Crisp
Member Since 2022
Optium Xido Neo (human) monitor
Caninsulin 1.0u prescribed - reduced last night to .75u
Diagnosed and started insulin 7 days ago
I joined the forum yesterday when Crisp had AMPS of 122. As per the vet, I gave him his 1.0u shot.
At +3.5 he was 59. (!)
I searched online and found this forum. Things worked out okay. Fortunately.
Yesterday, PMPS was 281. I shot .75u.
This morning, AMPS was 134. I was worried about a repeat of yesterday - so, No Shot.
107@+1
I was hoping that BG would be higher as I was originally just delaying the AM shot.
I gave him a pouch of the prescribed Royal Canin Diabetic and he only licked off the gravy. I gave him some of his old kibble and he ate a bit of that. And then some cooked chicken which he gobbled up.
110@+2
123@+3
121@+4.5
179@+6
211@+8.5
211@+10.5 (dinner after test)
198@+11.5
Given this is only the 7th day since diagnosis and I am sifting through the info on this forum, I am looking for some more guidance. I am only slightly tempted to take him to the vet for guidance.
Should I have given him his .75u shot this morning with those numbers?
I don't want to make things worse. I just don't want to blindly follow the vets instructions which was to not give a shot if BG is less than 100. At least she recommended to measure BG before shots. Which is what got me here on the forum in the first place.
I'm heading out to find ketone strips. And some more palatable food.
Thanks much!
Edited to Add update BG numbers as taken.
Edited to Add my First Post link
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...59-3-69-4-98-5-132-6-165.259707/#post-2917218
Caninsulin 1.0u prescribed - reduced last night to .75u
Diagnosed and started insulin 7 days ago
I joined the forum yesterday when Crisp had AMPS of 122. As per the vet, I gave him his 1.0u shot.
At +3.5 he was 59. (!)
I searched online and found this forum. Things worked out okay. Fortunately.
Yesterday, PMPS was 281. I shot .75u.
This morning, AMPS was 134. I was worried about a repeat of yesterday - so, No Shot.
107@+1
I was hoping that BG would be higher as I was originally just delaying the AM shot.
I gave him a pouch of the prescribed Royal Canin Diabetic and he only licked off the gravy. I gave him some of his old kibble and he ate a bit of that. And then some cooked chicken which he gobbled up.
110@+2
123@+3
121@+4.5
179@+6
211@+8.5
211@+10.5 (dinner after test)
198@+11.5
Given this is only the 7th day since diagnosis and I am sifting through the info on this forum, I am looking for some more guidance. I am only slightly tempted to take him to the vet for guidance.
Should I have given him his .75u shot this morning with those numbers?
I don't want to make things worse. I just don't want to blindly follow the vets instructions which was to not give a shot if BG is less than 100. At least she recommended to measure BG before shots. Which is what got me here on the forum in the first place.
I'm heading out to find ketone strips. And some more palatable food.
Thanks much!
Edited to Add update BG numbers as taken.
Edited to Add my First Post link
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...59-3-69-4-98-5-132-6-165.259707/#post-2917218
Last edited: