AMPS 161 vs. 400's, need advise in dosage

Status
Not open for further replies.

alicia.1771

Member
Due to Beau's high PS#'s on 5 cycles of 1.0U, I bumped up his doage to 1.2U last night. He was having a steady drop on BG and was at 202 at +4 so I went to bed.

I was shocked this morning to see his AMPS at 161! So not sure how low he went at nadir...AM ketones (-).

I will wait and test to see if I get a rising#, if so, is it safe to give 1.2U since he's responding and I am home to test and monitor?

Will post in Health as well see if I get more response.
 
7:30am - 161
8:00am - 180
8:30am - 165?

Since there is 20% variation he is probably around 160-180. Will wait a little longer to decise what to do. He is hungry though, I haven't fed him yet.
 
You have a tough decision on this one....Just be sure he is rising if you give insulin on those numbers!

Wish I could help.
 
You have two options right now - give a reduced dose and feed (like 0.6u) or wait a little longer to see if he will rise and give a full dose. Do you know if your boy has a tendency to zoom right after eating from lower numbers like these? I know my Oscar does, so I am a little less hesitant on shooting lower numbers because of it. If you don't know about that yet, then once you do decide to shoot today, get a +1 and +2 reading to see what he does.
 
That is perfect! So glad you got a breakthrough - Bix was the same way, he just seemed to need a slightly higher dose to give him that duration to +12.

The general idea when you get a lower PS than you are used to is to reduce the dose a little bit and monitor and collect data, so that for the next time you will have a better idea what to shoot. You can kind of do a mix of waiting (delaying the shot is like a dose reduction), and/or lowering a little bit. (meaning, no expectations that you will get it right the 1st or 2nd time on a low PS!)

If you haven't shot yet, the shot is going on like 2 hours later than normal now? So I would go with the full 1.2.

Based on last night's numbers though it looks to me like 1.2 was a good dose for a breakthrough and bringing down high numbers, but likely too much for a maintenance dose. I think 1.2 is ok for this next shot b/c it is a late shot, but I would probably try pulling back to 1.1 or so from here forward.

Whatever you do, I would be sure to get in some spot tests today!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top