifications of the tags recently :(.

I'm glad you shot the full dose. Can you indicate that please in his SS?

For future reference, the data is what you have to decide to shoot. And you made the right conclusion here
he was at least slowly rising
You want to get the insulin in him before he has a chance to zoom up. Lantus does a great job of keeping blues and greens than it does bringing down the red and pinks.

Also keep in mind that you have a couple of hours before the insulin onsets giving you plenty of time to get food in him.
At about 2 AM he woke me up standing on my chest and meowing
What +? is 2AM. If its PM+4, then he was telling you that his BG was dropping fast (about 90 pts from the +3) and wanted a 'fresh':rolleyes: snack. Then he coasted blues for the rest of the cycle.
 
I am just seeing this. I haven't been receiving the email notifications of the tags recently :(.

I've been getting really inconsistent emails too! Wonder what's up with that.

I'm glad you shot the full dose. Can you indicate that please in his SS?

Done. Sorry about that - I've been logging all the various other things that have happened (mainly in a private spreadsheet) and forgot to do that part. It was in the notes, just forgot to put it in the main cell.

For future reference, the data is what you have to decide to shoot. And you made the right conclusion here

I had the data that at least when he's eating normally, a blue PS is fine (aside from the cycles that earn reductions). I was just worried about this instance where it's blue and he's eating inconsistently.

You want to get the insulin in him before he has a chance to zoom up. Lantus does a great job of keeping blues and greens than it does bringing down the red and pinks.

Also keep in mind that you have a couple of hours before the insulin onsets giving you plenty of time to get food in him.

That's what I was hoping for! I saw it rising at least to 200 and I decided to go for it.

What +? is 2AM. If its PM+4, then he was telling you that his BG was dropping fast (about 90 pts from the +3) and wanted a 'fresh':rolleyes: snack. Then he coasted blues for the rest of the cycle.

2 AM was about +3.75. That's what I figured too. Once I was conscious enough to make that realization I got up and gave him some, so it seems to have worked! Glad that the couple tsp of 12% isn't enough to send him into orbit. Seemed to work really well!
 
Genuinely, how is that worse than having an injection?! I don't understand the priorities lol He's sitting far away from me now, angry. :(

Twice a day for eight weeks... That sounds like an absolute nightmare. God. I'm so sorry lol
It was a challenge that's for sure! The funny thing is that cat was the sweetest, gentlest boy in all respects except when giving medicine of any kind or having to wear the cone of shame. Noogi was always a sassy trouble-maker, getting into fights and mischief (in his youth anyway) but has always been a cooperative little patient when it comes to wounds, meds, vet visits etc. That's cats for you! If I had to have a diabetic cat I'm grateful it was this one.

Hope Xander forgives you soon :bighug:
 
That's what I was hoping for! I saw it rising at least to 200 and I decided to go for it.
The 200 is for those with limited data and new. You have a lot of data now, so I think you can lower this threshold. What number do you think you'd be comfortable shooting without stalling? And remember, you have time to get the food in him before onset AND he does love that MC/HC mix ;).
 
The 200 is for those with limited data and new. You have a lot of data now, so I think you can lower this threshold. What number do you think you'd be comfortable shooting without stalling? And remember, you have time to get the food in him before onset AND he does love that MC/HC mix ;).

Oh, I'd normally be fine shooting 200. At 120 I know it might end up being a really active cycle for him (based on our experience so far), but it's fine. I get nervous closer to 100 but I'd still do it! Only thing I haven't shot yet is a green. It was purely the inconsistent appetite that made me worry. The same number with a normal appetite I wouldn't have blinked.
 
It was a challenge that's for sure! The funny thing is that cat was the sweetest, gentlest boy in all respects except when giving medicine of any kind or having to wear the cone of shame. Noogi was always a sassy trouble-maker, getting into fights and mischief (in his youth anyway) but has always been a cooperative little patient when it comes to wounds, meds, vet visits etc. That's cats for you! If I had to have a diabetic cat I'm grateful it was this one.

Hope Xander forgives you soon :bighug:

They're so funny and so full of contradictions! I guess it's lucky that Noogi at least wound up being the one who takes the treatment well, since he's the poor guy that got stuck with the FD.

I hope so too! He will. I just hope I didn't make him too nervous to come get Churus for his injections now too. :rolleyes:
 
The vet called me a little while ago (returning my message from Friday) and wants to see him as soon as she can for blood/urine/x-rays. It would've been today but the only appointment available was physically impossible to get to, so it'll have to be tomorrow afternoon.

