? AMPS 14.4 (225) Blaze

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Blaze and Paola, Aug 31, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2020
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  2. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Sorry, the conversion is 259.2!! In US
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  3. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Link is perfect, Paola.

    Just having a gander at Blaze's spreadsheet. BRB ...

    .
     
  4. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Blaze ate half and even less of his food this morning. Because of that I gave him just 0.25 right now. The vet told me to reduce if he didn't eat all of his food. If this is wrong, please tell me and I will shoot the other 0.25 right now. I'd rather being low than too high...that's why that decision.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  5. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    You just beat me to it, Paola. I was going to suggest dropping to 0.25IU for this morning's dose.

    I'm always uber-conservative at the best of times but after the last two cycles and your not being around to test as much today I think the lower dose is safer.

    QUESTION: Did you give Blaze any high carb treats last night while his numbers were in the lower part of the cycle?


    Mogs
    .
     
  6. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Yes and some honey on his gums...he would not eat anything else. I was able to get him to eat only the treats. Between the 2 times, he ate probably 9/10 (some pieces smaller than others, like sections of a full piece). I know they are bad for him but I panicked because he would not eat anything else.
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2020
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  7. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    When a cat needs the additional carbs then the treats are a good thing to give. You did exactly the right thing. :)

    You did very, very well indeed all day yesterday, Paola. :bighug:

    Be sure to leave enough food out today for both your little ones. Just make sure that you lift the food 2 hours before this evening's preshot test.


    Mogs
    .
     
  8. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Thank you so much Mogs. Yesterday it was a tough day but thanks to you all I managed. I am sleep deprived but my baby is ok and that is all it matters. I will leave out their wet food. Thank you again, when I am back in the house in between all those things I need to do I will test and see where he is at. I will post here.
     
  9. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    When you're out and about today, Paola, I suggest you pick up some supplies:

    Shopping List Suggestions
    ------------------------------------

    For your hypo toolkit:

    * Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers - Beef Variety (couple of cans) - 20% carbs
    * Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers - Any other varieties (several cans) - 15% carbs
    * Temptations Cat Treats, or more of the Purina Party Mix Treats

    Other suggestions:

    * Weruva Grandma's Chicken Soup - 21% carbs
    * Weruva Cats in the Kitchen: Chick Magnet Pouches - 16-17% carbs
    * Weruva Cats in the Kitchen: Love Me Tender Pouches - 16-17% carbs


    Testing Supplies:

    * Test strips for your meter (always make sure you have plenty of these at home)
    * Lancets (unless you already have lots at home)
    * Ketone Test Strips (if you don't already have any)

    For You:

    * Chocolate, ice cream, or some other nice treat (you deserve one!)

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------


    Mogs
    .
     
  10. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    One last question before I get in the shower and start moving...
    Before all this started, the boys had a little wet food in the morning and then they would graze through the dry food throughout the day.
    They do enjoy cracking on some hard stuff too.
    While I am out today, I thought of buying Dr. Elsey's dry food:
    https://www.petsmart.ca/cat/food-an...rain-free-adult-cat-food---chicken-57972.html

    So that instead of them getting completely bored of the wet, when I go out during the day and I need to leave some food out for them, I could leave that (if they like it, that is...). Would that be a bad idea, considering it is a different brand of food (considering their tiny stomachs that have been put through a lot these few days with the change in food to Purina).
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  11. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Shopping list has been photographed and will be purchased today :) thank you for suggesting. The Testing Supplies, I have ALL of that and plenty. I plan on going back to the pharmacy and get more in 2 weeks to keep up the supply.
    For me: I do have ice cream, chocolate chip cookies...BUT the supply is def getting low, and after yesterday, I think I deserve more of that lol and then some! You are so right!
     
  12. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Indeed it is all that matters. Sleep can be caught up with. When you get the right dose sorted over the next day or two things should be more straightforward for you both.

    We'll keep a look out for updates. Have a grand day, and keep safe.

    :bighug:


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  13. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    If you can keep them to an all-wet low carb diet it's better for them. Some FD kitties just won't eat wet food so the Dr. Elsey's low carb dry is best alternative. An all-wet diet is also much better for their urinary tract health.

    Once you get the timed feeders we can give you various tips on keeping the food fresh and moist.


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  14. jayla-n-Drevon

    jayla-n-Drevon Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2015
    Mogs is on the case!
    you dod the right thing Paola really good instincts:smuggrin:
    Now you don't have to worry all day well.

    Just FYI I switched to NULO dryad Dre loves it and is LC as well as Dr Elsey chicken (5%) salmon (9%)

    I don't know Nulo carbs but dre never spikes they say has low glycemic and ok of Fd which appease to be true
    Have a wonderful stress fee day:bighug:

    Goodmoning Mogs:)
     
  15. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

    Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs


    Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy. 15% Med Carbs


    Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

    Good to have these on hand, it's really only the Gravy you would need to feed him, or just a teaspoon of the food.
    Always good to have honey in hand
     
  16. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Morning ladies. Well done Paola, Mogs, and Jayla. Better a day too high. Pick up different flavors of food. We need to find what they will love. If you go to Petco try Soulistic Triple harmony pouches. Very high carb. I’ll check to see %. There is a tuna pouch hi carb too.
     
  17. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Leaving to go to work, I just tested him and his reading is higher that AMPS, it is 16 (288)...should I worry?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  18. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Absolutely not. He ate. Even a few teaspoons can raise the bg.
     
  19. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Lantus won’t kick in for at least 2 hours.
     
  20. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Just to put a note here to be precise, reading done at +2.30 (+2.5?) how do you do the half hours?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  21. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Ok good to know...I just worry because it was very tricky to only get 0,25 in that tiny syringe...So I hope I got some med in him
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  22. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2020
  23. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Morning, Elise!
    Saoirse didn't get that particular memo.

    Saoirse metabolised insulin fast, both Caninsulin and Lantus. I could tell the time of dose onset from her energy and activity levels and her behaviours. It was most often around the 75 minute mark. Many's the time I was grateful she nadired early too, especially when she was receiving Lantus.


    Mogs
    .
     
  24. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    There are the exceptions. She must have had long duration. I think at first it takes longer or was she like that from the get go? Max wouldn’t give me a clue about his cycle until +2.5 unless he started low and never came up much. There’s that old ECID.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  25. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    The '+' time notation uses decimals, e.g:

    HH:MM / '+' Notation

    16:00 / +??.00
    16:15 / +??.25
    16:30 / +??.50
    16:45 / +??.75


    Mogs
    .
     
  26. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    She was always like that, Elise. She had fairly normal duration on Lantus but her duration on Caninsulin was pants.

    .
     
  27. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    yes that is how you put in half hours it would be 288 @+2.5 then you would have to put the color code in manually
     
  28. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Hi everyone,
    I just tested Blazey boy, +5.75 he is at 13.9 (250.2)
    Will test again before going to physio
     
  29. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Today I checked Blaze's ears against a light to see the exact location of his capillaries/veins.
    As I did that (it really helped) i saw all the "damage" I did so far. So basically I saw all these red spots within the skin, in the inside. Basically looking THROUGH the ear flap. It looks like the capillaries broke when the blood wasn't coming through and I kept trying. Is he in pain now? Will it heal. I could finally see the vein now that i need to aim for. I should have done the light thing before and not just watch the video. Will his ear heal properly?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  30. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Look at how feral cats ears are. They DO heal. Some not so pretty but they heal. So will Blaze. You wont be slicing through his eat like a cat fight does, so I think you are safe. ;):bighug:
     
  31. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    :D
     
  32. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    In the wild, a cat's ears get beat up all the time. There is not as many nerve endings in the ear as you think.
    It is not the vein that you need to aim for. It is the "sweet spot" between the vein and the outer edge of the ear. Poking the ear will help new auxiliary capillaries grow in this area which will increase the likelihood of a good sized drop.
    Pick up some Polysporin Complete with Pain Relief (must be the ointment, not the cream) on your way home (photo of product below).

    sweetspot.JPG laur_danny_famoussweetspot.jpg

    polysporin_complete_antibiotic_ointment.jpg
     
  33. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Some people use a headlamp to shine light on the ear. Any dollar store.
     
  34. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Do your syringes have half unit marks on them? If not, these might make dosing easier (as does a pair of dollar store magnifying glasses).

