? AMPS-134-NS 107@+1 110@+2 123@+3 121@4.5 179@+6 211@+8.5 211@10.5

Status
Not open for further replies.

Crisp

Member Since 2022
Optium Xido Neo (human) monitor
Caninsulin 1.0u prescribed - reduced last night to .75u
Diagnosed and started insulin 7 days ago

I joined the forum yesterday when Crisp had AMPS of 122. As per the vet, I gave him his 1.0u shot.
At +3.5 he was 59. (!)
I searched online and found this forum. Things worked out okay. Fortunately.

Yesterday, PMPS was 281. I shot .75u.

This morning, AMPS was 134. I was worried about a repeat of yesterday - so, No Shot.

107@+1
I was hoping that BG would be higher as I was originally just delaying the AM shot.

I gave him a pouch of the prescribed Royal Canin Diabetic and he only licked off the gravy. I gave him some of his old kibble and he ate a bit of that. And then some cooked chicken which he gobbled up.

110@+2
123@+3
121@+4.5
179@+6
211@+8.5
211@+10.5 (dinner after test)
198@+11.5

Given this is only the 7th day since diagnosis and I am sifting through the info on this forum, I am looking for some more guidance. I am only slightly tempted to take him to the vet for guidance.

Should I have given him his .75u shot this morning with those numbers?

I don't want to make things worse. I just don't want to blindly follow the vets instructions which was to not give a shot if BG is less than 100. At least she recommended to measure BG before shots. Which is what got me here on the forum in the first place.

I'm heading out to find ketone strips. And some more palatable food.

Thanks much!

Edited to Add update BG numbers as taken.

Edited to Add my First Post link
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...59-3-69-4-98-5-132-6-165.259707/#post-2917218
 
Last edited:
Because it's still early in the day here, I needed some reassurance so went to the vet with my numbers. Crisp stayed home.
She recommends reducing PM shot to .50u.
What do you think of that advice?
Stay with the just reduced .75u?

Good appetite. Aloof because he's just been fed some yummy Whiskas. Grooming.
 
With AMPS that low, I'd go down to 0.25U actually to be cautious, only if above 200. And please do get nighttime tests right now, and least 2-3 spot checks - I wonder how low he went for AMPS to only be 134.

Since you skipped the shot and he's increasing that actually tells us a lot - it tells us that his pancreas isn't fully working OR whatever he's got going on it can't handle. So he does need some insulin right now, at least while he's on the higher carb food.

He did pretty well the first part of the cycle after eating, so hopefully diet change will get him the rest of the way
 
Thanks FrostD. Again!

I added two more readings to the 1st post.
211@+8.5
211@+10.5

If nothing significant happens in the next 90 minutes or so, I will give Crisp a 0.25U dose. And I'll do some PM tests (before bed and when he wakes me in the night, the little turd).

Thanks! From the bottom of my heart.
 
No problem!

Start with a test 1 hour after the shot, since that will give you an indicator what might happen (big drops, etc)
 
I have to say this is all incredible.

Looking back at the posts over my (only) two threads and then adding in all the new info I've absorbed, and then add on top of that the feedback I've received
- all of what you're guiding me to do just makes sense.
It certainly was not intuitive starting out. Still not for me.

I feel like the support I can get here is what an experienced vet who had our undivided attention would take the time to guide us on.

You empowered me to learn as much as I could and take Crisp's care into our own hands.

Many thanks!

And no pressure, lol.

P.S. I've been to the vet five times over the last seven days (twice without the cat) and I really would be very stressed without this source of information. I am much more confident in the advice here than elsewhere.
 
Last edited:
I couldn't determine whether I should start a new thread or continue with the old new question.

This is Day 7 of Crisp diagonosed. Original prescription of 1.0U caninsulin reduced to 0.75U for previous day PMPS due to 59 Nadir.

AMPS 134 NS
107@+1
110@+2
123@+3
121@+4.5 (new food Whiskas+1 Jelly casserole - 3.1% carbs)
179@+6
211@+8.5
211@+10.5 (dinner after test)
198@+11.5
199@+12

That +11.5 was going to be my PMPS. And then the +12.

Since I skipped the AM shot, should I even consider delaying the PM shot (planning 0.25U) for just that small difference?

Planning to delay and test.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top