Her concern makes me more concerned than I already was. :nailbiting::(

I gave him some more ondansetron in the 12% he always goes for but he won't eat that now either. :(
 
:bighug:
Oh, I'd normally be fine shooting 200. At 120 I know it might end up being a really active cycle for him (based on our experience so far), but it's fine. I get nervous closer to 100 but I'd still do it! Only thing I haven't shot yet is a green. It was purely the inconsistent appetite that made me worry. The same number with a normal appetite I wouldn't have blinked.
Hi Brianna, I’m sorry you had another challenging day. I understand your concerns with not knowing if Xander would eat. That’s always the tricky part. If they aren’t eating as usual, you have to be more cautious.

Try not to worry too much about the vet wanting to see Xander. Look at it as a good opportunity to get eyes on him to find out what’s going on so you can help him through it.
Good luck at your appointment tomorrow, we will be sending you good wishes as we return from our own vet appointment ;)

And don’t forget to get all the prescriptions you need to have at home in your “toolbox”.

I hope all goes well tonight for both of you :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
:bighug: Try not to worry too much about the vet wanting to see Xander. Look at it as a good opportunity to get eyes on him to find out what’s going on so you can help him through it.
Good luck at your appointment tomorrow, we will be sending you good wishes as we return from our own vet appointment ;)
I couldn't agree more!!
Sending you :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you both!! :bighug::bighug::bighug: It doesn't help that she was saying things like "It could be all kinds of things, cancer, lymphoma," etc. :rolleyes: Not that I think it's anything like that. But her urgency combined with him not wanting his 12% now either makes me really anxious.

And don’t forget to get all the prescriptions you need to have at home in your “toolbox”.

Thank you for the reminder!! She said she was going to try to get those sent over to the pharmacy right away (had no problems prescribing any of it, yay). If she forgets I'll remind her at the appointment tomorrow.
 
Uh you’ve had quite the last 24 hours, Brianna! Great job at keeping Xander safe and looked after. Looks like it might be another active cycle ahead of you, but use the tactics you’ve been learning and I really hope Xander feels okay to eat!
I think vets are always a little worrisome when they hear cats aren’t eating as well, just because their small little ones, but hopefully all goes well and it’s just a routine set of labs for reassurance. It’ll be good to get to speak with them regardless. We never know why our little ones do some of the things they do, uh!
Good luck today, will be looking out for his next few cycles :bighug:
 
Hi Brianna,
Sorry to hear you had a tough day. Hopefully tomorrow's appointment goes well but also gives you piece of mind. Sending lots of PAWsitive and healing vines your way :cat::bighug::cat::bighug:

Ps. Love that photo of him nhe totally gets bed hair hehe :p
 
I'm so glad things went well with the shot this morning, and that he's had not one, but two cycles in the blues! VERY nice. I hope he's growing more comfortable with this dose and will begin responding with better numbers. Fingers crossed this is his breakthrough dose!
 
Uh you’ve had quite the last 24 hours, Brianna! Great job at keeping Xander safe and looked after. Looks like it might be another active cycle ahead of you, but use the tactics you’ve been learning and I really hope Xander feels okay to eat!
I think vets are always a little worrisome when they hear cats aren’t eating as well, just because their small little ones, but hopefully all goes well and it’s just a routine set of labs for reassurance. It’ll be good to get to speak with them regardless. We never know why our little ones do some of the things they do, uh!
Good luck today, will be looking out for his next few cycles :bighug:

Thanks, Briana! It sure has been a rough few days.

Thank you for the wishes! Hoping tomorrow doesn't have any bad news. :bighug:
 
I'm so glad things went well with the shot this morning, and that he's had not one, but two cycles in the blues! VERY nice. I hope he's growing more comfortable with this dose and will begin responding with better numbers. Fingers crossed this is his breakthrough dose!

Yes! A couple of good cycles, despite all the other stuff going on. Crossing my fingers for that too!!
 
Hi Brianna,
Sorry to hear you had a tough day. Hopefully tomorrow's appointment goes well but also gives you piece of mind. Sending lots of PAWsitive and healing vines your way :cat::bighug::cat::bighug:

Ps. Love that photo of him nhe totally gets bed hair hehe :p

Thank you, Karolina! Hoping for the best tomorrow.

lol Glad you liked the picture! I thought it was hilarious. :D
 
Back
Top