my cat has been on prozinc for 2 doses.... her amps was 142.... I don’t want to give her insulin at 142 but not sure if I’m correct as I am new at this! Help please!
I have! I’m overwhelmed with info.... I actually fed her a small amount at 3:30am as she was purring and swatting me in the face lol she’s on 1 unit I just started yesterday with insulin and unfortunately don’t have numbers from yesterday.I would not since this is only her 3rd dose.
It is hard to know though without information such as her dosage and a spreadsheet or other health issues she might have.
Have you had a chance to read the stickies on Prozinc and on Hypoglycemia?
I have! I’m overwhelmed with info.... I actually fed her a small amount at 3:30am as she was purring and swatting me in the face lol she’s on 1 unit I just started yesterday with insulin and unfortunately don’t have numbers from yesterday.
Thank you!!!!! I skipped it! But I am reading up on everything now.... I’m so thankful for this forum and for people like yourself willing to help!I'm just trying to help you figure it out for yourself in case someone more experienced doesn't come along before you feel like you need to make the decision ...lol![]()
Thank you!!!!! I skipped it! But I am reading up on everything now.... I’m so thankful for this forum and for people like yourself willing to help!
I thought I did my signature Np.
When you get a chance, set up your signature and your spreadsheet, there is a sticky for that somewhere too I think...lol...
At least do your signature with as much info as you can, and then someone can help you with the spreadsheet if you need help.
It always helps to give advice when you can see whats going on in living color on the spreadsheet.
Hang in there, it gets easier... kinda... lol jk it does!
Thank you!!!! I think I got the signature down just don’t know how to insert the spreadsheet?!Hi Lindsay and welcome to you and Zoe.
First of all, it would be really helpful if you could get your signature set up so that some pertinent information is always available to anyone assisting you. Your signature should include your kitty's name, sex, age, date of diagnosis and any other health issues along with what type of insulin you are giving (ProZinc in your case) and the type of glucometer you are using to test Zoe (AT2 in your case). You can also include current diet.
To set up your signature, hover your mouse over your user name in the upper right corner of the screen. A menu will drop down and you can select "Signature" from the left hand column. This opens up a text box where you can type in the information along with the share URL for Zoe's spreadsheet. When you are done typing, scroll down and click on "Save Changes". If you get stuck just holler.
I can see that Zoe is definitely bouncing from high to lower BG which is normal in many cases and sometimes you just have to wait it out. In Zoe's case however, as Djamila mentioned, it may be that the dose of insulin is too high and given that you've now had to skip 2 shots it's certainly looking like that is likely the case.
In order to determine if the dose of insulin is too high or if Zoe's just bouncing, you need to be sure to test before each shot and you need to find out how low the current dose of 1u is taking Zoe's BG. To do that you need to get some mid cycle BG tests during the time when most kitties have peak insulin action which with ProZinc is normally sometime between +4 and +7 post shot during each cycle. Many if not most kitties tend to go lower at night. Obviously we all need our sleep but making it a habit to get a BG test before bed every night will give you an indication of where Zoe is heading and help fill in the picture of how the dose is working for her. If you are working during the week, grabbing a test before leaving for work if time allows or when you arrive home helps. All data helps fill in the pieces to the puzzle and that helps you figure out whether more or less insulin is needed.
In the meantime, I'd suggest you drop the dose down to 0.75u until you can get some mid cycle tests to determine how low the dose is taking Zoe's BG.
She just tested at 251...
I only have u-40 syringes is it okay to eyeball since it’s lower?Are you deciding whether or not to shoot at all? Or pondering what dosage?
There's a lot of room between 0units and 1unit...
Personally I'd try .25 this time...
YesIs it shot time right now?
I only have u-40 syringes is it okay to eyeball since it’s lower?
She just tested at 251...
I haven’t but I plan to do that tonightAre you doing tests during the cycle and just haven't added them to ss yet?
Cause you really gotta try to get some tests in to know whats going on...