    BD_320440__64513.1520533063.jpg
     
  35. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Before reading your message i had ordered one on amazon...i read your mind
     
  36. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    +6.50 He is at 12.9 (232.2)
    Going to go to physio. I will leave the food out again...should I give 1 treat just in case or just go?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  37. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    I will be back home in 1.5 hours
     
  38. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    I think he will be fine with just the food. Buy yourself a treat on the way home.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  39. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    If you wish you could leave out some low carb wet food for him but Blaze is on a lower dose, is halfway through the cycle and his numbers are fine. Remember to lift all food 2 hours before the preshot BG test.

    You're good to go. :) I'll try to drop in later but can't promise (knackered). I'm tagging @tiffmaxee to ask her to check in with you about tonight's dose.

    Keep safe and well (and make sure to treat yourself to something nummy!).

    :bighug:


    Mogs
    .
     
  40. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Perfect, getting myself a starbucks Frappuccino. Well deserved :)
     
  41. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    :D GWAD I MISS THOSE!

    ENJOY
     
    Red & Rover (GA) likes this.
  42. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
  43. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    I have a confession to make: I am a Starbucks virgin.

    A friend brought me into one once. After 15 minutes I told them that I wasn't prepared to spend any more of my life queuing up for an overpriced hot beverage. Haven't darkened the door of another one since.


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  44. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    The only reason why i go there once in a while is because, being a teacher, i get quite a few gift cards...when the gifts card are empty I don't go there, way too overpriced for sure.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  45. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    I just tested Blaze. +9 he is at 14.9 (268.2) it is starting to rise...When I came home I also saw that some wet food out of his bowl is missing...and it was just recently eaten I think...I hope the levels don't skyrocket too quickly until dinner time. Food has been removed already. I am starting to get anxious for my other cat, we are going to the vet soon...he hates the car ride, it's torture for both. But Ash transforms into psycho-cat at the vet...he gets so scared he does not recognize anymore even his own mama.
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2020
  46. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Hi Paola,

    You're doing a great job snagging tests today. +9 is OK time-wise for Blaze to have eaten. Just the two hours before each PS test need to be a food-free zone.

    Nice wide and shallow Lantus 'smile' curve today. Now to start gradually nudging it down... ;)

    I can relate to the vetty bean phobia. My civvie, Lúnasa, is fine with travelling (managed to get her used to it when she was a kitten), but she hates the vets with a passion. They have to sedate her to get a blood draw. :rolleyes: I hope your vet visit won't be too stressful for you both. :bighug:

    How are you fixed for monitoring tonight, Paola? (You must be very tired by now.)


    Mogs
    .
     
  47. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    I gave him a calming pill...but I doubt it will work.
    It kills.me to see them so stressed.
    Yes, no food until dinner.
    Ash will be out of it...because of the drug i already know. Blaze was the same after coming home.
    I start working tomorrow...i have online training in the morning and I have to be at school at 12:15 for in person training. The rest of the week I am home thankfully. Next week I start work full time and I am terrified...long long days with no monitoring.
    I am exhausted to say the least, emotionally and physically. I will monitor tonight anyways. We are supposed to give the full 0.5 unit tonight.
     
  48. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Advice: I know the vet will ask.me how things are going with Blaze. I have done zero of what she told me, for everything she said I did the complete opposite and thank you God I did that!
    What do I tell her?
    Should I explain? Should I lie?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  49. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    I'm squirming a bit re how to approach the vet. Let me think on't for a bit.

    Do you have a tablet device or a smart phone?

    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  50. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Yes i have a Samsung. At the vet right now waiting
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  51. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    I don't need the number (might be an idea to delete that post from the public forum to protect your privacy :) ).

    I was wondering if you had a mobile device, you could lead with the fact that you were scared about giving insulin without checking Blaze was safe, then show the vet Blaze's BG results spreadsheet and take it from there. After that lead in you could then discuss food, etc. If the vet says owt about using the human meter, be sure to mention the cost differential for test strips and also that you are using a cat-appropriate BG reference range for the human meter. (FYI, the reference range used here has been published in peer-reviewed journal articles by Kirsten Roomp and Jacqui Rand.)

    Hope that helps. (? :confused: )


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  52. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Nice safe cycle just like we wanted. I’m thinking .50 tonight. We would love to see some tests between 100- 190.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  53. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I’m so curious to see how your vet responds. That will determine your approach going forward. :bighug: It’s hard to go against their advice given that they have the degree but you won’t be the first nor the last.
     
