Sarah and Muffin
Member Since 2021
Hi there
Muffin and I are very much newbees. Diagnosed last week. Vet started her on 1Unit lantus last Monday, I borrowed the vet's AlphaTrak to do a curve at home on Friday, and discovered that Muffin had probably been going low and bouncing all week.
Reduced her dose to 0.5units immediately and took readings over the weekend as best I could. Started using a human meter yesterday, and got a pretty good curve with a low point of 272. Tried to get a PM cycle reading, but couldn't get her ear to bleed :-(. This morning's AMPS is 153. Given that the PMPS was 326 this doesn't feel like much of a curve overnight, and after last week, and the difficulties I've been having doing the BG readings on my own (when hubbie's not here to help) I'm a bit scared of shooting this morning and her going low again during the day.
Her AMPS seems pretty borderline based on the SLGS guidelines. What should I do?
Muffin and I are very much newbees. Diagnosed last week. Vet started her on 1Unit lantus last Monday, I borrowed the vet's AlphaTrak to do a curve at home on Friday, and discovered that Muffin had probably been going low and bouncing all week.
Reduced her dose to 0.5units immediately and took readings over the weekend as best I could. Started using a human meter yesterday, and got a pretty good curve with a low point of 272. Tried to get a PM cycle reading, but couldn't get her ear to bleed :-(. This morning's AMPS is 153. Given that the PMPS was 326 this doesn't feel like much of a curve overnight, and after last week, and the difficulties I've been having doing the BG readings on my own (when hubbie's not here to help) I'm a bit scared of shooting this morning and her going low again during the day.
Her AMPS seems pretty borderline based on the SLGS guidelines. What should I do?

And yes you can shoot tonight 30 minute later than your "usual" (i.e. today's AMPS +11.5). Shoot tomorrow's AMPS 12 hours from your PMPS and then tomorrow's PMPS back to your regular shot time.