AMPS=143...4 hrs late

Status
Not open for further replies.

greenae

Member Since 2013
AMPS was 4 hrs later than usual. I expected high...got 143?! Gave 1.5u PZI. She was "smacking" me to be fed...hasn't done that in a while...Is the old Bubbles back? :lol: This is Day 5 of FF Classic. (Sure wish I was aware of how rotten dry food is, 15 years ago!)
 
That is an aggressive dose into a low number. We seldom advise shooting into 150 or lower, even if you have data and have been at this awhile. I would go down to one unit if she is in the 180s+, maybe .5 if 150 and above IF you can ,monitor.

Can you check at +3 after the shot and at nadir to be sure She doesn't drop too low.
 
I am going to test her at +3, for sure. I am aggressive because I am off this weekend, and can watch her. I would love to see all her numbers green. If I don't shoot on a q12 schedule, then won't I either screw up her schedule or if I skip the shot, send her numbers back up? I thought PZI peaks around 6-8 hours. And changing her doses seems even scarier to me. She gets a can of food with each shot, and a 1 tsp of food snack with each BG test. Believe me, I do not want hypo, but I want normal BGs.( I guess I am aggressive because I have experience caring for humans with diabetes, I know cats are not the same, but I feel ok watching her signs and symptoms.)
 
You're dealing with a non-depot insulin here. Its in, then its out. This means you can adjust the dose based on the pre-shot tests, much as a human would calculate the carbohydrates in a meal and adjust a non-basal insulin dose, such as Humulin.

Lantus and Levemir have carryover effects in cats; you adjust the dose based on the nadir, the lowest point between shots.
 
I am following you on Health. I am a little concerned that she may go low.

The time you do consider the nadir is if you get a low nadir. If it is in the double digit range and your kitty hasn't been there before, the next preshot number may be a bounce from the low number. If their body senses a low number, it can release extra sugar that causes their numbers to bounce up. So the next preshot after a low can be a reaction to the low cycle. In that case, you would reduce the dose a little, even if the next preshot is higher.
 
Thank you and Thank you! I am getting mixed up because I am posting on 2 different forums, I think.( I try to stick to the PZI, but I get more and quicker answers on Health). So, I just got +11.5 hrs =121. Should I just give 1u? I know I don't have a lot of numbers, but it does seem the PZI peaks around 7 hrs and I am glad to know I can shoot based on the PS number. 5 days on Classic seems to be helping us go green. Just not sure what to give her now?
 
I answered on Health. You are clearly more agressive than I am, and she is your kitty. I would not shoot in the 120s. I would not feed, wait the 20 minutes and retest, and not shoot under 170 or so.

It is harder to monitor overnight. I know you are lowering the dose from 1.5 to one, but that still seems agressive to me. I think it would be okay on 170, but not lower than that.
 
Thank you, Sue. I will check HEALTH. I will monitor her for a few more hours tonight, for sure. I don't want to skip doses if I don't have to. With her lower numbers since switching to Classic, I see improvements in her already. I want to keep her as close to a normal BG as possible, without hypo. So far, so good. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top