  54. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Are you OK to keep an eye on Blaze and Paola tonight, Elise? I can't because I'm way too tired and can't concentrate properly.

    Looking at Paola's schedule, I think if I were in the situation I'd stick with the 0.25 tonight and tomorrow morning and shift up to the 0.5IU tomorrow night. Paola would then have a clear run to monitor as the depot fills. But then I'm a complete wuss with an anxiety disorder. :oops: :rolleyes:


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  55. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes I can. You got zero sleep last night and must be exhausted. I haven’t seen tomorrow’s schedule. Is it posted? If she can’t monitor I’m fine with.25. I’m not clear as to how many hours apart we are. Is it 2 or 3?

    Edited to say yes .25 tonight and tomorrow morning unless too low to shoot. It looks like tonight will be fine and you will be able to get some sleep.
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2020
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  56. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    Paola's in Ontario. Her schedule is above in post #47.

    I'm glad you'll be able to look out for Paola and Blaze. (((Elise)))

    I had hoped I'd be able to get a nap today but the PTSD won't let my brain shut down properly. I'm so tired I'm beginning to dissociate a little, so I'm going to deploy my trusty pharmaceutical OFF switch shortly.

    .
     
  57. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
  58. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Omg...I passed out!
    I am back. I went to the vet. Was there for 1 hr and 30 min. I came home just in time for pre test and feed and shoot. I was so worried about being so close to the time.
    My boyfriend was here, came with me to the vet. I sat on the couch after the shot and fell asleep on him. He has left and I am awake now
     
  59. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    How did it go with your vet? When do you shoot? It looks like you went with .50. A few minutes late or early doesn’t matter.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  60. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    I shoot at 7...he ate a full meal. I did 0.5. Tomorrow I am here in the morning but have to leave for work at 11:45...but I think within 3 hours I should be home
    It went ok at the vet! A new vet took care of Ash, much more competent...long story but the previous vet was probably very inexperienced...I will give you more details after I make something to eat.
    I told this vet the truth, full truth. She supports every decision.
     
  61. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
  62. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    I will be back in 20 and will give you more details of what happened with the other vet...
    Did i do ok giving Blaze a 0.5? I caught up with the posts and there was a suggestion of doing .25...and in the morning too
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  63. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    The reason why we were leaning to .25 was because of your schedule and not being able to monitor. We will make it work. His dose probably is .50 but we thought sticking to .25 until tomorrow night would be easier. Were you able to pick up more food?
     
  64. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Yesbi picked up more food. I have bought the high carbs with gravy for emergencies. I couldnt find the last suggestions on the lisþ but I bought glicose gel.packets
     
  65. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    I am now broke. I have spent about 2000$ these past 5 days. I bought the automatic feeders as well
     
  66. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Blaze should not need anything more. Sounds like you are well stocked.

    Was the last suggestion on the list Karo by any chance? That's what the Americans call corn syrup.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  67. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    join the club! :(:banghead::stop:o_O:facepalm:
     
    Critter Mom and Blaze and Paola like this.
  68. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    So get a +1and +2. Is testing getting easier? When a Max became diabetic I was jealous of those that had pet insurance.
     
  69. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    I have not done a +1...I should have done it at 8 pm...I am sorry. I was planning on doing one in 20 minutes, a +2
    Testing is becoming a little easier...but not consistent yet. I want to poke once, read and be done...but sometimes I have to poke more than once...but definitly less than before
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  70. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    I could not find Karo anywhere... I have honey and maple syrup and gel packets at home right now
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  71. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Karo is corn syrup to us Canucks.
    The honey, maple syrup and gel packets will do just fine.
     
  72. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Can I tell you the story of the vet here, or this is not the right thread
     
  73. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    +2 reading: 14.4 (259.2)
     
  74. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You can tell us. What happened?
     
  75. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Good. He got a food bump. Has his appetite been good today?
     
  76. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Ok, my boys have had the same vet since they were born. 7 years with him. I liked him, plus he started to offer home care and I loved that because my boys hate car trips. Blaze tries to get out of the carrier and bleeds from his nail. Screams and cries. So i continued to stay with him but because my house is
    Yes he ate well, except for this morning. Today he seems happier too! We are cuddling while I type and he actually played with me today!
     
