Amps 164 +2,178 +6,156 +10,70 PMPS 73

Status
Not open for further replies.
Experienced people will shoot a number that low, but I don't think you have enough data to do that yet. I wonder if tomorrow you should try a .25U dose. It's best if you can find a dose you can shoot twice a day, instead of skipping so often. There are pictures of the .25U dose in the New to the Group sticky note.
 
ok will try that.. That was a concern with me as well skipping will simply make his numbers jump around or could. At least it works that way with humans and insulin
 
Just wanted to say welcome to the group!

I see that Magellan got into the 40's on June 24th on the 0.5u dose. That would suggest that the 0.5u is too high of a dose anyway, so 0.25u would be the next smaller dose. I wouldn't increase back to 0.5u unless you have someone here with experience suggest that it's ok. For the moment, I wouldn't give more than 0.25u.

Magellan's looking really great!
 
Thanks much for the response my Bf Jim has had the comp all day so I am about to do his spread sheet now.
 
Just looked back at the date you referenced and that was back when he was on novalin. Our second bout of hypo and the driving force that prompted me to convince the vet to change Magellan to Lantus. On the spread sheet you will note there is 2 blank date slots it was my attempt to indicate a break in insulin's and the change. Loves ya lots and thanks for checking up on us and thanks for worrying about us. Big sloppy Magellan hugs and kisses
 
Maybe do something like change all the colors in the cells on the day before you switched to Lantus or put in a row with "Starting Lantus" in it.

I still like the idea of just doing a .25U dose. Some kitties just need a small amount of insulin. With Lantus, we dose on how low the dose can take the cat and don't decide the dose based on the preshot numbers. He was a little higher this morning due to the skipped shot last night. Let's see how he does on .25U and we can always increase later if needed.
 
Ok that makes sense to me, I bow to your greater knowledge And I will put the suggestion up on the ss thanks again for your attention and care
 
Ah, sorry about that. I didn't see any notation about Lantus.

You can do a Merge Cells to create one long cell across the ss - it's 2 icons to the right of the beaker that's pouring a color out. If you click on the cells in that horizontal row so they are highlighted, then click that "merge" icon (it looks like 2 pages with an arrow from the left pointing center and an arrow from the right pointing to the center), then the highlighted cells will become one.

Would you do that and put something like "Switch from Novolin to Lantus" in that cell? That'll make sure no one else makes my mistake.

I agree with Wendy about going to 0.25u.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top