3 other cats! All are now on FF classic pate’s! For treats I’ve been baking them plain chicken and giving them pieces of that!Hi Lindsay-
First of all, great job getting your signature and spreadsheet set up! And getting that mid-cycle test last night.
As for your question...there isn't really a normal since every cat is different, but we can say that it isn't exactly good either. Ideally you want PS numbers to be below 220, and the mid-cycle numbers in the dark greens. So that tells you that Zoe didn't get enough insulin last night. Some cats can get into those good numbers pretty quickly, others can take months and months. It depends on their diet, the match between the insulin and the cat (different insulin types work better for different cats), dose, how healthy the pancreas is, and probably lots of other physiological factors. But diet and insulin we can control.
So let's start with diet. What is Zoe eating for food and for treats? Are there any other pets in the house, and do they eat the same food?
I work all day.... I’m only around all day on the weekendsSounds like you've got the diet under control. Great job! That can often be the hardest hurdle. So next is testing. Are you around during the day? Or do you work all day?

Thank you so much!! It’s been an adjustment for sure but I’ll do anything for my little lady!Obviously the more data we have, the better we can help with dosing. However, many of us work full time jobs and understand how hard it can be to get the mid-cycle tests. If you're gone all day, I can share a couple of ways we do that and you can see if any of them might work with your schedule. One is getting an out-the-door test - so you would test/feed/shoot as soon as you wake up in the morning, and then get a test right as you are leaving the house. That works if you can get about two hours in between those. The other end of that is getting an in-the-door test as soon as you get home. So if it's easier to test/feed/shoot right as you leave in the morning, or if you're one of those people that wakes up and is out the door 20 minutes later, then you might shoot right as you leave, and then if you can get home by +10, you can grab a test right as you come in the door, and before the big BG spike that sometimes happens at the end of the cycle. Other test times are right before bed, or right when you wake up - again depending on when you can get furthest into the cycle. The tests between +4 and +7 are usually the most helpful since for most cats, that's when they reach their lowest point. There are cats that fall outside of that (mine hits nadir around +3 in the PM cycle), but for the majority of cats, they nadir somewhere in the middle. But the +2 or +10 tests can still give us hints of what direction Zoe is going.
And of course if you're ever lucky enough to work from home or work close to home, anytime you can come home at lunch to grab a quick test can be super helpful. There are folks here who are gone the full 12 hours, and they just really commit to testing in the evenings and on the weekends. And there's no need to feel badly about that. You have to work, and there are ways to manage all of this around your work schedule.
It can be hard at first to balance managing feline diabetes and figuring out to take care of yourself and still maintain a life outside the house. It is possible though. If none of those ideas work for your schedule, and you can share a little about how your day goes, we can help you think of some ways to make it work.
416 at diagnosis. Start at 1 unit.She's probably bouncing. I don't remember what were her numbers at diagnosis?
Did they give .5 units a chance? Or did they tell you to start at 1unit?
416 at diagnosis. Start at 1 unit.
Just at the vets! Plus she had uti! Yes changed her diet completelyWas that just one test in the vets office or a curve?
And did you change the diet at all after that?
If you can't get more tests during the cycles , personally I'd be thinking bounces are likely and try to lower it to .75 or .5.
Try to stay calm during the testing process, treat it matter of fact like the vets and vet techs do, my guys always let them do whatever they want lol and I always wondered why... and I realized it's because they just do it, matter of factly , calmly and confidently , cause they sense our anxiety and get anxious too.
Just at the vets! Plus she had uti! Yes changed her diet completely
Planning on testing before bed! Yes dx was 4/17.... I assume the uti is cleared up they have her a shot for it.Ohhhh wow..
UTI will raise numbers... and diet change will help lower them too...
I see dx was 4/17, so assuming the UTI is cleared up now?
If it were me...I would definitely lower to at least .75...and if you really cant get tests during the cycle, maybe even .5...
If you can give the insulin when you first wake up and then get a test before you leave for work, that can help... and/or get a test as soon as you get home, before you go to bed...etc.