  77. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    ....but because my house is not a vet centre, some exams could not be completed, like blood tests etc...
    Then covid hit...he stopped coming to homes and completely dropped me, telling me to go find another vet.
    This vet office was 25 minute car ride from me.
    So i decided to find one closer to home ...found this one, 6 minutes from home. Short car ride. Better for the boys.
    This is the vet office that diagnosed Blaze.
    They gave us this young vet who did not give me that feeling of security from the very start...here is why:
    1) he felt Blaze organs and at the end she said:" I THINK, yes, I THINK the organs are fine...."....I am sitting there thinking....."you THINK?" You should KNOW!
    2) You all know her plan of action with Blaze that could have killed him
    3) on the phone, when she called me with the diagnosed, after the blood test was done, she explained well BUT I was absolutely in shock and I asked her: Is this MY FAULT?" I was devastated. This is her short answer: YES. That killed me.
    4) She had no clue what polycithemia vera is (my cat Ash medical issue)

    So tonight, I knew I was supposed to have her again with Ash...but another vet showed up, LEIA. She was amazing. Knowleadgeable and understanding. I told her the truth and she supported every decision. I asked her to take on Blaze and Ash. She said yes. I feel beeter
     
  78. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    That has to be a relief for you.

    I would get a +4 test.

    Covid has changed everything here. We can’t even go into the office. They send someone out to get them. Then you wait for them to bring them back. The vet then makes a phone call To discuss. My two are overdue but I keep hoping I’ll get to go into the office.
     
  79. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    ok gonna have a nap until then...
     
  80. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    +4 test 8.8 (158.4)
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  81. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Can you stay awake for one more hour? Since he came down I want to make sure he doesn’t continue to slide much more. That’s a big drop. It’s safe though.
     
  82. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
  83. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Homework for you but not tonite.
    Teach your boyfriend how to shoot and test.
    Good to have back-up.
     
  84. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    I can yes, we don't live together unfortunately...but it's good to have someone else know how.
    Waiting for next test...
     

    Attached Files:

  85. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Ah, he looks so comfortable. Not a care in the world. Good idea for him to learn how to test in case of an emergency. I had only me.
     
  86. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    +5 test 13.0 (234)
     
  87. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Ok. Time for you to get some sleep. You must be mentally and physically exhausted. Sleep well. Don’t worry about Blaze. :bighug:
     
  88. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Thank you so much again, I am very grateful for all the help. I couldn't do it without all of you :bighug:
     
  89. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
  90. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    It's contagious! ;)

    I'm glad you were able to get some sleep last night, Paola. :bighug:


    Mogs
    .
     
  91. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    I am so grateful I had Saoirse so well insured. Lúnasa is well covered too. (Saved a fortune already with her radioiodine treatment a few years ago!)

    I'd be happy to adopt a sugar at some stage in the future but I can't do so because the treatment costs would not be covered by insurance and I would not be in the financial position to ensure they'd get the best care without that cover. :(


    Mogs
    .
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  92. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
    I was utterly appalled when I read this. :mad:

    She was wrong, and I'm very sorry she spoke to you that way, Paola. I am very pleased for you that you now have a better vet and that you've already established a rapport with her. I also like that she trusts and supports the decisions you have made about Blaze's treatment and safety. It's a most auspicious start to your partnership.

    :bighug:


    Mogs
    .
     
  93. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I as WELL Paola only I have a little bit of a different take on this . Your OLD vet showed her true colors. Its best you find this out now than later. I DO hope this new vet treats you with the dignity you deserve.
    KEEP UP THE GOOD FIGHT!
    j
     
    Critter Mom and Blaze and Paola like this.
  94. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    I hope so too
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  95. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Blaze reading at +4 is 11 (198). I have to leave for work at 11:30, in 30 minutes and I will not be back until 3 pm (+8). Should I feed something to him?
     
  96. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    God morning. Yess feed him and leave some food out for while you are away. He will be fine.
     
  97. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    BTW start a new condo tomorrow. This is getting long. Have fun at work.
     
  98. Blaze and Paola

    Blaze and Paola Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2020
    Ok! Thank you so much! I started one this morning but I forgot to add the link of this one. I hadn't received many answers, so I thought of going back to this one lol
     
  99. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I’ll find it and link it to the new one. Then continue on the new one. :)
     
  100. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    P.S. adding the date to the title will help.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page